We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at convenient location”
Review of Rocky Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Padang
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at Rocky on 15th Feb 2013. This is the best hotel we stayed dyrign our 4 days 3 night trip to Padang/Bykittinggi. It lives up to 4 star standards, with decent pool, bar, restaurant adn great team of service staffs. They serve very nice lemom grass flavoured welcom drinks and ther buffet breakfast has a reasonable selections of food which taste quite nice. On the same builing as this hotel is a departmental store which makes it very conveneient. There are many small shops along the road which you can do any last minute shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JolynOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a bad experience, the bed had clearly been slept in prior to my arrival and the language barrier to have my bed remade was just too hard. Getting the minibar filled was also a very tough assignment. The food in the restaurant was expensive and crap, and as for a beer after a long day, it was hot and they dont understand how to serve a cold beer.
Save yourself the trouble and stay somewhere better than here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The cool pool photo on the internet made me choose the hotel to stay for 2 nights. We booked the rooms shortly after our arrival on Padang on the airport. Gave the booked bill from the airport booth to the front office staff.

Turned out that the pool wasn't stunning as its photo. Just average.

The rooms were average. It was pretty noisy, since our rooms located in front of the stairs to the meeting room upstairs.

Too bad, the front office staff didn't write down the sum of the bill we paid to the airport booth. Unfortunately, we've just knew it when we arrived in Jakarta. And when we called to get the bill sent to us, they said they couldn't give it to us. :(

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is quite nice place to use while on a business trip. First of all it is in the center of the city, second of all there is a shop with groceries right next to it. And there is a local bazaar when you get out of a hotel. The rooms are very well equiped, almost luxry, but not too big. The view throu a window does not alwasy offer a plesant scene, meaning that there are a lot of poor household in the near vicinity of the hotel. Beakfast offers a wide choice of food, the personel is hospitalble, always with a smile on their face and ready to help. I thought it was a nice gesturre that you get two coupons for welcome drink, but be sure to use them in time, because otherwise they are no good. And also you get two coupons to eat brekfast, I suppose if you meet somebody and they spend a night in your hotel room :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice hotel, located in the city, near by shoping mall and traditional market.
Friendly and helpfull staff, especially in the lounge near by lobby.
Swiming pool at 5th floor, this is small pool, but its enough for small exercise after working hour.
Nice breakfast.
Clean room, clean bath room, but water from closet tower is not too heavy.

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor, near by swiming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadang Gatot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed 4 days at the hotel. WiFi is nearly impossible. Aircond not cool enough, sweating thru the nights. No safe deposit and newspaper as advertised. Cannot iron our own shirt, must send to laundry, and have to pay for it. Key card keep on failing. Rooms ended with even number most likely to have a wall-view. Breakfast is so so.

Good thing is, they will listen and answer politely with full concern while listening to your complaints. They will buzz your room now and then to tell you it is not a problem, but a "features" - sort off.

And when you hit the boiling point, they will happily assist you to change your room. Mostly with the same "features" attached to the new room.

The room is neat and clean.

Room Tip: Avoid room ended with even number or you will most likely be facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatRayau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I experienced too many problems to enjoy staying at this hotel.
Wifi in guest rooms is promised, but the signal is too low to connect. Sometimes there is no hot water in the bathroom, and when it’s available the shower can only be set to either too hot or cold. The card keys kept failing. In a shocking lack of security, one member of staff gave me his master key card, so for a couple of hours I could have accessed any guest room in the hotel. The walls are too thin so you can hear conversations in the room next door. Only four English language stations on tv. Staff ignore the “do not disturb” sign.
There were some positives: comfortable bed I slept well in, the furnishings are new and it’s generally clean. The staff is friendly, but completely unable to solve any problems. On my first day, the front office manager was away and nobody seemed to be in charge. When I did speak to the front office manager, he was apologetic and diplomatic, but didn’t solve any of the problems.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breizho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#4 of 39 in Padang
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 39 in Padang
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Inna Padang Hotel
0.2 mi away
Daima Hotel
Daima Hotel
#17 of 39 in Padang
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaris Hotel Padang
Amaris Hotel Padang
#15 of 39 in Padang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Plaza Hotel

Address: Jln. Permindo 40, Padang 25111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Padang
Price Range: $30 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocky Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Plaza Hotel is a newly renovated and built four star hotel, located in Padang's prime city area with 171 room accommodations surrounded by shopping centers. The rooms provides luxury equipment such as high quality beds by KingKoil and 29" LCD TV with electronic key card system. Free wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing