We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable accommodation for Medan”
Review of Grand Sakura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sakura Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Grand Sakura for our one night stop over in Medan.
The staff were generally friendly. Our room was spacious and clean, however the bed linen felt overused and was pilling.
Generally, this was an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sakura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is my 2nd visit within 3 month to sakura hotel.This time ,i travel with group of friends.The main reason i come back to this hotel is because of the excellence experience in ours first visit which we really enjoy and happy with the service provided.unfortunanly this time around we dont felt the same, whereby the room cleanliness was drop. Bedsheet was stained and not change,rooms with musty smell,towels are brownish , one of my friends room no kettle and cup,some working order issue ( bulb fused ) ,amenities not being replanish, and we have to wait more than one hours for our food orders through in room service.i have to say that , the service are drop compare from my first visit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Shahida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First,when we arrived and the hotel the room was not ready yet.....but is okay...... The room that we stay is comfortable and cool..... I like it...... The food so taste but to much spicy for kids......... But the person really i want to thank it our driver bring us to the most wonderful place but i forget the name...... Staff also friendly and give us good service.....

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was upgraded to stay in the Junior Executive Room as the hotel was fully booked that day.The room is quite spacious and I had a good first impression of it. There is a big flat TV, a safety box and was happy to see a hair-dryer. There is also an electric jug and complimentary sachets of tea and 2 bottles of mineral water. There is however, no laundry bag, no mini bar and no internet connection in the room. The room I got had a clogged sink and a leaking tap and that caused us a little inconvenience. As we were only staying for the night we did not make a fuss out of it and instead use the tap in the shower cubicle. General cleanliness is satisfactory but I think the management need to look into the maintenance of the room in order not to inconvenience the guests.
There is no swimming pool, no gym but there is a spa, a karaoke and 2 computers with internet are available for guests use at the lobby. This is complimentary.
The location is not so good as there are no eateries around the hotel. The street where the hotel is located is not a shopping street too, so you may have to take public transport to the happening spots of Medan.
Breakfast was simple but the food was not bad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilyllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you don not have to stay in Medan, don't, nothing to do and not the best place to have to stay. We had to for flight connections only, however the hotel is comfortable, not in the best district, but close to Polonia airport.
We had a restful and comfortable sleep, a great hot shower--after no hot water for 4 days at Bukit Lawang, this was a huge bonus!! The restaurant is terrible and the staff seem like they would rather have a different job, so go somewhere else to eat, even the sandwich we ordered was a disappointment.
I think it could be a fairly good hotel if the staff were more enthusiastic, and worked harder at making you feel welcome and if the kitchen had a better chef and was run better.
Do not expect internet, it cuts out constantly and totally unreliable. We had a flashing light at bedtime that we reproted, I called to report it and was told someone would be up, they never came!!! We were so tired we would have slept through anything, so luckily it did not affect us, just do not expect too much from this establishment is my point.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Grand Sakura Hotel.
very good for you,
there the atmosphere was very good,
even we are in the city of Medan, the hotel is perfect for our relaxed,
very clean and the staff very welcoming
I am very happy, when I was in this hotel,
I recommend to all of you, who want relaxed in the city of Medan
you have to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: service is excellent
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

value for money,what i like most is on the backstreet,there's few massage and heath center of the hotel,so if u really tired out by previous journey,this is a good place to rest while having the massage inside ur hotel room with no extra charges..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunawayBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 73 in Medan
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
610 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#15 of 73 in Medan
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sakura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sakura Hotel

Address: Jl. Prof. HM Yamin SH No. 41-43, Medan 20234, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: $26 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sakura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sakura Hotel Medan, astar hotel, is situated in the hearth of the Central business district and within close proximity to airport.With Sakura, Your Satisfaction First, Guest for Flower, Flower for Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sakura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing