We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undecided whether very good or average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karibia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Asia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Undecided whether very good or average”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

After staying at Karibia Boutique Hotel at least five times here are my two Rupiahs worth: I will start with the likes:
I like the rooms. Spacious enough for the price, very clean with a nice vibe. The feel is friendly and bright and the king size bed is very comfortable with clean sheets and four big pillows. Definitely more than just a boutique feel. The bathroom, on the other hand, is no-nonsense and functional.
I also like that fact that the room has a proper closet with safety box.
An additional plus is the very friendly hotel staff that tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. For those guests travelling by train from and to Medan by train the location of the hotel is ideal. Even though it is perhaps a ten minute walk on foot to the train station, the hotel offers a shuttle service - very convenient indeed.
Now to the not so nice things: I like hot (as in hot) showers in the mornings and what comes out of the shower head can perhaps best be described as lukewarm. Not my way to start the day. The next and biggest turn off is the breakfast (included in the room charges). After the third stay I have a hard time convincing myself to still try to swallow that dark brew resembling my oil of my car after I driven it for 100,000 kms. Hardly better is the food. Very few choices of Indonesian food that is spicy and cold. For those who prefer Western food there is toast, jam and choco spread. But the cheap stuff. Too bad since the breakfast place is housed by the Dante Cafe that actually serves nice food and coffee for lunch and dinner. But not for breakfast. Probably a different set up.
On the bright side, with the new Centre Point mall right around the corner and more and more stores and food places opening up soon in the neighborhood, chances will increase for better breakfast places.
All in all, I cannot decide whether to rate the hotel very good or average. If there was a good I would score it this way.

Room Tip: I stayed at the 3rd floor and there are some construction works going on. Smells dusty and is, at ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-Cuppster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    47
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
18
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean new hotel. Friendly staff. Easy to get taxi and becak. We love it. Near to Medan Mall.(where they sell everything at the cheap price). Definitely will come again. We got a 180 degree of view from hotel room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ady_kdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for our visit to Medan. The hotel rooms are clean and nice. The Staff was very friendly and helped us with all our touristy problems. Its not the nicest part of Medan although one could ask if there are nice parts in that city. The exception being: merdekka walk and the park behind it. Which is at a walking distance from the Hotel. We had a pleasant stay. There isn't a continental breakfast but the Indonesian breakfast more that sufficed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the street side if you want to see something when you look out of your window. Bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krankyouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although this is a 3 star hotel, it look like a 4 star from once you step in the hotel. As it is a new hotel, the room are clean with new furniture. There's a 32" LCD TV and the room are quite big. The bath room are clean and in good working condition. One small issue is that they only provide one key and you can't access the level in the lift without the key. Resulting in you need to go out together instead of separately. Everyone in this review of this hotel claim that the breakfast was no good but I feel that it is still OK if your criteria of the breakfast is not set too high. There's bee hoon on my first day and kwe tiao on the 2nd day. There's also green beans and bread. A normal breakfast spread.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a flight the next morning and therefore just needed a hotel for one night. This hotel is extremly clean and western compared to the dirty city of Medan. Next to that it has nothing exciting about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuudKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medan hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We decided stayed at this hotel as an overnight stop on the way to Samosir Island - Lake Toba! Good location with easy access from/to Kuala Namu Airport by only 5 minute walking distance from/to Medan train station.

Our room was at the 1st floor, although it's near with the lobby & the lounge: it was peaceful inside. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy + the pillows nice and squashy.

Breakfast was terribly poor with unfriendly staff at the restaurant, however; we got clearly-helpful information from front office staff on our local transportaions question :)

Overall, it is a good hotel for an overnight stay, value for money if you want to have a comfy sleep before heading to another city/country.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratih_Martial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Quite stunning even though this hotel have 3 star. It gonna be awesome place after the centre point medan mall open because located beside this hotel. Reasonable value for budgeted traveller. Quite far away from medan town but its not very busy road than medan town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanmuhdakmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
0.5 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#15 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
1.0 mi away
Emerald Garden Hotel
Emerald Garden Hotel
#16 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibia Boutique Hotel

Property: Karibia Boutique Hotel
Address: Jln. Timor | Komplek Centre Point, Medan 20231, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karibia Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibia Boutique Hotel is the most strategic four-star hotel in Medan. Surrounded by business area, Centre Point Mall and Murni Teguh Hospital, it only takes 5 minutes walking to City Railway Station and 60 minutes driving to Kuala Namu International Airport. We are convinced that you will experience enjoyable and memorable moments during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Karibia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing