We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strategic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“strategic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel's central location close to shopping centers. Position in the city center and easy transportation. Recommended to stay at this hotel. Good room service & have a delicious food and drinks. Safety and cleanliness of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rusdan_f_nasution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    107
    78
    23
    6
See reviews for
46
21
21
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Heard this is one of the best hotels in Medan. It might be claim years ago, but might be in doubt now. My experience in April 2013, I found it is old and need renovate soon. There are non-smoking floors and non-smoking areas in several public places. However, please ensure they confirmed your request. When I checked in, they said no more room (I booked as standard room) in non-smoking floors available. they asked me to change to deluxe room which is almost 100,000 IDR more expensive than standard room if I preferred to stay in non-smoking room. It was very disappointed. Some towels need more attention when laundry since I found some with off-white color and stains. Toilet in room need better maintenance since I found ironish water in bathtub and floor in-front-of shower room always got wet (flood) after showering. Breakfast with many choices to select, but they need to control mosquitoes. I was bitten many spots and I found one dead mosquito in juice serve for breakfast too. Wi-fi is available for free with password protect, but signal was quite poor....some nights even no signal at all. Can's believe that I will found these in one of the best hotels in Medan!!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Its good hotel..
Clean room and we got good rate with member
Hope Angkasa Hotel in Medan will full join with Accor, so we we can use advantage plus benefit at this hotel...
will stay in this hotel again when come to medan next time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank IvonneSubeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Medan is as terrible as it gets. What a terrible city is that. Nothing compared to the beauty of Sumatra. As a first night to start traveling in Sumatra the hotel is fine, but nothing special.
Medan is a dirty noisy and crowded city.
Staff was very helpful and considerate. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, but not terrific.
Traveling in Medan is only possible by cab. But don't sent it away. It's hard to find/catch a new cab when you need it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Grand Angkasa on August and really enjoed it !

The hotel very nice and devine , beautiful lobby and bedroom and aslo very clean and the amenities are very good .

The staff are exellent and very very helpful , Dewi at Front desk just great and smart and very very helpful. Really appreciated all her help !

Location is very good close to shopping center and night life. love it !

Will definetely comeback !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytrips1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed for 3 days 2 nights, I called up around an hour plus before my departure from Kuala Lumpur to ask for an Airport Transfer from Medan Airport - it was easily done by the concierge team. It was a ten minute drive to the hotel (on a jam-less street) and practically this hotel is situated nearly nowhere strategic place of interest accessible by foot. So, if you are a fan of shopping, malls etc and to avoid being slaughtered by the local transport - either you get yourself a designated driver on Day 1, or stay in a different hotel.

Soon after we arrived at the lobby, all 6 members of the concierge awesomely made us feel welcomed.Then came the reception, it looks dull, under-staffed, over packed at the time. Therefore the process was slow. Waited for 15 minutes for our turn check-in. There was no actual seats for the rest of the family members to wait on, we stood there, self-helped with the welcome drink, and when it comes to our turn, the process took another 15 minutes.

We stayed at the Executive Floor, Non Smoking Zone. The floor's lightning was somehow too dimmed to an extend it became quite an eerie; and our rooms was situated at the very end of the wing. The Bed is great! Bright lights! Sheets are awesomely clean, big flatscreen tv multichannel (clear reception), the usual amenities of a 5-star room, and the old well-maintained toilet looks awesomely comfy. Very happy!

The Executive Floor Lounge - (Note *** Do come here at 5pm onwards local time if you want to have your evening munch) It is a refurbished lounge, not much to shout about, it looks pleasant - fit with a free internet pc. several big couches and a well trained Lounge superintendent.

We ordered room service. We were promised that it will be ready in 10 minutes, but it took nearly 30 minutes to serve (it could be because it was New Year's Eve?) And it took nearly 20 minutes to receive an international adapter and a prayer mat. This must be improved.

On our last day, we are aware that the ext checkout time is at 2pm, but since our flight is at 9pm we asked if there can be an exception to extend to 5pm. After being bluntly rejected first hand by the receptionist, we manage to ask for a little extension through the manager till 4pm. Despite them knowing our situation, that approval also was reluctantly given and it took some effort of persuasion. We have stayed in many other 5-star hotels and since its not a full board - we even had some late checkout extensions until 6pm without any charges incurred.

Throughout our stay, the concierge team greeted us well. They offer to chat while we wait for our transport, gave tips on where to eat good food and even offered to take us to our favorite lunch spot for an affordable fee to and fro on our last day. Well done!

In conclusion of my lackluster review, it was a an enjoyable Medan experience. The concierge team is part of my enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Non Smoking Floors are upon request and it is a must if you cant handle it, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arifiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here 2 or 3 times during stopovers in Medan on my vacation this summer, and was really pleased with the size quality of the rooms (Grande Delux if possible) and the friendliness of the staff.

Location, as noted in other reviews was not central to the 'action' of Medan, but the concierge would call a taxi or you could easily get a motorcyble becak from th street in front.

Breakfast had a good selection of western and Indonesian dishes, and the other times I ate there the food was fine.

Major pro was the helpful attitude of the bellmen and reception-- not all spoke Englih well, but with my limited bahaa Indonesia I was always helped with a smile.

Room Tip: If you can afford the little xtra the newly refurbished Grand Deluxe rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
1.4 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa

Property: Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Address: Jl. Sutomo no. 1, Medan 20235, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Angkasa Medan managed by AccorHotels)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Medan
#6 Best Value Hotel in Medan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Medan's business and shopping district, the hotel is conveniently accessible for leisure and business. Approximately 39 km from the hotel, a 60 minutes drive away from Kuala Namu International Airport and a walking distance from Train Station (Railink - Airport-to-City train). Unrivaled spacious rooms for everyone, equipped with complimentary WiFi and contemporary furnishing, luxurious bedding and flat-panel TV. Our Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 1200 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Angkasa International Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing