We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, not consistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Room cleaning and general areas cleaning is not up to a standard of a 5 star hotel at all. Clean towels are dirty, room is not vacuumed.
Room is very large and comfortable however the cleanliness is poor.

Except few staff members at the breakfast, the service is very inattentive and not focused. Coffee and tea service is not offered systematically.
Staff communication is not professional.

Food quality is good and varied in the main restaurant.

Overall property needs refurbishment as all areas are damaged.

The swimming pool lockers is a disaster, not enough swimming pool chairs are available. Pool water is not clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelogue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 323 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Will3935
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

smoking room, instead of non smoking room
room beside the elevater, no possibility to change room
room condition is max 3* never ever 5*
Minibar locked
NO room service menue available
Food far away from any 5* hotel international standard, even far away from local standard
1 day NO room cleaning, means also NO more toilet paper present, means.... no further comment
carpet inside the room looks already alive
in short words a very sad experience for such a hotel
max. pricelevel for Indonesia/ Medan 35 USD, if you pay more, it is NOT worth it

Room Tip: better do not book, this is the best advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loebe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best part of the hotel is it's location, although the city of Medan is not the most spectacular city to visit. The rooms are spacious, but, at least the room I stayed in, need updating. After reporting that the linen wasn't clean, it was replaced quickly. The service was good, staff is friendly. The Indonesian breakfast is varied, but if you want a European breakfast, you will only find toast, jam and an omelette (like in most Sumatran hotels, I stayed in). The hotel has a pool, pooltowels are supplied.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voorburg_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Medan is probably one of the cheapest places on Earth. We got a room for only $40/night and it's already a five-star. All expectations were met. The rooms were clean, the staff were attentive and polite and the bed was so relaxing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mightypetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel's central location close to shopping centers. Position in the city center and easy transportation. Recommended to stay at this hotel. Good room service & have a delicious food and drinks. Safety and cleanliness of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rusdan_f_nasution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Heard this is one of the best hotels in Medan. It might be claim years ago, but might be in doubt now. My experience in April 2013, I found it is old and need renovate soon. There are non-smoking floors and non-smoking areas in several public places. However, please ensure they confirmed your request. When I checked in, they said no more room (I booked as standard room) in non-smoking floors available. they asked me to change to deluxe room which is almost 100,000 IDR more expensive than standard room if I preferred to stay in non-smoking room. It was very disappointed. Some towels need more attention when laundry since I found some with off-white color and stains. Toilet in room need better maintenance since I found ironish water in bathtub and floor in-front-of shower room always got wet (flood) after showering. Breakfast with many choices to select, but they need to control mosquitoes. I was bitten many spots and I found one dead mosquito in juice serve for breakfast too. Wi-fi is available for free with password protect, but signal was quite poor....some nights even no signal at all. Can's believe that I will found these in one of the best hotels in Medan!!!.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 75 in Medan
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.6 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa

Address: Jl. Sutomo no. 1, Medan 20235, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Angkasa Medan managed by AccorHotels)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Medan
#6 Best Value Hotel in Medan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range: $40 - $1,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Medan's business and shopping district, the hotel is conveniently accessible for leisure and business. Approximately 39 km from the hotel, a 60 minutes drive away from Kuala Namu International Airport and a walking distance from Train Station (Railink - Airport-to-City train). Unrivaled spacious rooms for everyone, equipped with complimentary WiFi and contemporary furnishing, luxurious bedding and flat-panel TV. Our Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 1200 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Angkasa International Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing