We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely grounds and room - but a bit isolated and polluted beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bintang Flores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good hotel with friendly staff, and free airport shuttles. however about 30 mins walk from the main part of Labuan Bajo with no transportation. The beach is sandy at first but theres a lot of litter and pollution - the deeper you go into the sea, the ground turns into a muddy sludge!
Rooms are lovely and modern and clean, and outside pool is a lovely freeform type, surrounded by lovely vegetation. However its not a private beach like the hotel claims, and many locals just sit and stare at you by the pool. sundays seem to be free for locals to come and use and eat by the pool of the hotel without paying anything. So peace and quite and getting a sunbed on sunday afternoons is impossible. The staff said sunday afternoons locals can use the pool for free! this is good for locals and appalling for full paying guests of the hotel . food is quite good but limited and expensive by local standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 382 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

After two days on a local boat visiting Komodo we spent four nights here for some rest and relaxation. We certainly got the rest, with the hotel being almost empty we often had the pool to ourselves.
There is a good sized pool, right beside the beach making for a beautiful setting. The beach and ocean is unfortunately dirty with rubbish (platic bags) being brought in on the tide. It was almost heart breaking to see the polution in such an otherwise beautiful location.
Meals at the Hotel were ok. Although the service was very good, quick, effecient and friendly. On our second day the Hotel decided not to put on a buffet breakfast, possibly because of the lack of quests, and we were asked to order from a set breakfast menu. One of the few other guests we saw had a small child with them and the staff were fantastic at keeping the child entertained.
We visited two other hotels during our stay, The Jayakarta and La Prima and both also appeared empty so I dont think It was just the Bintang that was struggling to attract guests. The closest to town is La Prima with the Bintang being next, about 1.5km from town. The hotel wanted to charge us 50000 rupiah to take us to town however you can catch a ride with a local taxi (motorbike) for 5000 rupiah per person by just going to the road and waiting for a little while. Most of the local taxi's had a helmet for you.
The hotel fitness centre consists of three peices of exersise machinary so it would not be recommended if you go on holiday and want to spend time in the gym. While the hotel did provide an in room massage my wife preferred to take a short trip into town and use The Flores Spa for her pampering. Very reasonable prices. The Jayakarta has a Spa in the hotel and my wife also found them good although a little more expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In the middle of our extended holiday in Indonesia, we headed for Flores to see dragons. What we found was so much more.
Hotel wise, we chose the Bintang Flores for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it had a pool and with 3 kids, it was essential. Two others we looked at were either too expensive or too tired looking. The staff here were happy to negotiate a very reasonable price.
The rooms are typical of a hotel much like a Novotel so no ambience. But very clean and beds were extremely comfortable. No balconies which would've been nice.
All meals were good and the kids would order hot dogs or milkshakes knowing they'd taste like home. (Yeh disappointing to us, but highlight for them).
The pool area was fabulous. Large, Lots of interesting aspects to it, massage room, scuba operator on site and so on. Pool was very clean and we often went for a late night swim. It's not worth swimming in the sea which laps up close to the pool/lounge area.
We all found it ironic that right next door were slums, with people sleeping under tarps and corrugated iron. That didn't sit well with us at all but hey, welcome to the World!
It's a fair way out of town and requires a taxi ride but we'd often start walking and hitch a lift with a local in their ute or even better, a bus. 4000RPH into town for all of us!
We were there at Christmas and the place was jumping with people, mostly from Java. We were certainly the only westerners and appeared to be a bit of a novelty to everyone. But the staff and other patrons were always polite, accommodating and eager to help.
Wifi was available in the foyer but at 22000RPH for I think 1/2 hour, a bit steep. When you consider the whole area though, remote, simple necessities, you tend to get a grip on reality.
The hotel also stored our luggage for 3 days while we went off to Komodo at no cost and upon return we renegotiated a price again to stay 1 more night.
Didn't use the gym or spa - so no comment about those.
We organised our own boat out to Komodo and will write this up separately.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was my least favorite of the 3 large hotels in Labuan Bajo, the staff are nice and the breakfast ok but the rooms are average and the bathroom tiny. This hotel has no balconies on any room, there is a large opening window but not the same. The garden and pool area is very nice but the ocean is not the best for swimming here. Lots of kids at the pool who seem not to bed hotel guests! made it vey hard to relax.

Room Tip: dont think it makes any differnce which room, think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessbollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A step up from the average local hotels, this hotel offers comparabley luxury rooms (within subjective reason) and is fairly priced. The pool are and "beach" is nicely located but the gym is in need of an upgrade to be called a gym. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theodore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very basic hotel. Fairly clean. I had to fight to pay the same rate as my friends and still don't know why they charged me more. No obvious reason.
Rooms have no charm like the rest of the hotel. It looks like one of these business hotel for locals in Java.
I don't understand why they have made such a huge building which is really quite ugly. They seem to have quite a lot of land but decided to build a very ugly building.
If you ask for transfers, it seems prohibitive to me. Obviously, there is no competition and it seems hard to get a taxi (This is what they told us).
This hotel is fairly new. Obviously, Labuan Bajo is on the wrong track in the tourist development. Local investors seem to want to build 5 or 6 story building with no charm.
The real rating of this hotel would be "budget".

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is decent value hotel for the money it cost us. It is a bit out of town but you can get the hotel car in or you can walk into the town of Labuan Bajo.
The room was clean and functional.
However the hotel does not appear to offer alot of services such as travel services - you did not seem to be able to book tours from the hotel which is very convenient if you simply want to fly in, see what there is to see like visit Rinca / Komodo islands to see the Komodo dragons, and then fly out. Perhaps this was because it was off season.
What we did find irritating was the fact that although only 2 or 3 rooms were occupied in what is a large hotel relatively they charged 50,000 rupiah to use the hotel car to get into, or out off, the town! This should have been complementary as there are no taxis in Labuan Bajo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
276 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
0.4 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#11 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintang Flores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Flores Hotel

Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flores
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flores
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintang Flores Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintang Flores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintang Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing