We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Padang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Padang
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    207
    72
    19
    8
See reviews for
105
51
22
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night but our first impression and experience during check-in at the hotel was not good. We came with a couple who luckily got their booking in the system, but somehow the hotel credit card machine did not accept AMEX at the moment, so they were asked to show a different credit card. Strange. Then, we were even unluckier than them. First of all they said they could not find our booking in the system which we made from booking.com; bare in mind we use booking.com so many times, so we trusted their service and certainly things like this never happened before to us. Then, they somehow wanted us to wait until they managed to check and find our booking in the system again. They made so many excuses when we requested the room for the high floor saying that they were fully booked. After that they claimed they managed to find our booking in the system, but they first offered us a smoking room. We refused. Then, they gave us a twin room on the first floor when we clearly reserved for a superior double room. After insisting with them, somehow magically there was a superior double room available on the 6th floor. My point is, as a customer we appreciate honesty. If somehow the hotel was overbooked, or did not have rooms ready, just told us so. Somehow, so many inconsistencies in responses made us felt treated like a fool. For us, the hotel just lost more credibility. The room itself were clean and comfortable, but I would not recommend this hotel for its bad services and unreliability.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dewi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dewi E,

Thank you for sharing your detail experience with us. We learnt important lesson from your input here. We do really apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. We will take some improvement on these area as we directly do one-on-one session with the department concern.

At Mercure Padang, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Many thanks again for the feedback we certainly hope the incident above will not deter you not to come back and stay with us again, as we do expect that we may show you a different hospitality than the last unexpected service you've experience.

Your Sincerely,

Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice hotel in a crowd area (in evening). Walking distance to Padang Beach, the not so good beach.
The hotel itself is nice, however no sound isolated in the room (room# 630, ocean view)... i can hear other guests chatting, walking, banging the door and also can hear the water drainage.
About food? Had BBQ dinner there, and i think it's value for money (IDR 98K)... and my reservation was room only, hence i can't give the review on the brfast meal.

I think i'll try another hotel when (IF, but not sure in the near future) i visit to padang...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuzajouxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Yuzayakuza,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing your staying experience at Mercure Padang.

I’m happy to learn that you were having our hotel as a nice and new hotel in town. Also you haved enjoyed your BBQ dinner, yet we apologize for the shortfalls concerning to your inconvenience while you are staying with us. We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service and will eliminate the problems you experienced

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope you can see the improvements on your next visit to Mercure Padang

Your sincerely,

Dodit N. Hapsoro
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we arrived, the check in took soooo long we could have taken a tour of the city first! Completely unacceptable in a four star hotel. the staff neither smiled or apologised. It was a chore, not a pleasure. Please train your front counter staff to smile sincerely in future. The room had no wifi reception and was only fixed by our departure. So much for conducting any business or contacting loved ones. The hotel was at least clean. Thanks to the cleaning staff who did smile. The bartender on the night of the 27th of September did not even ask my wife is she wanted anything despite being the only person at the bar. On the last day we order room service breakfast. Half the western menu was un available. What did arrive subsequently took 90 mins. The one upside was the assistant duty manager who gave us a late checkout. We might try one more time to see if we just got Mecure staff on An off day.

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13jono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear 13jono,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

I very much appreciate your feedback and I am disappointed that we did not deliver to your expectations. At a certain period while we were running on full occupancy, it sometimes prevented us from being able to prepare the best of check in process quickly. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconveniences caused to you by this event.

As we always look for opportunity to enhance our Guest experience, you are very welcome to drop me a note prior to your next visit, and share any information that may help us deliver an even more enjoyable stay to you.

I look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future

Your sincerely,

Dodit N. Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

What can I say? Most of Mercure chain has the basic standard that most of us looking for from a decent hotel, clean, neat, tidy, friendly staff.
Start from the arrival, I didnt have my key with me, my friend fell asleep waiting for me (I arrived past midnite) the staff at the frontdesk called the security to take me to my room, and bring along my luggage. The room itself is spacious (twin bed), equipped with a sofa, a mini table, a desk and a chair, a flat tv with only few channels (I didnt bother, I was in business trip anyway) with all basic amenities of course. The great thing is, I have this sea-and-mountain view from my window! So soothing!

The shower is also spacious, modern and ,,, I wanna say super clean when I saw this small gecko just right at the corner of the toilet! I didnt complaint tho'....it was gone by morning anyway (and I didnt find it anywhere near my pillow, --well I didn't check my friend's)

The breakfast is great, variety of pastries, and mix of western and indonesian food, salad bar, cereal bar, etc. The view from the restaurant is superb, the pool which face towards the sea, a vast area of outdoor bar as well, very relaxing (but don't sit there at 12 noon)

Anyway, I havent got the chance to try the gym, and the pool, you should if you have time!

3stars because of the gecko!

Room Tip: if you find any gecko, just call the staff to remove it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannywishnuardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear hannywishnuardi,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It's a great source of inspiration to receive feedback from our valued guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your very kind words

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you found our hotel is clean, neat and tidy !! I do apologize for the small gecko which get into you room, I have spoke seriously with my pest control to more rigorous to prevent the lizard get into the hotel building ( we never kill it but we prevent and move it, as gecko is a good natural predator of mosquitos and insects). Swimming Pool area has become a favorite for our guests to enjoy a relaxing, even during the mid of the day, this area still feels shady with the fresh sea breeze come from the beach.

I will share your comments with our staff member. I am sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On behalf of the all Mercure Padang family, we thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Your Sincerely,

Dodit Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedang
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

hotel with nice sea view and pool side with restaurant with cozy atmosphere. children may playing around the pool area without worries. It is not far away from the airport which could take about 15 minutes by taxi and the atmosphere of the hotel is not quite busy so it is a good place for family to spend holiday as it is also next to the muaro bungo the way to the island. Recommended hotel to stay during holiday in padang, west sumatera.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear niken c,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It's a great source of inspiration to receive feedback from our valued guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your very kind words

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you found our hotel as a hotel with cozy atmosphere !! I will share your comments with our staff member. I am sure this feedback will serve as a encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On behalf of the all Mercure Padang family, we thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Your sincerely,
Dodit Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was with my family in July 2013 and I stayed about 2 nights on the deluxe ocean view. The reason is the only hotel in Padang near by the ocean only 200 meters and I can walk with my family and the culture is quite friendly and the food on my breakfast is variety. I will be back around January 2014 to having holidays and I really want to go to some island.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View and Higher Floor its 6th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodit N, General Manager at Mercure Padang, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Yanto B,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It's a great source of inspiration to receive feedback from our valued guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your very kind words

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you found our hotel as a hotel with nice view and friendly people !! I will share your comments with our staff member. I am sure this feedback will serve as a encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On behalf of the all Mercure Padang family, we thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Your sincerely,
Dodit Hapsoro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#5 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Inna Muara Hotel
Grand Inna Muara Hotel
#4 of 38 in Padang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Basko Hotel
Premier Basko Hotel
#12 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.6 mi away
HW Hotel Padang
HW Hotel Padang
#7 of 38 in Padang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Padang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Padang

Property: Mercure Padang
Address: Jln. Purus IV no. 8, Padang 25115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Padang 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Padang, where sunset and sunrise collide, affordable comfort with beautiful Padang beach view is the gateway to your business trip and leisure in West Sumatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Padang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing