We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport and railway station”
Review of Hotel Kesawan

Hotel Kesawan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kesawan
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Close to airport and railway station”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed there only for one night. Rooms are quite small (twin rooms). Very close (200-300m) to railway station and airport. Very helpful staff. Smoking in the room is allowed so it might be unpleasant to non-smokers. Breakfast was included to room price. Its local food but OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anssitanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
3
11
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Choose this hotel as it was 10 minute drive from the airport. As a gap point between airport and heading off elsewhere, it was just ok. Room came with free wifi, TV, no window, the bedding and towels were clean but the walls were marked and dirty, the bathroom had no sink(!) and smelt really bad. There were a couple of air fresheners on the floor so I assumed this smell was an ongoing thing. We were woken at 3am by other guests, drunk in the corridor coming and going into each other’s rooms, slamming doors. At the end of each floor there’s a seating area near the lift where these guests decided to stay talking until 5am, so not the best nights sleep. I was staying at this hotel with my husband but I wouldn’t have felt comfortable being a lone woman staying here. Though in the morning the atmosphere of the place changed with the appearance of the manager behind the front desk, all the men hanging around the TV disappeared, we had a lovely breakfast (in with the room rate) and the manager organized our transport down to Lake Tuk Tuk. I think this hotel is overpriced for what you get and its negative atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been 2 times in this 2 star hotel. 2 times 1 night stopover.
We booked a tripple superior room incl breakfast for € 27,- on agoda. (walk inn price at the hotel is about 400.000 idr excl tax).
When you check in you have to pay 50.000 deposit for the room key. You get it back when you give the deposit slip when you check out. They also want you visacard, Even if you have paid by paypall. The staff did not understand what i mean by paypall -- lol. I did not gave them my visacard by the way.

The tripple room is a bouble room with 1 mattress on the ground. The room is big enough, with a/c, tv, sink and att bathroom. Bathroom is small. Hot shower and western style toilet. Towels, toiletpaper, shampoo and free bottle of water is provided. Room is clan enough (some stings). Bedshets are not that clean but just ok.
Standard and superior rooms dont have any windows. But we prefer that in this hotel because the one with windows are on the busy street. The rooms without window are more quiet and we had a good night sleep.
When you enter your room just the first thing you have to do is flush the mothballs to the toilet.

Wifi in most rooms is not working, even if the router is 2 meters outside your door. Wifi in the lobby is ok.

The breakfast is indonesian style. Nasi goreng or 1 dayspecial (on sunday that is bread and egg with sausage but they put a lot of sambal on it :) )

The Tiptop restaurant on the other side of the street is very good. So good western and indonesian food and famous in Medan. Also good coffee, omelettes, ice, cakes and so on for a good price. High quality.
There is also a foodcourt (with mc donald if you like that) within 5-8 min walk of the hotel. Just turn right when you leave the hotel. it is in the same street)

If you go to the airport or somewhere else always order a blue bird taxi. They always use the meter and to the airport it is just 10.000 idr. Other drivers ask 50.000 and do not drive if you pay less then 30.000.

Last time we were in the hotel i ordered a taxi for the next day. Asked again the next morning. When we want to leave the taxi was not there. The staff told me it would take another hour but he have a friend who can take us to the airport for 20 to 30 K. What a scam so i told them that i want to speak to the blue bird central. Suddenly they told me the taxi will arrive within 10 minutes. In that time he tried to sell me sunglasses :(
This is just a big negative point and thats why i gave only 2 stars. If this would not happend i should give 1 more star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I used this hotel 2 times as a stopover. One time stopping between Bukit Lawang and Lake Toba and one time coming back from Lake Toba before a flight the next morning. For that purpose I would say it is ok. I had the standard room twice which is quite basic with small bathroom and stains on the wall. The bed is fine though and hot water works. Staff is reasonable friendly as well, and the location is ok. 5 minutes walk from the Merdaka walk and restaurant TipTop is just on the other side of the street. I would not stay here for an extended stay because it's a bit too old and dirty, but for a 1 night stay it is fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I choose this hotel because it was conveniently located in town, quite near all the banks and offices. The basic room didn't come with any window, but it actually is a good thing as it keeps out noise from the road. The room was small and cramped, and everything was very old. The toilet is extremely compact too. For the price I paid, I am not complaining, but would certainly consider paying more for a better hotel. If you want to eat, there is a restaurant opposite that serves meals much better than the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YiChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintang, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel property is a combining of several shophouses in a busy street. The room and the hotel is clean and even the condition of the furniture in the room, and the extra mattress looks in good condition. We arrived very late at night, the staff are friendly and they let us check out the room although we already booked thru agoda. We don't like the first room because it was too small and could not fit the extra bed that we ordered, so we moved to bigger room. The location which is near the airport gave us some advantage so we don't have to wake up early to catch the flight. We were told that we can just walk to the Merdeka walk which is like a night bazzar, unfortunaley we only stayed for 1 night and we were tired as we came very late from Lake Toba.
However the breakfast is quite yummy, although it's not a buffet breakfast, but it's enough to fill up empty stomach and start the journey of the day. I was told that they change menu everyday, since there is only 1 menu of Indonesia food mainly, like soto ayam or bubur ayam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pontychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Citi International Palang Merah
0.7 mi away
Medan Ville Hotel
Medan Ville Hotel
#53 of 73 in Medan
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Citi International Sun Yat Sen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#16 of 73 in Medan
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roemah 28
Roemah 28
#28 of 73 in Medan
1 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sulthan Darussalam Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kesawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kesawan

Property: Hotel Kesawan
Address: Jl. A. Yani / Kesawan no. 97-99, Medan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kesawan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kesawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing