We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Deli River
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$48
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
232
83
19
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
83
19
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstri jayalake tobaan oasisbukit lawanghashpoffertjeslovely poolhectic cityweek adventurecall to prayertour companyyour well beingbusy towncolonial timesnostalgic tripdutch disheswe loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 344 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The owners of this hotel made our trip back to Indonesia a great experience. Travelling with my sister to the country where our parents and we ourselves were born was a first time experience for me. As we wanted to visit all the places where we had lived this was quite a search after 50 years! But our driver Erwin was absolutely fantastic- he drove us everywhere, finding all the rubber estates, which sometimes took hours to get to. Of all the houses we had lived in sadly only one we found still there. But what an incredible feeling it was to run into the garden and feel that you had come home! And to go and have an ice cream in Tip Top just like in the old days. And visiting Lake Toba where we used to go to on vacation as children.
I want to thank our driver and the owners of Hotel Deli River for making all this possible. It was an unforgettable experience.
And oh yes, the Indonesian food at the Deli River is fantastic and absolutely authentic , just as we remember it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Deli River and Omlandia Restaurant is a wonderful relaxing place to spend your time when in Sumatra. The staff are all very sweet and kind and will go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable. Out of the hustle and bustle of Medan city - you find this place between the trees in a tropical garden. Eating, drinking, to relax in, this place has everything travellers need. The rooms are comfortable, and as clean as could possibly be. I would recommend Hotel Deli River to any who travel need Medan. From Hotel Deli River you can organise your next tour, trip or adventure. Just relaxing by the magnificent pool was enough for me to not want to return home very soon.

Room Tip: Hotel Deli River has 8 rooms, they are all in great locations and have equally good amenities. You may need two single beds or a double or you may have to have two singles instead of a double if they are all already book. Just ask in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This place is great.
Value for money... Could be better, since the price of for example the swiss Bell hotel isn't that far of.
But, cottages are great with relaxing views over the huge pont and outside busy Medan.
The owners and staff are very helpfull and knowledgable about Sumatra.
They also run a tourist office and are able to book your trip to your needs and wishes.

At the Same time that is what we found to be the only downside.
We booked a five day trip with them, and all was taken care of ... Well.
Although... We recommend you to try and be adventurous... book everything yourself.
A car and driver can be found easily, hotels and guides also.
You pay less and most importantly the locals get more money as they would trought travel agencies.

Foodwise, this place offers lokal and Western food prapared in Western style kitchen ;-)

Tip: Medan is nicer than most people discribe.
First time Asia travelers will find that this city is too busy and dirty, but people are friendly and just want to know about you and were you come from.
Medan has few tourist sites.

Taxi back to the hotel... Get a Becak. Hotels will overcharge you and again the driver gets just a little share.

The Deli river hotel is a great choice if you don't mind a 20 minute drive to downtown city Medan.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We went to Medan for only one purpose: Lake Toba. Hence, we went straight to Lake Toba on the day we arrived. However, we did stay at Medan on our last day.
The hectic traffic in Medan is driving me crazy. I am so glad that after our 3D2N peaceful trip at Samosir Island, we stayed at Hotel Deli River instead of any other hotels at the city center. We decided to spend our last day enjoying this hotel :)
It sits at a peaceful village. You can hear birds chipping and roosters crowing at the break of dawn.
All the hotel rooms facing a lovely pond. Our room is very clean and comfortable. It is very cozy sitting at the balcony, with the view of pond and lovely garden.
I love their restaurant. The food served are real good! You really have to try their juicy sate :)We had continental breakfast the next morning. Our table is setup nicely near the pond. The breakfast came with local fruits, fresh fruit juice, eggs, toast, cheese, jam etc. We had great time chit chat over the breakfast table.
Oh, and I love the swimming pool too. It made me feel like swimming at a private pool :)

However, for those that wish to see Medan city, this hotel may not be suitable. It is a bit far off from city of Medan and the airport (It cost us 80,000 rupiah to travel from hotel to airport by taxi). Worse is, not many taxi drivers in Medan actually heard of this hotel before. We had trouble getting to the hotel on the night we came back from Lake Toba because the taxi driver didn't know the way and he had to drive us to his office to check with other drivers. None of them heard of this hotel before, they were guided by the hotel workers through phone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in if you want to arrive in North Sumatra and by-pass the city of Medan to go on to Lake Toba. You need to know it is quite a long way from the city of Medan and the Airport (you have to pay 90,000 rupiahs by taxi) and once there it takes time to get a taxi if you want to go in to Medan. But, it is a lovely place with a very good restaurant (people come from all over to eat there) and a very nice owner-operator,Ibu Diana. The rooms are comfortable and the environment very nice, with gardens overlooking a pond. Ibu Diana can arrange a very good car and driver to take you to Lake Toba or other places.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews