We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mega Inn - Tangkahan
Nearby Hotels
Gandhi Inn(Medan)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
K77 Guest House Medan(Medan)(Great Value!)
$14
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
61
82
27
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
82
27
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic accommodationcard trickselephant feedingcold showeronward traveljungle trekan incredible experiencespent nightsguitartubingtyreorangutansluxuryindonesia
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Tangkahan can easily be done as a day trip from Bukit Lawang, but I decided to stay over at Mega Inn after the elephant washing and ride. It's a really quiet place and as far as I know, the are only a handful of lodging options anyway. Mega Inn is a good choice as it's conveniently located -- right at the top of the stairs after you cross the river. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here.

The room was a good size and price (80,000/night). It's a little rustic and had a few geckos and bugs on the walls, but that's what you'd expect in the jungle. The mosquito net was really good and I had no trouble sleeping. The room also had a little patio facing the jungle which was peaceful to sit out on.

There is a restaurant with a basic menu (eggs, fruit juice, fried rice, etc) that's very decent and convenient. Electricity stops around 10pm, so bring a flashlight as back up. It got dark around 6pm when I was there in late September.

Room Tip: I learned the hard way that the ferry/canoe (10,000) stops running at 6pm, so be prepared to swim if you miss it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a great stay at Mega Inn. The accomodation is basic but the setting is just amazing.
We stayed in the Gecko room which has view on the river and you can see the monkeys in the trees while enjoying a drink on the balcony of your hut. The restaurant has good food and the atmosphere is nice with some locals playing the guitar. The elephant washing and ride was a really nice experience. They also arranged a jeep to get to bukit lawang for a price lower then mentioned elsewhere on fora.
They reply emails very fast and they confirmed the booking while we were leaving Medan.

Room Tip: Gecko Room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank repsajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

well what can i say? I arrived from Medan with the intention of staying just two nights. I left after staying 7 nights, cross country to B Lawang riding pillion. Mega Inn was an incredible find - Ucok, Dodi, Suka - all great guys. After day two i would mandi with them in the river next to the hot spring, and spend the nights socialising with them at the "local" table. All very sociable and great singers!! Great elephant treks and daytime walks etc, i would normally do an up river morning walk before mid morning meal. I love the place so much that i plan to stay there again for 2 or 3 weeks during my 12 month forthcoming career break!! My bungalow had a balcony which looked into the jungle - a big room with double bed. The accommodation was more than adequate and far better than some of the places i've visited in built up areas of sumatra over the past 5 years since i started visiting the island. Western toilet in my bungalow with "wash away" bucket. I would share my morning mandi with a frog - wildlife as you wash - excellent stuff. Great food, and as many chiili's as you dare. Visit Mega Inn, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Mega Inn. Mega is friendly and helpful with good levels of English. The guest house is basic but beautifully designed with quirky rooms using natural materials such as bamboo, lianas and drift wood from the river. Our room had a lovely terrace too looking at the jungle one side and the garden area on the other. The rooms were basic but very comfortable with a great double bed covered by a mossie net. The food at the restaurant was very simple but that is what we were expecting. You need to order anything more complicated before 3pm in the afternoon or even the day before so that they can get the ingredients over acros the river. The guest house is the first one as you cross the river by ferry but is also near the waterfall and hot springs. There is no electricity during the day but the locals all have generators hich they crank up between about 6 and 11pm. That was absolutely fine and it made you realise that you don't really need it 24/7 anyway! Tangkahan is absolutely charming and so relaxing where you can be bus every moment (washing or riding elephants, treking, tubing) or just chilling. Perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a single bungalow not the adjoined rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LainaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed one night at the Mega Inn, traveling from Bukit Lawang on a back road. The drive to Tanghakan was beautiful. The Mega Inn is a rustic eco-lodge. The rooms are really basic- but that's really all you need; we didn't spend much time in the room. Dinner and breakfast were pretty basic- see the other review about the generators. I definitely recommend going to the elephant camp to wash the elephants in the river and then take a ride through the jungle. We did the 2 hour ride- one hour would have been enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews