We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocky Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel located nicely provides great food ! The hotel rooms are beautiful and all comfort you would need . Swimming could improve cause it looks outdated . Service is good and lobby is ok . Wifi could be quicker but in lobby is pretty good . Welcome drinks are too sweet ... Less sugar :) thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PKTVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
6
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My first time to Padang Sumatera for business trip with patners. We stay there 3 days 2 nights thanks to Duty Manager Ms Vera for make our stay so wonderful. Breakfast is wonderful amd lots of choices all the waitress very friendly and greet us warmly. We will be back next month.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natruesai_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I never stay for one night here. the rooms are nice and clean. the arrangement of luxurious and immaculate. and the atmosphere is quiet and comfortable hotel. a delicious breakfast menu. friendly service. the rooms were clean and comfortable as well as elegant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_rimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at Rocky on 15th Feb 2013. This is the best hotel we stayed dyrign our 4 days 3 night trip to Padang/Bykittinggi. It lives up to 4 star standards, with decent pool, bar, restaurant adn great team of service staffs. They serve very nice lemom grass flavoured welcom drinks and ther buffet breakfast has a reasonable selections of food which taste quite nice. On the same builing as this hotel is a departmental store which makes it very conveneient. There are many small shops along the road which you can do any last minute shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JolynOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a bad experience, the bed had clearly been slept in prior to my arrival and the language barrier to have my bed remade was just too hard. Getting the minibar filled was also a very tough assignment. The food in the restaurant was expensive and crap, and as for a beer after a long day, it was hot and they dont understand how to serve a cold beer.
Save yourself the trouble and stay somewhere better than here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Padang hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The cool pool photo on the internet made me choose the hotel to stay for 2 nights. We booked the rooms shortly after our arrival on Padang on the airport. Gave the booked bill from the airport booth to the front office staff.

Turned out that the pool wasn't stunning as its photo. Just average.

The rooms were average. It was pretty noisy, since our rooms located in front of the stairs to the meeting room upstairs.

Too bad, the front office staff didn't write down the sum of the bill we paid to the airport booth. Unfortunately, we've just knew it when we arrived in Jakarta. And when we called to get the bill sent to us, they said they couldn't give it to us. :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krk Island, Croatia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is quite nice place to use while on a business trip. First of all it is in the center of the city, second of all there is a shop with groceries right next to it. And there is a local bazaar when you get out of a hotel. The rooms are very well equiped, almost luxry, but not too big. The view throu a window does not alwasy offer a plesant scene, meaning that there are a lot of poor household in the near vicinity of the hotel. Beakfast offers a wide choice of food, the personel is hospitalble, always with a smile on their face and ready to help. I thought it was a nice gesturre that you get two coupons for welcome drink, but be sure to use them in time, because otherwise they are no good. And also you get two coupons to eat brekfast, I suppose if you meet somebody and they spend a night in your hotel room :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#5 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Inna Muara Hotel
Grand Inna Muara Hotel
#4 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daima Hotel
Daima Hotel
#19 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Plaza Hotel

Property: Rocky Plaza Hotel
Address: Jln. Permindo 40, Padang 25111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocky Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Plaza Hotel is a newly renovated and built four star hotel, located in Padang's prime city area with 171 room accommodations surrounded by shopping centers. The rooms provides luxury equipment such as high quality beds by KingKoil and 29" LCD TV with electronic key card system. Free wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocky Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing