We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tasty bolu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolu Meranti

Bolu Meranti
Ranked #1 of 19 Dessert in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Parking Available, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty bolu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Meranti never failed me. They make the nicest bolu, moist, not too oily, not too sweet. Love the cheese one, the blueberry is also nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yofi_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    241
    67
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must Try: local food (cake) at Medan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a store who sell a few of local food (cake) at Medan, price is mid-up but the taste issss.. hmmmm can't describe by words, you have to try!

If you come late and the cake is out of stock you can pre order to the waiters and then pick up in next day, pay later/on the next day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

My expectation was very big with this product - however, it was not as great as people say. The price of this cake was worthed, it was not overrated hence the size is also big enough to eat for many people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashtridity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fingerlicking good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Most of Medan people who are too used to the taste of Meranti rolls will just say that this is O.K. But for me, the taste of the rolls is keep getting better. I remember buying the rolls several years ago and compare the rolls in the present, and I realize, in my opinion, the filling of the rolls is getting much more than that years ago.

This pastry is a must-try for Medan visitor, and of course a good gift to be brought back home. One of the most well-known, an I think the most delicious filling is the chocolate-cheese feeling.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel77x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic cake from Medan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The authentic cake from medan branded as Meranti. You can asked the Taxi driver to take you there. For me, the best variant they sell here is the "Bolu Meranti Keju"!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolu Meranti also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
 
 

Been to Bolu Meranti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing