We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical, worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tjong A Fie's Mansion

Tjong A Fie's Mansion
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historical, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Tjong A Fie's mansion is worth a short visit. This is the home of the richest man in Medan about a century ago. Don't forget to cross the street and try Tip Top. Another local cafe that has been around since 1920s.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madelon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    175
    65
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

A must for a visit to understand the history of Medan. Well prepared and maintained. Located in one of the historical area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesB242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“learn many things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

if you want to learn medan history, can start from this place.
major tjong story was touch my heart. icon of chinese and malay people in medan.
must go...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank okie_baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The site is raked #1 in tripadvisor among the attractions in Medan, I fully agree.

Tjong A fie mansion is quite well preserved for examples the furnitures and tiles are original. I have visited the similar thing in Penang (Chong Fatt Sze Mansion or also known as Blue House), my parents also did visit the Chong Fatt Sze Mansion in China and we all think this is the best preserved. Tjong A Fie (张耀轩) is the nephew of Cheong Fatt Sze (张弼士) and they were big Chinese tycoon at that time.

I'm glad to know that the building is now still belongs to the Tjong family and one of his great grand daughter was sitting near the ticket counter. Many original artifacts and pictures you can see inside the building.

The entrance fee is IDR35,000 (if I'm not wrong) with English speaking guide. But I think the information provided by the guide is too brief and limited. There must be a lot of interesting stories to tell in terms of the original owner, the history of the building, architecture structure of the house, feng shui.... etc to tell.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank datin_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A well-managed and historical museum ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located in Kesawan area in Medan this is an old building which was a house of an important figure during more than a hundred years ago. Tjong A Fie was a Chinese businessman and a bankir who built a large plantation in Sumatra and also constructed the Medan – Belawan railway.

Tjong A Fie Mansion is a two storey building, built by Tjong A Fie (1860-1921). This building was completed in 1900 in Chinese and European Art Deco Style in Melayu’s green and yellow colours.

A part of this big and beautiful mansion is still occupied by Tjong’s family. But the half other had been funcioned as a museum. Without paying too much for the entrance fee, we could hear the history about the generous figure from a well trained and knowledgeable guide. The museum guide escorted us to see the whole rooms which is completed with the furniture and told us about each previously use.

Other than the rooms that normally occur in ordinary homes, this mansion has a pray room, and several visitor rooms. There was a room for the Melayu visitors as the natives, a room for the Chinese, and such a ball room for the Europeans. We can see all the rooms, furniture, and photos. All of them tell historical stories.

Tjong’s grand daughter is very friendly too, even gladly shared her time to mingle and take pictures with us. Pleasantly visit with my mother-74 years old-to a nice historical and well managed museum I ever seen in Indonesia, it was our great experience!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eka51011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tjong A Fie's Mansion also viewed

 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tjong A Fie's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing