We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ayam Goreng”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pagi Sore

Pagi Sore
Ranked #18 of 162 Restaurants in Padang
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Ayam Goreng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best Indonesian fried chicken, period. Padang style cuisine and service. Their Rendang is pretty good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IraHata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Restoran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I ever buy food here. the waiters were friendly and fast. with a variety of menus are attractive and good hygiene. good atmosphere and the spacious parking

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_rimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got to eat here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

If ever in Padang, you must eat here. One of the to do list. It is an eating house and do not expect fine dining and air conditioning. The food carries the unique Padang taste and there are a lot of locals who eat here. Just give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“More of a local 'coffeeshop'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Make no mistake folks, this is a local eating house and not a restaurant. The staff don't speak english ... so you'll have to point and speak in simple bahasa. It's rustic if you like that, but don't expect restaurant service.

food is so-so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A interesting introduction to the local cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited this place are reading all the reviews and having never had 'Padang' style of food we were equally amazed and frightened!

To introduce the style everything has been pre-cooked that day (or the day before who knows) and basically sits in large display dishes at the front of the restaurant. when you sit down they just bring a heap of stuff to your table and basically you pay for what you eat. As westerners this was a pretty crazy concept for us but we are both pretty brave with food so enjoyed the excitement. Also given that neither of us spoke Bahasa we just guessed what everything was. Overall the food was not amazing however the Beef Padang was really good as was some of the fish and vegetable dishes. It was a bit like going to the casino as you might pick something and think it looks good only to find out is not to your taste. Given the price the fact that the meal was not that great was no big deal. I think we left with a 15USD bill in total and a fun experience with a good story to share with friends.

Final thing, there was a local beggar playing guitar and singing traditional Indonesian songs in the restaurant. we LOVED it and tipped him well. not sure if this is a regular thing but added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagi Sore also viewed

Padang, West Sumatra
Padang, West Sumatra
 
Padang, West Sumatra
Padang, West Sumatra
 

Been to Pagi Sore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing