We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bihun Bebek Kumango

Bihun Bebek Kumango
Ranked #21 of 400 Restaurants in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I really like the duck noodles served at this place. The portions are large, and the food is delicious. Will definitely be back for more on my next trip to Medan.

Helpful?
3 Thank Denny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Duck Bee Hoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

One-of-a-kind rice vermicelli dish, topped with pieces of duck meat. Add a dash of fried garlic. Washed down with local Medan coffee. What more could a man want?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chiamchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The most delicious duck vermicelli in Medan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was first introduced to this bihun bebek eatery by a client who was nice enough to pick up a group of us at 7.30am for breakfast in the morning. The shop name was not very apparent when we drove down the lane of Jl. Kumango. Instead the shop next to the eatery had a more prominent signboard (in chinese characters of some local chinese newspaper). The eatery is an old-school no-frills shop with the food being prepared at the store front and tables/seats inside the eatery.

On a recent visit back to Medan, I decided to skip the hotel breakfast and arranged a super early trip to this eatery again to enjoy the bihun bebek.

I love the food here as this is absolutely the best vermicelli I've ever had in my life. The serving size is very generous (considering it's the most overpriced local breakfast in town - IDR 50,000 per bowl). The al-dente vermicelli goes really well with the vegetable, duck slices and fried garlic.

I hope to return here for the bihun if I ever travel to Medan again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CelineT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious duck glass noodle at Medan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The glass noodle was very delicious.. They served it al dente which means not to soft and not too hard and they mixed it with a homemade sauce which was very yummy.. On the top of it, they add a bunches of vegetables, duck meat which was very tasty and a little fried garlic(you can request more, its free). They served it with a special homemade chili sauce, chili pickle and the duck meat soup which was very pure duck broth.. It was indescribable.. So delicious

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was told by my friend/host that it's the most well known duck vermicelli place in Medan. The portion is a bit too big for me, but for the price that the place is charging (almost Rp. 50,000 for a bowl), it justifies the size of the meal. The place did get very crowded around 8:30 AM when all the locals came for breakfast. Highly recommend this place to anyone who is adventurous to try Medan local food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinoy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bihun Bebek Kumango also viewed

 
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Bihun Bebek Kumango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing