We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation or business?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bintang Flores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bintang Flores Hotel
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Flores
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vacation or business?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel operates in a strange mode. Neither a vacationist nor a business hotel, something in between. Probably because many people stay only 2 or max.3 days at the hotel, could be related to the Lonely Planet book, telling people to have to see the dragons and the mantas.
Therefore if one likes to stay longer, one doesn't get the real feel for a holiday resort.
The staff is friendly, but very low on English. Management is a bit uncertain about treatment for the customers. Had a very unpleasant experience because of religion. One day suddenly the bacon disappeared from breakfast buffet. The reason, some travelers with muslim background complaint about the pig meat. Flores is 95% catholic!!!
Beach is always invaded by plastic coming from the harbor, although they have one staff member picking up the rubbish the whole day, but then burn this 50 meters further down the line.
We had very strange and disturbing noises at night. Been told that this is an animal. Found out later it is the pressure tank for the water pressure at the top of the hotel who doesn't operate correctly and therefore needs to recharge the pressure every time someone use the water facilities at the hotel.
Breakfast and cuisine of the restaurant are neither fish nor fowl, not really western like and not really Indonesian. To go out for diner into the city is too far by walking. The hotel shuttle cost 50.000 rupees one way for max. 4 people, which is a rip off compare to the prices been paid by the locals for transport. At the evenings the local transport stops operating.
The dive centre located at the premises of the hotel is first class. Best diving ever at the Komodo national park. Would get 6 stars for knowledge of the dive sites, competence and treatment of customers. If one wants to have a save, friendly and unforgettable experience, go and try out, you can't be better treated at that area.
Resumee:
Hotel is nice with some minor downsides, nothing which really should keep you away, opposite. Be prepared for some communication hick ups and very very nice and friendly staff.
Hotel is operated by a Chinese investor group. Pool is better then swimming at the sea (rubbish)

Room Tip: If you want tohave a real sea view , ask for the fifth floor at least. Fourth floor works with room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    160
    77
    10
    7
See reviews for
61
121
30
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed there many times and always been perfect addition for my holidays.
Situated in Flores the gateway to one and only Komodo Island. The service and facilities of this hotel are wonderful. It was clean, neat with the superb scenery. The views of the room to the greenery and sea were just magic. The lovely sunset will drive you crazy while you enjoy the pool bar and infinity pool or the beach. You will never wanna leave that place on that time around. The in house restaurant offers great dishes since no good restaurant in town. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Free Internet is available along with small in house store. This hotel will just blown you away, I am totally recommend this fantastic Hotel

Room Tip: the higher the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stay there while having a business trip with friends and family.
The hotel beats my expectation since during our stay there is no General Manager in charge since the previous GM just resign and move to Bali. But the hotel services is good. They are all humble and nice persons.

The room is clean and amenities good. All of the room facing the ocean.
I love the shower, they have proper hot water and the pressure just perfect for me.
The breakfast is very simple one, on first morning it was nothing special but i like the Fried Rice on the next morning.
The swimming pool facing the sea is very lovely.

I don't have minor points for this visit since it was business trip and i was not the in house experiences that much. Next time i will be there again with my family for leisure trip. Surely one of the best destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a wonderful hotel situated on Flores Island. Quiet place!
From here it is easy to get trip to Komodo, where you can see extraordinary dragons. Hotel’s swimming pool and garden are nice. In the evening you can see lovely sunset (picture added). In the hotel is good local restaurant. When I had stomach ache I asked chef to make the dish following my receipt. He prepared it perfect. Room was OK. Breakfast is served, but you have wide choice from menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomekGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Always stay here in every Flores trip we have and this hotel never let us down. From hotel pick up until flight checked in. Pak Man is the best all around man. The location is perfect...5 minutes from airport, on the beach facing west...great sunset view. Breakfast is okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emytha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staying at the Bintang Flores Hotel was a great way to start and finish a diving adventure. The hotel was quiet due to the early season booking, although I think it may also be the case across the year as the site is large and the building design provides a feeling of light and air.

The service was exceptional and the food fresh and tasty.

Individual rooms are immaculate and really well-designed for a single traveller or a family.

The bed was huge, comfortable and a delight to climb into after a busy day in LBJ.

Getting WiFi was easy with a decent sized desk for the business traveller in the room.

I would definitely direct family and friends to this hotel, and very much hope to be staying again in a few months.

Room Tip: In the afternoon ensure drapes are drawn in some rooms to take the pressure off air-conditioners lab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Met at the airport by hotel manager (unexpectedly) even though our tour company was picking us up. He greeted us and offered to take any surplus luggage back to our suites. The hotel itself has a beautiful pool and grounds, the staff are nice, free wifi, restaurant was fine and good value, overall clean and nice. Would return.
Suggest NOT USING Putra Bali tours for exploring the area - whilst we did eventually get to Rinca Island briefly to visit the dragons, the rest of our activities were not done, our tour was extremely poorly handled, bookings (hotel, flights) last minute and forced to be made from our end, tickets for flights handed to us by a random non-tour guy near the airport desk 45min before flight!? Tour guide in Labuan bajo was rubbish, not interested and missed our airport transfer on way home. Tour company run by Mr Hayun Usman. Avoid them if you can.
Hotel lovely though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
5.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#8 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#9 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintang Flores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Flores Hotel

Property: Bintang Flores Hotel
Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintang Flores Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bintang Flores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintang Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing