We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Recommended noodle in Medan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mie Tiong Sim Selat Panjang

Mie Tiong Sim Selat Panjang
Jl. Selat Panjang. No 7, Medan 20212, Indonesia
614157517
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 390 Restaurants in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jakarta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended noodle in Medan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Next to Swissbel Hotel, very nice noodle. Though have branches in Jakarta, still better the original

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    68
    19
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Delicious Home Make Noodle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was located just behind Swiss Bellinn Hotel and is very convenience for hotel guests to have simple and delicious local chinese food..........Too crowded and it take more than 10 minutes to be served...............delicious noodle and at reasonable price..........The only issue was walking street in front too narrow and it created inconvenience caused for vehicles and visitors during dinner and weekend.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delicious Noodles but Disappointing Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My better half and I went to look for this place when we were in Medan after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor. It was located in the older part of the city. It was quite a long walk from our hotel, Palace Inn in Jalan Majapahit. Later in the evening, we took a becak back.
We had expected to come to a food court but we were disappointed because it was only a narrow street lined with some food stalls on wheels as well as eating shops on both sides of the street. Among the limited types of food sold were local cakes (kuih), chicken rice, sate, soup noodles, porridge, soto, dessert, fried rice and noodles. As night fall, the place was not well-lit and many vehicles including four-wheel drives and motorcycles squeezed their way through among the pedestrians. It was quite disorderly and exhaust fumes filled the air.
The egg noodles at this restaurant was the best noodle dish we had found after a week in Sumatra. It was delicious with the extra big wanton (pork dumplings) and char siew (barbecued pork). It had been in business since 1940. The proprietor was friendly and his business was very good as his place was crowded with customers. We also tried the chicken porridge from the shop beside it. It was good too.
There was a similar 'food street' (Jalan Semarang) just two blocks down the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank csChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelalawan, Riau, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Noodle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Best home-made noodle I ever try.

The table almost full everytime, the staffs very busy, you may wait as noodle was very fast to be eaten :) Just raised your voice to order the food.

Ordered their signature dish, and satisfy with the flavour and portion. The noodle not too thick and the soup was delicious. The price maybe a little bit expensive. However definitely will come back.

The staffs were very helpful when I accidentally drop my hotel card. Couldn't find it at that time, but one hour later the staff call me that they found my card.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tourist? Must Try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Not your average asian noodles, coming from one of the food capitals of the world, this is great stuff!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mie Tiong Sim Selat Panjang also viewed

 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Mie Tiong Sim Selat Panjang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing