We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mosque”
Review of Medan Grand Mosque

Medan Grand Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.25*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Medan
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big mosque”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The only mosque in Parapat. It was a great mosque with many facilities. It was so close to the main road and the motel, restaurants surrounding it. I loved its cold water..and we can have a bath at the ground floor and pray at the first floor

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fadzilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    153
    96
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Pretty on the outside but come with a local to go inside”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Pretty on the outside, but I took one look at the expression of the guy at the gate and I kept on walking as he did not look like he would be all too happy about a westerner showing up and Going inside... So if you want inside, better to come with a local and be appropriately attired...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful but difficult to visit as it's often used for prayers”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

mosques are made for religious purposes, therefore it's quite unethical for tourists to come and take pictures as it might disturb the prayers inside the mosques. the first time i was here, i wasnt allowed to come in due to the prayers, but the second time i was able to (still received some negative comments about tourists coming there to take pictures and disturbing the prayers)
regardless, the mosque itself is beautiful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Huge Mosque”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

To visit the mosque, please wear the proper attire and the keeper at the entrance door will ask you to wear scarf as to show respect to the religious site. We just snaps few photo in front of this huge mosque. Actually, the keeper asking from us to do donation before you could allow to enter the mosque.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raihana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mosque from out side”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only manage to have a look and shoot pic of this mosque from outside because we were run out of time, plus we don't have shawl or head cover. Yes, women must cover their head and have proper attire to enter this mosque

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hyatimolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medan Grand Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Medan Grand Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing