We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Padang is small town compared to Jakarta, so Pangeran Beach is pretty excellent for that measure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Padang is small town compared to Jakarta, so Pangeran Beach is pretty excellent for that measure.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days for a conference.

It was average experience overall. However, consider that Padang is so small compared to Jakarta or Bandung. So this place could be deemed excellent in that light.

But the services fees are so cheap! Laundry, in-room dining, etc. Except for car rent. Do not rent cars from Pangeran Beach if don't want to get robbed--especially for trips longer than 3 hours. Better rent car from third-party, it's far cheaper. You can Google them, cost around 400K IDR per day, while 4 hours of Pangeran Beach cars cost you the same amount.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    52
    59
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
14
7
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
World
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Quite an impressive and polished nice lobby and there is a private walkway leading to the hotel's private strip of beach. But the room was old with a musty smell and the bathroom was badly in need of renovation. My bathroom actually had a temporary shower in place because the main shower didn't work. The morning breakfast buffet was OK. The hotel was relatively expensive too so not worth the money. I would not go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RoadLessTravelledBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Padang hotels

dc
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I'd suggest try your luck at the Best Western.

During my stay they didn't even try to fix the internet. It was available from time to time in the lobby where they had blaring music EVERY night and it was infested with mosquittos.

Don't be fooled that this is on the beach. The tiny bit of sand between the end of the pavement and water is not a beach, it's more like a dump.

The rooms are stinky, there are no non-smoking rooms.

The pool I never got a chance to use even though I wanted to. The water looked super mirky but I was willing to risk it. The guy who cleans it insisted on throwing barrels of chlorine at 6 pm everyday when people just got back from exhausting meetings, it wasn't too hot and wanted to just enjoy themselves. He asked 20 people to wait an hour. When I saw how much chlorine he put in there, I thought i'd wait till the next day, that stuff will probably peel your skin off. It didn't help with the color of hte water much, you can't substitute for good filtration.

The gym has 4-5 machines, the pool guy could swithc the AC on for you but the AC doesn't cool it down for hours and by that time he switches it back off. He also insists on closing the door while the ac is on regardless of the sweltering heat.

Horrible guy. Talking to the front desk did not change much.

The front desk are pretty much useless and inflexible.

Try your luck with the Best Western. You might have more of a productive stay than here.

Suggestions to the hotel:
-pool maintenance should be done at midnight when people don't use the pool. It should include more than throwing chlorine in there. Do regular tests to ensure the quality of the water
-designate non-smoking rooms
-the IT should attempt to fix the internet

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dutchblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel is very convenient to visit, starting from the employees who greeted us with smiles and we are given the best rooms at a cheap price. We also assisted by employees of the hotel to show our great tourist attractions to visit. we really appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranjiddash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Nice room, nice bed, nice bathroom. Friendly professional staff. Entering the hotel you think you are in the Hilton but when you look better, you see that some maintenance is needed. The pool is empty and under construction (maybe because of the september '09 earthquake). The restaurant is good and the bar/ lobby is filled with people. There is free wifi in the bar. They serve good coffee in the bar and the atmosphere is the best we had on Sumatra. The price is quite high (600.000 rs).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padang hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 38 in Padang
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#5 of 38 in Padang
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Inna Padang Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Basko Hotel
Premier Basko Hotel
#11 of 38 in Padang
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rocky Plaza Hotel
Rocky Plaza Hotel
#14 of 38 in Padang
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangeran Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangeran Beach Hotel

Property: Pangeran Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juandano. 79 Padang, Padang 25115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pangeran Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pangeran Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing