We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Place and can get better”
Review of Brigitte's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigitte's House
Ranked #2 of 50 Padang B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It is reasonable and fairly clean. And every one is friendly and helpful.
The only problem that if they keep the water in bathrooms available all the time and keep the toilet area dry it will be even better. I gave feedback to Brigitte on this and she took it well.
However for the price, the breakfast and the hospitality, I would definitely stick to this place.

Room Tip: Write to Brigitte in advance and tell her your expectations. Also as I have seen, dorm rooms shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aparna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hospitality:
The staff is amazing and friendly. They try to help wherever possible. The Kids are always in the living area and make it a real Homestay. The only negative point is, that Brigitte does not really care about certain things. Several times belongings were taken away (replaced) and I had to ask more then once to get them back. My swimming trouser never showed up again, first Brigitte would ALWAYS say, I don't know where you put it.... in the end I would find it some corner or on the fridge.

Rooms. The rooms are very clean and there is enough space to get sorted. One room (dorm) has even a a balcony. The single room (two beds) is overpriced, no hot shower and no real window. The dorm feels better then the single rooms, especially as there are only 3 beds. They charge 85 000 for the dorm and 250 000 for the single room. Breakfast is delicious and included. You can have your breakfast at any time of the day.

additional:

They are offering some meals and drinks. You can rent a motobike for 60 000 a day. The living area has fast internet (wifi). You can watch TV with the kids. Internet is also available.

Living area: the living area is the home of Brigitte and her kids. They are always around, which makes it a real Home stay. It is a very modern and spacey place with a lot of light!

bathroom: they are clan, cold shower, a lot of space. Unfortunately they always turn of the water in the evening, which makes the toilet smell and I couldnt take a shower when I went late to bed.

real good value, especially as Breakfast is included.

ba

Room Tip: Try the dorm with Balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drobstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Brigitte House is well located at the chinatown in padang. Very cozy ambien with friendly owner. This is a ONE STOP CENTRE for your whole trip in padang. They also provide local tour in padang which can bring to the sea, Bukit Tinggi & others.
All trip is value for money & price is very resonable.

Just a simple words to descride Brigittle House - "AWESOME"

Best Regards,

AH HOUNG - Malaysia Y(-o-)Y

Room Tip: try ask for air con room. weather is quite humid & hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0unG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

For a backpacker budget place, this was quite nice. Unfortunately for my parents who thought given from the tripadvisor reviews that this was a quaint and pretty B&B, Bridgitte's House is definitely a place ideal for those expecting backpacker digs. The staff were incredibly friendly and were a definite highlight to our stay. However, the rooms are basic. Of course, expectations are everything. For a place with dorm beds and a common hangout lounge, this is a pretty decent place to stay which my husband and I enjoyed. There's enough privacy, dorm rooms are not overcrowded, breakfast was decent and the beds themselves were comfortable. There was only cold water but again, not out of line for what your paying. Towels were extra charge, our toilet didn't work well and our tv didn't hook into anything (including power). The rooms themselves looked a little worn around the edges. But obviously if you've been roughing it, it may feel like a welcoming home away from home, while if you've come from a 4-star hotel, it may feel like a dump.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I had a really warm welcome in Brigitte's house; the personnel made me feel like home. The place is comfortable, clean and very functional. The location is very good to reach the city centre. I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Brigitte's House is run by a group of people who genuinely make you feel as a welcome guest. This is a guest house where the level of hospitality and service matches what we all think of and hope for when we're traveling. The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, interesting, and interested, and the atmosphere is reflective of this. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Padang - whether en route to the Mentawais or not (if you are, it is also an excellent place to stay due to the proximity to the harbor and the staff's expertise in organizing and facilitating surf trips).

In terms of practicalities like facilities and cleanliness, the house itself is extremely clean, as are the rooms, and there is a variety of them available for all different budgets. The balconies overlooking the street and on the roof are also nice places to hang out and relax. The breakfast was also one of the best values I've ever experienced from a guest house/ hostel/ hotel - a huge, delicious spread of home cooked eggs, prepared fruit, toast, pancakes, and coffee.

Overall, highly recommended because of the value, atmosphere, and people!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eponymous1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

if you want to feel like home - stay at the Brigitte House!
the hotel is very clean.
very friendly staff.
delicious and nutritious complimentary breakfast.
Brigitta can arrange a trip to the islands.
me and my friend really enjoyed staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandr058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
0.1 mi away
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
#16 of 39 in Padang
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
1.9 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#2 of 39 in Padang
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yani Homestay
Yani Homestay
#1 of 50 in Padang
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
New House Padang
New House Padang
#3 of 50 in Padang
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wisma Mutiara Hotel
Wisma Mutiara Hotel
#39 of 50 in Padang
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigitte's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigitte's House

Address: Jl. Kampung Sebelah 1 no. 14D, Padang 25124, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Padang
Price Range: $13 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigitte’s House has a relaxed and homely ambiance with dorms, single rooms, twin rooms and double rooms with private bathroom. The surrounding residential neighborhood is quiet and leafy; enjoy relaxing terraces and a selection of local and western cuisines. Brigitte, now well known within the surfing & backpacking community has plenty of information on Mentawais and West Sumatra adventures; ride, surf, fly, trek, or raft. She organises airport picks up and harbour drop–offs and rents motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brigitte's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing