We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aggressive selling, try to get maximum money and mixed service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Losmen Carlos Beach Home Stay
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Padang
Zurich, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aggressive selling, try to get maximum money and mixed service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Not recommended, though mentioned in Lonely planet. We organized the trip to the islands with Mikael from Losmen Carlos. He charged 2M for 2 nights with no stand-by boat.
The bad: It is most certainly too much and he tried to get more money even after we agreed on the deal. After extending for a day he wanted also more money to pick us up from the island. The good: he brought us to the Rimba Ecolodge (actually not an island, but at least as beautiful) where we stayed 3 nights and had a great time.
Conclusion: try to organize your island trip with somebody else. For a quiet stay, Rimba might help organizing the trip.
The owner is probably spoilt from money and is not friendly...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank bergvirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room- dirty and very old, especially the bathroom. 150.000 rupiahs it’s a lot for the conditions offered;
Bar/Food – pay always after order, because when the time to pay the bill, Carlos add taxes that didn’t comment before. Number of orders (especially beers) wasn’t correct;
Boat trip of one day – with 1 million rupiahs, (mandatory by carlos to pay one day before the trip) for see the best coral in Sumatra and visit any islands we want (promised by carlos). In the end we just were on one island and the snorkeling was quite normal. A lot of fishes on dead coral.
After all, in the end of the trip, carlos asked for more 200.000 rupiahs, claiming that was the price arranged. Of course wasn’t true.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Padang hotels

Suwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I will start with the good. First, Bungus Bay is a short way from the Minangkabau Airport (Padang Airport) (1 - 1.5 h depending on traffic). For us it was convenient to stop there after a long way to Indonesia, to have a swim and relax a few days before starting our treks.

Second, you can hire a boat and go to small idyllic islands nearby for day trips or overnight camping. The island of Pagang where they took us was beautiful - with white sand and clear waters and palms on the beach, but snorkeling was not so great, as most corals are dead or destroyed, all we saw was plenty of fish. For some reason most people are taken to one Pagang island, but I believe that there should be much to discover underwater at other deserted islands and beaches of this area. (Later, we also went to Persumpahan island in Bungus Bay and found corals a bit better there, saw a turtle and a muraena).

Third, if the weather is good, you can see a stunning equatorial sunset.

But all this goes to any place in Bungus Bay and not only to Carlos's.
And the last and only real advantage of the Losmen Carlos is that the beach in front of this homestay is sandy and suitable for swimming, which, as we learned later, is not the case for all of Bungus Bay.

Everything else is one complete disappointment:

- Noisy and impossible to sleep

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not sleep one of them! The place is extremely noisy, the road is just behind this property, so you can hear motorcycles, trucks and cars passing all day and night long, plus the owners and others actually park their cars and motorbikes at your cottage doorstep!! Plus many people gather on the beach, that is, between your veranda and the sea, and they speak and shout to each other day and night. The walls are paper-thin and it feels like you sleep not inside your room but outside with all these motorbikes and people on the beach.
And yes, there are tons of mosquitoes, too, and the so-called mosquito net is holey and does not help at all. We were bitten all around.

- Dirty beach, dirty water, dirty air

The beach is sandy and you can enter the water, but it is not so pleasant, lots of rubbish (plastic bags, bottles etc.). And we saw a local man taking a bath right in the ocean - he was washing his hair with shampoo and this all also went to the water you are going to swim, brrrrr.

Another thing is that Carlos and others there smoke non-stop, while we do not smoke, but they consider it OK to just stand near you or sit down to your table and smoke to your face. OK, many people in Indonesia smoke, I know, but not all have such manners in our experience.

- "Mistakes" with bills at check-out

When you order something to eat you do not pay right away, but write down in the notebook and pay on check-out, no problem, fine. But when the owners showed us a bill it turned out that there was some "tax" (about 10%) added on all bills for rooms and food!! But not sure where it goes, as we were not given any receipts for our stay (no problem, but why tax?). Nobody ever told us about this "tax" till the check-out time. They could have indicated it on the menu as it is usually done.

OK, tax... but still the bill was about 100 000 IDR more than it should be (I took notes of what we ordered and prices). We quickly discovered that some dishes became more expensive on the bill than in the menu. They claimed it to be a "mistake". OK, maybe, maybe... But still, all the "mistakes" were such that food became more expensive, not less.

Also, when we booked an island tour with them we were quoted the price of 250 000 IDR/person including lunch and were told that we would be the only passengers. But the next day they claimed it was 300 000 IDR and we are a group of 5. And again, we were told that the island of Pagang is deserted and nobody comes there etc. only to find many (quite ugly) constructions and crowds of day trippers there. The island is beautiful still, but why lie to us?

These two incidents spoiled our impression of the place a lot, and this is not about money, but rather about their approach to guests.

To conclude this long review, I would stay again in Bungus Beach as in a transit point to jump off to nearby islands, Kerinci NP and other sights, but I would not stay again in Losmen Carlos. 150 000 IDR for what you get is too much and there are better option in there. But I believe that there are plenty of opportunities to improve this place, so Carlos, if you are reading this, good luck with your business, it could really be a very nice beach homestay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katja_nsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The guesthouse could be a nice place to stay.
Carlos, the boss, makes a lot of efforts to be friendly and to organize day-trips and activities for his guests. And his sister cooks every day traditionnal food.
But the prices are really too expansive, especially for the rooms: 200 000 Rupiah for an ugly room (in front of the see) with a smelly, disgusting bathroom and an uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SebfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padang
9.3 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.8 mi away
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
#9 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
12.1 mi away
Paradiso Village
Paradiso Village
#2 of 38 in Padang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra
Ricky's Beach House - Authentic ...
#1 of 1 in Nagari Sungai Pinang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losmen Carlos Beach Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losmen Carlos Beach Home Stay

Property: Losmen Carlos Beach Home Stay
Address: Km. 20, Bungus Jl. Padang Painan, Padang 25242, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Padang
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleeping fishing village located 20 KM south of the field, which is located on a beautiful beach with calm sandy beach, suitable for swimming.Losmen carlos has 3 cottages beach, with a fantastic view of the blazing sun.Think to dowe offer A full day tour of A tropical beach island where the sand is soft As talcum powder.All inclusive,snorkeling gear,lunch,local guide.And you can enjoy, the beauty of sunset on the beach carlos. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing