We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Garden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I stayed at the Emerald Garden for two weeks in July 2009 and was overwhelmed by the friendliness and kindness of the staff. The hotel is badly in need of redecorating, and we were told that it will soon be overhauled. Once we looked past the grotty wallpaper at the smiling faces of all the staff, we found we were having that rare experience of staying in a business hotel which makes you feel at home. There are smiling faces everywhere, and nothng was too much trouble. The balance was just right - a smiling welcome without any intrusion. Staff always went just that little step further than what is required for good service, so we had excellent service every day. The breakfast is excellent and the Chinese restaurant has superb dinners. There is free wifi (unlike in cities in Europe where I've had to pay huge amounts for wifi). Once the refurbishment has been carried out this will be a superb hotel. At the moment it's a superb hotel that's a little dingy. I recommend wholeheartedly looking past the wallpaper and at everything else this fine hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsScrabbleaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

I was there in Emerald Garden International Hotel - Medan on the 8 to 10 August. The room rate is reasonable and service is good.
What I like most is the breakfast, very local. I ate the porridge from the buffet table if I am not mistaken 3 rounds. It was so delicious. You may wnat to try this...when I was there, there are Rice Porridge and Soto (Soup) beside each other. I took the porridge and mix with soto. I add the Chilli Sambal, Sambal Kacang, Fried Shallot, Salted eggs and a bit of pickles vegetable. Wowwwwwwwwww!!! So nice and delicious and I eneded eating 3 bowls non stop.
I give a "Thumb Up" to the Fried Shallot. Something different about the Fried Shallot, thinly slice, crispy and you can eat like snack. I think the FReid Shallot is a home made and the Chilli Sambal and kacang sambal. So So delicious and I will come back again to Emerald Garden Internantional Hotel. This is what I am looking for a very local BREAKFAST. They do have a Western too but my forcused in on the local breakfast.

I regretted not taking 6 bowls..LOL....now I am back in Singapore, still thinking of the Porridge, the shallot.....sigh!

I had dinner in the Chinese Restaurant, if I can remeber Ho Pinh, or something like that. Very delicious and reasonable. I like it very much!

Keep it up CHEF!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchenGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

I stayed here because i I took a course which was held in the same location, in order to save time and money.

An old hotel which I guess need to be renovated soon,
When I get off the elevator on the second floor --- where the convention room is -- it was stink and so humid.
If you need going to the toilet, better you take ones in first floor, opposite China restaurant.
I can't tell a diffrent between warehouse and the toilet at 2nd floor!
I don't know, why the same type of room have different facility. My room doesn't have hair dryer, while a friend of mine's have.

And did I tell you the staff was not so friendly?

If, you're forced to stay at this hotel, find 6-7 floor. I stayed in 3rd floor and the music from Hotel Bar was soooooo loud that I hardly get enough sleep! not a good hotle if you are travelling with babies.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sikiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamers zijn redelijk geluiddicht, maar hoger is toch rustiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rstapel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank katherineadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 602Lubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BEATRIZLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 76 in Medan
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 76 in Medan
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Garden Hotel

Address: Jl. Yos Sudarso 1 | P.O.Box 2388,, Medan 20235, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing