We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“legend or fairy tale?”
Review of Air Manis Beach

Air Manis Beach
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Padang
Attraction details
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“legend or fairy tale?”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

we can go to banana island just by walk.. and there is a statue of famous malin kundang

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andre putra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    56
    75
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bogor
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fly above Air Manis Beach”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We flew at this place around 1st week of February 2006 on Papatong Fly 'n Play Expedition. The take off area was very small & poor. We have to alert ourselves not to boom out on hybrid palm plantion, so we have to fly high enough and go towards the landing safely near on the beach, near by Malin Kundang statue.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank IREN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Riau, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Story of malin Kundang”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The story of malin kundang is really interesting only beach is dirty

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Juef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go to the outer island”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This public beach also not so clean, but the outer islands, 20 minutes away are lovely.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Javasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to get your feet wet diving and surfing!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We were in Padang for 4 days recently. We took a package which comprised 5 dives and a day of surfing. It was a full board package including the accommodation.

We took the early morning flight from Kuala Lumpur. Padang is only an hour away from KL but the 1 hour time difference means you arrive at practically the same time you left. We were greeted by our friendly local agent Bob Effendi and his wife Dewi who whisked us off to our accommodation at Nature Inn. The dive equipment area is built into the side of the house so it is super convenient for divers to unload their gear or arrange for the rentals.

After an early morning brunch of noodles we left for our dive trip. It was a 45 minute ride from the jetty by speed boat to arrive at a little island with waves lapping on the shore. The boat is not a dive boat and the assembled gear is laid out on the floor of the boat at the back. However I understand that there are plans to upgrade and include the purpose built area to stand up the tanks and gear.

The diving there is pretty much like the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia like Tioman or Redang. Visibility was so so. However we practically had to ocean to ourselves, and we never saw any other divers during our 2 days diving there. The highlight was dolphin sightings on both days. Both days we saw a relatively small school who shied away from the boat though we are told by Bob that bigger schools are friendlier and do come nearer. Even then it was such a beautiful sight to watch them jumping and leaping out of the water. Wow! That really made my day!

Once the boat goes out we will not return to the mainland till all the diving is done. Lunch is either onboard or on one of the deserted islands around. In between dives they give out the sweetest pineapples. Nice! There is also drinking water and dry towels for our use.

We all tried our hand at surfing on the last day. We went to Air Manis beach which has waves just the right size/height to learn – anything bigger and we would have be swamped! Bob is a patient teacher and went to each of us one by one. By the end of the morning my friend Huey Teng could surf all the way to the shore. It was definitely an experience not to be missed.

Meals in Padang is really something else. Bob and Dewi act more like friendly hosts and bring us around to try the delicious Padang food. Don’t leave Padang without trying the pork satay, the authentic Nasi Padang or the local fresh orange juices. Also be prepared for really spicy food. Being Malaysians we were all used to it, but this is not Bali with the multitude of international tourists. Some places they don’t even serve canned drinks & all drinks are made on the spot.

Go for the diving, stay for the surfing!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank byyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Manis Beach also viewed

Padang, West Sumatra
 
Padang, West Sumatra
 

Been to Air Manis Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing