We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Must Try for Noodle Lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mie Zhou

Mie Zhou
Ranked #15 of 399 Restaurants in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A place for good homemade Medan style noodles with various unique and delicious tastes!
Medan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Try for Noodle Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Medan can be seen as "Noodle"-City as you can find a lot of noodle places.
But Mie Zhou has got to stand out, the noodle is unique, in texture and in taste.

Everytime I got a chance to be in Medan, I'll definitely have a bowl (or two, or three) here.
The noodle is available in different flavours, so tastewise I'm sure there is something for everybody. And last time I went there few weeks ago, they had added new Menu, which I find innovative (like Hainanese Chicken Noodle).

So I believe this place is a must try for every noodle lovers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank netsurfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good you'll ask for more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The noodles at Mie Zhou has a springy and chewy texture that will leave every mouth of it a savory experience. From the man who created Mie Zhou himself, Mr Zhou says that every bowl of noodles is cooked in a strictly and timed manner, producing consistency in quality. Ranging from a non exhaustive list: there is the original soy minced chicken flavor, black pepper chicken flavor, spiced beef flavor and even dan dan noodles (the kind you can dip your noodles into a gravy on the side), Mie Zhou never fails to bring the fusion of flavors together to suit different taste palates. Each bowl comes with a generous portion of noodles and a balanced serving of meat and veggies. It also comes with a whole braised egg. The noodles are so good you'll ask for more.

It doesn't stop there, Mie Zhou also serves rice which the choice of chicken or beef. There are also side dishes to choose from. The Prawn Wonton in sweet and sour sauce is one of the best. Slurp it with a bit of gravy and it will leave you asking for seconds. Kids might like the Fried Prawn Ball as it is an easy finger food. It looks ordinary but it is in fact filled with a tangy flavor that will just kick start your appetite for a good meal at Mie Zhou. Definitely will frequent this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daesiree_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scrunchy Home Made Noodles & Bouncy Prawn Balls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were in Medan for a short break and wanted some Asian noodles... and were told about a noodle shop... Mie Zhou

It did not disappoint -- the egg noodles were scrunchy, home made (not in some some factory) and the slurpiness factor was to die for! The chicken flavours were delicious....

PRAWN BALLS - you have to order the prawn balls... they were just delicious... they were just so... prawn flavoured... you knew they were high in prawns and not flour that most are!

make the trip there ... I am missing it now...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtrippernineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Noodles WERE Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Best noodles in Medan... scrunchy... slurpy and just out of this world.

The noodles are home made and has no preservatives. The chicken noodles were first on my list with the Dan-dan noodles second!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Noodles in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

When i say noodles, I mean noodles. This restaurant makes its own egg noodle and serves it in at least 10 different delicious ways. The noodle here has the most natural crunchy quality I have ever tasted. I said natural because the owner claimed that no preservative and no additive was used in the noodle making. This is far and very different from the Hong Kong style egg noodle which crunchiness comes from the use of alkaline water and could sometimes taste rather chemical. During my visit there, my friends and I had a chance to try 3 kinds of their noodles which were all very mind-blowingly delicious. Two of us also ordered for additional servings after we finished our first bowls. We also had a chance to try their prawn wonton soup and their fried prawn balls which were so tasty and fresh. The prawns were so fresh that the prawn balls were practically bouncing when we put them in our mouth. It's quite a culinary experience.

We found this restaurant by chance as it was across from the hotel we stayed during our visit to Medan. The fact that the restaurant were crowded during breakfast and also shared the same name in Chinese as my family name also raised our curiosity. We certainly were glad that we found this great place for noodles in Medan. The city is already full of many good eateries and Mie Zhou has indeed topped the list as one of our "Must Eat" whenever we are visiting Medan. We truly hope we could find a similar bowl of noodle both in quality and taste here in Singapore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ex8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mie Zhou also viewed

 
 

Been to Mie Zhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing