We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muaro Bungalows at Maninjau”
Review of Lake Maninjau

Lake Maninjau
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Padang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Lake Maninjau is located within Western Sumatra - Padang area.

I stayed at the wonderful Muaro Bungalows / Restaurant - great place and only around 50,000IDR per night; double bed, private Mandi, wired to mains but low wattage light bulb, but my bungalow was naturally bright throughout the day and looked onto the lake - basic rooms - my heighbours had been there for a month!! Owned by Neni and helped by her two brothers - perfection, easy going people. The restaurant is open all day and does good food, both western and Indo Hire m/bikes from Neni; internet next door. By far the most popular of the accommodation at Maninjau - at one time she had to turn someone away due to having no spare bungalows. Most people seemed to stay only one or two nights. A very popular place to stay, but yet still quiet.
Lake Maninjau is less touristy than Toba (North Sumatra). I hired a bike and used that for two of the days and even went to the coast - a two hour ride took me to an empty beach!!!!
Some good (easy) walks to the top of the crater (old volcano) surrounding Lake Maninjau with beautiful senery at the top.
A great place to visit and I was quite sad to leave after my 5 days but had to only due to having booked a flight before I got to Maninjau.
I enjoyed it so much that I will probably visit again for a longer period during my impending 12 month career break.

Overall Maninjau is a great place to visit. Relaxed and easy going with options of eating expensive or local Warungs. Internet easily available and agents to help with transport.

There is a bank with ATM - definately acepts Mastercard (i had problems with my Visa).

Hope this is helpful - enjoy Maninjau!!!!

Date of experience: April 2011
13  Thank donnie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"road leading"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 5 reviews
"west sumatra"
in 9 reviews
"bus station"
in 2 reviews
"small hotels"
in 2 reviews
"per night"
in 2 reviews
"takes about hours"
in 2 reviews
"high point"
in 2 reviews
"took pictures"
in 2 reviews
"brown sugar"
in 2 reviews
"friendly locals"
in 2 reviews
"rice fields"
in 3 reviews
"enjoy the view"
in 5 reviews
"early morning"
in 3 reviews
"perfect place"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"clouds"
in 9 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

Lake Maninjau provides various attraction including naturally beautiful landscape, on road sport and air sport such as gliding, culinary, and other cultural attractions. please be attentive it is located in very rural areas about one and half hour from Bukittinggi.

In addition to those who intend to find being away from daily business, I think this is a perfect place for landscape photographers and mountain view lovers. This 3rd largest lake in Indonesia is surrounded by hills and mountains. The peak area called Puncak Lawang from where you can see most part of the lake and its beautiful surrounding areas. The beauty of Maninjau cannot be separate from other landscapes surrounding. It is just like a dream being at the top of the hills. If you are photographer you must visit Puncak Lawang. Puncak Lawang is also a heaven for Paralayang : one of the most challenging place for para gliding sport in Indonesia.

Lake Maninjau is also very popular with the 44 kelok from the buttom of the hill to the peak one.It is called kelok (zig zag) as upon your driving down or up you will make 90 degree U turns. through Maninjau, If you go from Padang to Bukittinggi or vice versa you must pass through these keloks. If you do roundtrip you will experience 88 extremely up down or down up U turns.

You can also enjoy local food mostly made of non ocean fishes. there are many local cafee and restaurants providing very Minang food. Since this attraction located at the rural areas most public facilities are made with local taste and standard.

My tips: best time to visit is during the clear days between April-August (summer times). If you are not serious landscape photographer better stay at Bukittinggi and start your Maninjau trip from there. Public transportation is very poor. Be in group travel and rent a car. If you are in a group, renting a car is very recommended. Puncak Lawang has gliding competition very often in May. The road is very nerrow do not go here with a big vehicle. small cars like van and sedan is recommended.

Date of experience: September 2011
2  Thank jatirokeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

There are several lakes in West Sumatra but I think this is the best. The water is crystal blue and so calm. In the morning you can hardly see the lake because of the fog. In the evening you'll even see more dramatic view of this lake. There are only few people living around it and I believe this lake is still in very pure natural condition. Apparently the local government really keep it from human's disturbans. It's far from a tourism resort and you can't find nice restaurants or hotels here. The best hotel you get is loacted on top of the hill and you can see the lake down below. There are some small hotels right at the edge of the lake. Here, you really looking for peace and enjoy the wonder & beauty of nature. Accomodation is cheap and you can order food at your hotel. I prefer to stay at hotel by the lake so I can enjoy it up close.
Its about 5 hours drive from Padang airport but the jouney is worthed and it passes through green scenery of rice field and mountains.
Compare to the lakes in Bali, this definately is better.

5  Thank adriani_sugandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Did Lake Maninjau right after our climb of Mt Marapi, so we started from Bukit Tinggi. The previous post has already detailed the 44 downhill bends, with a signboard at each hairpin corner denoting the number of the bend. Vehicles would have to stop for oncoming traffic as the bends are so sharp it is impossible for two vehicles to turn at the same time without colliding.

The view is fantastic and as you spiral downward the 44 bends towards Maninjau town by the lake, the backdrop of the lake are tall cliffs all round and the sun sets beyond the cliffs.

The water at the lake can get quite choppy because of the wind and we were told by our guide that the lake produces 10 tonnes of fish every day - and 5 tonnes of fish food are dumped in daily. Fish farms can be seen dotting the shoreline of the lake near town. You can see fish delivery trucks spiralling uphill on the main road all the time.

We came from Bukit Tinggi and we were taken on an alternative route to Maninjau, via the bottom of Sianok Valley, along the river and through roads with almost no vehicles. This road joins the main road to Lake Maninjau about halfway. Try using this alternative route - no traffic at all. However you will have to have your own transportation.

7  Thank FootyboyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Maninjau also viewed

Padang, West Sumatra
 
Padang, West Sumatra
Padang, West Sumatra
 

Been to Lake Maninjau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing