We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sakura Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LJ Hotel(Medan)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
23
61
53
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
61
53
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour deskroom serviceclose proximitylake tobaroom was spacioushot showerstayed here for one nightpleasant staybusiness triptaxiairportwifichannelscleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 165 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Amazing value, marble throughout and generally very clean. Had the same reaction as other reviewers - refused to pay 150000 Rp deposit for the minibar, so they stripped everything out and turned off the frig. Breakfast huge but cold and inedible, only staff eating there. Can't figure out what the real business is here. Certainly not tourism- no tourists, tho woman at tour desk was the only helpful staff member.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport, despite confirmation they never showed. We stayed in a double room in which the phone and the fridge didn't work. We had to ask for toilet paper and towels. The room didn't look clean, looked like it was smoked in a lot for about 20 years. The staff doesn't speak English very well and couldn't help us with basic questions. But the hot water worked and the breakfast was okay. And they have 2 computers in the lobby, free to use.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel has a flashy facade and first impressions upon entering the foyer are of something 5 star. However the staff are quite unhelpful, especially to foreigners.

We had pre-payed for our room so insisted on having our mini bar emptied rather than paying a deposit for it to be filled.

The room is lovely with comfy bed, great furnishings and a large bathroom. Upon speaking to other guests, we were told it is best not to use the shower during peak periods as water pressure is relatively poor but is fine outside of these times.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was well below standard. My friend couldn't even eat hers. Also, many guests smoke in the dining area which, as an Australian where we don't smoke in restaurants or bars, I found quite unappealing. Service was also very slow.

Breakfast was okay. For western breakfasts, toast and fruit were available and you needed to request eggs if you wanted them from an unimpressed chef at an omlette bar.

I would recommend using the hotel taxi service to the airport which is only 50,000 rupi which is quite good.

Overall, not bad for a quick stay over but don't hold your breath for a good meal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We walked into the smoky lobby (you can see the smoke) and were greeted with glum unfriendly faces at the front desk. We were checked in and were surprised at the room, which was spacious and well appointed rooms. Imagine a Hyatt room. The next morning we tried to shower and discovered the water pressure was next to nil and there was no hot water. When I called the front desk to let them know, the woman didn't speak English and hung up on me. The breakfast was very disappointing, with nothing appetizing except the omelette that was made to order. Expect to smell like smoke even if you spend minute in the lobby. The wifi in the lobby was reliable. Stay here if you're only passing through 1 night. Too bad the rest of the hotel did not live up to the promise of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkpowerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at deluxe room just USD25 for one night/room (included breakfast). Additional bed will be charged USD12 included breakfast. From airport to the hotel take approximate 10-20 min. The hotel is located just next to the main road, same row with hardware shops and the street is quiet at night time (after business hours)

When we entered to the hotel lobby, the first impression was "WOW", a bit surprised cause it's doesn't look like budget hotel. Unfortunately, the receptionist we met a receptionist who can't speak in English, so we try to speak Bahasa language with him (cause we are Malaysian). The room is comfort & big, with the flat screen TV definetely is the best entertainment in room. Don't worry, bathroom also very clean. But, the soundproof is poor but we have no problem with this. Breakfast is very simple and don't expected more.

We do not have much time to explore the hotel surrounding due to we checked in at late everning. Take a 10 min walk there is one local restaurant, very hard to find a convenience shop nearby. Strongly advise seek for receptionist's assistance before walk out from the hotel.

We did not take the airport service from Hotel, due to we had hired a driver for this trip.

Overall, we're satisfied stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liiwa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews