We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean.”
Review of Mercure Padang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Padang
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and clean.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Came here on business. It is a nice and quiet hotel near the beach. However, this is a beachfront hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff was good. Quick registration.

The hotel design is modern and spacious. A very nice pool on the UG floor near the restaurant. Love the food!! Wold recommend to have breakfast with your booking.

The room was clean. Toilet was clean too. The only problem was the internet access need username and password which is only specific to one device. If you need more than 1 device connected, need to ask for another password. The front desk will provide them FOC without hassle.

Would definitely stay here again if I ever in Padang

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Lokoste,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mercure Padang.

It is with a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the friendliness of our associates. Your message has been passed on to all of our staff and they thank you for that.

Our strategic location and the fact that we are a beachfront hotel have given our clients tremendous advantages. In regards to the level of cleanliness, we are happy to learn that it has met your expectation and we ensure that we would keep the standard of excellence in the area.

The design of our internet password, one password for one device, have been selected for the security of our guest privacy . However, our staff will be very happy to assist all of guests to have more password. Lokoste, Once again, thank you and we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back and making Mercure Padang Hotel as your home away from home every time you visit Padang West Sumatra.

Your Sincerely,

Dodit N Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    218
    76
    19
    8
See reviews for
110
54
24
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I checked in on Jan 3 and the booking was done via Accor website on Nov 2013 for 2 Superior twin.
First , the reception told me that the rooms were not included breakfast, while on my print out it was clearly stated that my rooms included breakfast. He checked it back and forth with his superior, seems hotel didn't familiar with Accor booking.

Second, the reception didn't know how to read the available room. Hence he changed the room configurations many times. He informed me that on that day hotel just changed its system - supposed hotel staff had already trained for new system , right ? Just for checking available room on the system, some staff need to come and explain at reception's monitor.

Finally after almost 1 hour , the staff asked me to sit in the lobby and they would find rooms for me.

Hotel rooms itself were clean and well maintain.

But in the evening, my mom's card lock didn't work although it was already re programmed at the receptionist. The staff told us that looked like the key battery on the door was out. The engineer fixed it later on.

Wifi didn't work at all during my stay.
The staff informed me that there was problem in wifi facility.

I would like to try hotel spa, however I cancelled it since the spa payment couldn't be charged into your room and had to be paid right away.

Breakfast varieties were good, food was tasty.

I suggest that hotel apply dress code policy in the restaurant , as I saw a man had breakfast without using any shirt - just with his short pant.

Check out process was fast, bell boy came fast into our rooms to take our luggage.

Note : Hotel location is not in the city center as it is close to the sea.
No shopping center around hotel.


Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ika C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your stay at our Hotel.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure Padang, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your displeasure with the check in process, please rest assured that I share your comment with all of my team and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Traveled to Padang on a whim due to a fantastic airline deal. Mercure was a nice base for exploring the area as the hotel offered reasonably priced tour services to local sights including Bukittinggi and Lake Maninjau. As a woman traveling solo, I found the private tour service very safe.

Service was generally good and the room was clean and comfortable. Food offerings were average in general, but the chocolate glazed donuts were pretty awesome, particularly as they are half price in the afternoon.

The massage services were pretty disappointing in skill level and while there was a nice pool, given that all the women in the pool had long sleeve, long pant swimwear, it did not seem like the appropriate place to wear a bikini.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear IdaFats,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Padang Hotel and taking the time to share a review with us.

On behalf of management and team of Mercure Padang , we would like to express our gratitude for your great comments and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to our warm hospitality in the not too distant future

Kindest regards,


Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from Maninjau at 28 Dec 2013 at 7pm, only to be told thay our online reservation at Accor Reservation was not on their list.

And we found this fishy, since this afternoon at 2pm we received a phone call from Mercure in our mobile phone asking if we're coming or not. And we firmly respond, YES. And we also stated the fact that we're on the way there from Maninjau which is around 150km away (and approximately 5 hours driving).

After a tough negotiation, including strongly not agreeing to be separated 3 floors away from our kids (age 12, 10 and 7), we end up having to downgrade 1 room to Superior (pool view) from supposedly Deluxe (sea view).

I've been using internet booking and purchase while planning our travels and holidays, and this sucks.

Btw, my reservation number is H92-11PZ.
Under Julian Mulia.

What supposedly to be the last day of our magnificent trip to Sumatera Barat has been stained by this incident.

I wish Accor and Mercure Padang both improve their internet booking system to avoid this kind of disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienny595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sienny595,

First of all I would like to say thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel.

I am very sorry that your experience on booking services did not meet your expectations.
There is simply no excuse for any failures on our part. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have taken note of your displeasure with our service. Rest assured that I shared your comments with our department concerned and immediate steps have been taken to ensure this problem will not be occur next time.

Sienny595, once again thank you for your constructive comments. These will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our services to better meet the needs of our guests. We would like to welcome you again soon and hope your next visit will be more comfortable and happy one.

Kindest regards,


Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We travelled here to Padang and first were not to impressed by the Hotel. But we checked out other hotels in the Area and realised that we made the best move by choosen this Hotel.
The first days we had trouble with internetconnection here and they send a couple of times somebody over, but this didn't work, but in the public areas it was good. But we choose this Hotel for Wi-Fi and so we were not to impressed. But after 2 days the manager send somebody to install a extra router in our room and even upgraded us to a bigger room with seperate livingarea. This was a nice touch,but must say we had previous the junior suite on the 6th floor and we liked this as much if not more because this had a good view towards Padang City, the pool area and to the Indian Ocean. the new room was on the 3th floor but in the front, so had less view towards Padang town but could see over the Indian Ocean. This room was a bit more noisy as being on the front(above the entrance) with traffic. The other room was quite as being above the poolarea which is closed night time.
The staff were super friendly and nothing was too much.
The gym was a bit small but at least we could work out.
We had twice a Javaans massage for over an hour and this costed not more then 15 euro and was super relaxing. Overall the prices are for Europeans very good.
They served the best Steaks in Town too. Not to impressed with the pastas as the sauces are not European at all but more Indonesian taste. Even the sate tasted better in Kuala Lumpur or even in Holland as the pieces were to small to give a taste. The padang sauce was for sure NOT our taste, but the crushed spicy peanutsauce was ok. Once a week they have a BBQ Night and this was very good too with live music and freshly grilled sate,lambchops, fish, etc.
The Breakfast Buffet had a good choice from European to Eastern choices.
Only the area Padang is very dirty, lots of traffic with no rules, scooters crossing left, right in front of you and even towards you.
We love to have a walk, but this was a dangereous experience.
Even the beaches here were disapointing as they were BLACK and dirty. So we used the pool of the Hotel and I think Mercure has the best Pool from Padang.

Room Tip: choose juniorsuite 601. this had a very good view and was not noisy night time. as it was around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbonsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ibonsing,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Mercure Padang. We are very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us with super friendly staffs, relaxing Javanese SPA massage, best steak in town and BBQ night with live music and also your impression with our swimming pool and good view of our Hotel.


At Mercure Padang, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your displeasure of Internet connectivity, please rest assured that I share your comment with all of my team and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again thank you for your valuable constructive review and we hope to have you to come here again with an assurance of better services.

Kindest regards,


Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, CR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel was more than sufficient, clean, secure, nice/large pool, etc. The food was pretty good and the service was actually quite good. Sort of like the Sumatran version of a business grade hotel in the US, I'd say, but with an ocean view and large pool, daybeds,etc. The restaurant and bar staff were very helpful. We only stayed one night before jumping on a boat for two weeks and it worked out very well. They have a CRAZY breakfast buffet with all sorts of random food, too, that was tasty and fun to eat. Was perfect for a night or two as a transit hotel on your way to your Mentawai trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonomaisbushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sonomaisbushed,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your recent stay with Mercure Padang.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to hear how pleased you were with the services given here.

Your valuable comments have been passed to the concerned departments staff, I am sure this feedback will serve as a encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again Thank You and we are here to ensure your stay will be the most enjoyable. Look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Padang.

Kindest regards,


Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Currently it is the best option in Padang as Pangeran Beach Hotel is now tired. Room is what you'd expect from Mercure chain, with great value for money. As with other Accor properties, it is best to book directly via the website.

Location-wise, it is not that good compared to Pangeran Beach Hotel, however, there are often Blue Bird taxis parked outside the lobby, and short-term car rental can be arranged for about 20USD.

You'd want to dine outside for real Padang food experience, as the hotel's Padang food seemed to be tuned down for the int'l guests. Luckily, the famed restaurant "Fuja" is near to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Applecart3355,

We were delighted to learn that you found our hotel as the best option in Padang and I am really pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and our facilities met your expectations.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#5 of 38 in Padang
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Inna Padang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocky Plaza Hotel
Rocky Plaza Hotel
#12 of 38 in Padang
63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Basko Hotel
Premier Basko Hotel
#11 of 38 in Padang
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Padang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Padang

Property: Mercure Padang
Address: Jln. Purus IV no. 8, Padang 25115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Padang 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Padang, where sunset and sunrise collide, affordable comfort with beautiful Padang beach view is the gateway to your business trip and leisure in West Sumatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mercure Padang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing