We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in Medan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss-Belinn Medan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Medan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice and clean room... Good location, just next to Cambridge mall where you can find a lot of good restaurants and also quite in the center so good for business trip.. And breakfast with good selection and good taste.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    193
    191
    22
    16
See reviews for
76
91
42
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Plus - Medium-sized hotel, guest-friendly, reasonable price, satisfactory breakfast offered (complimentary basis) clean reasonably big rooms, free wifi, obliging staff

Cons - 1.No proper concierge desk to help with Silverbird taxi bookings. Have to use the services of unscrupulous taxi service company located opposite hotel, which charges excessively. 2. lack of "halal" eateries within walking distance from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srihartamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed a night here before leaving Medan. Location wise, very convenient as you have ample choice of Chinese food on the street right behind this hotel. Room and toilet was clean and well laid out. Bed was extremely comfy, with a good selection of channels on the television. Breakfast selection is simple and fine. Staff are very friendly and helpful with directions. There is even a 24hour mart located right at the lobby.

Only complaint: very thin walls hence sleep can be easily disrupted by the television in the room nxt to you, or someone showering, furniture shifting, people walking in the corridors or even noise from the lobby! If you're a light sleeper, a definite no-no!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It has a very good location where you can get chinese food at the street behind the hotel. The receptionist are helpful and friendly. This hotel was ideal for those to want to spend a night at medan before leaving. They provided airport transfer upon check out from hotel, of course, with a reasonable charges. The airport is just 5 - 10 minutes away. Hotel's buffet style breakfast was okay, with variety choices of food. There's no problem for those who leave early to airport, as the buffet start at 6am. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: There were smoking and non smoking room in the hotel. Just request a non smoking room to the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiewHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Read some latest review on this hotel before arriving and quite disturbed on the comment on dark bathroom and cleanliness of the rooms mentioned. When we reached the hotel, the check in is fast and it give us a good first impression on this hotel. The room is clean but as mentioned by other traveler, it has smoke smell even the rooms is classified as non smoking room. The toilet is really dark because of the black tile surrounding. Cleanliness of bathroom is average. The bed is comfy. One unexpected plus point of this hotel is the chinese hacker street just beside the hotel. Just go out from the side door of this hotel and you will find chinese hackers which start selling various food from noon till night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSLEE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We book this hotel because the booking with Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan is cancelled of some problem. So the Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan staff book for us this hotel.

The good things about this hotel is the breakfast and there are internet access beside the reception. They serve quite lot of variety of breakfast.

I think is a very dirty hotel. The cleanliness of this hotel is very bad. The bed sheet have sand on it & flea cos the moment I cover my feet with hotel bed sheet like lot of insect bite me. The room have cigarette smell also. The tiles of the bathroom I think they never clean it moment you step on it like you step on soap very slippery. Because the tiles are in black color so you will not be able to see that they are very dirty.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose second floor which is close to even room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good things:
Tidy bed room, good working toilet and shower; plus an Ethernet based internet connection (which is FREE).
I can get the connecting room which was nice helpful try by the front desk officer (please keep that up).

Bad things:
Firstly, you can blame the people who stay in the room before. Smoking in a closed loop air conditioned (AC) room is really disturbing idiotic act. FYI that 67% of Indonesian male are smoker, and few of them are the ignorant people who smoking inside the hotel room.

Secondly, it is either lack of AC maintenance like air filter washing, or it might be a spill out smell from another room. The first one is most likely the case.

Another disturbing finding is the VERY LOW quality of the in-house laundry. Stained uncleaned towel and bed + pillow cover is really disturbing. We just dare to use it after it assured by strong smell of chloride (bleaching chemical)in the towel; but this chemical residue is another bad thing. These people never learn that bleaching may not be enough to clean up the stain on fabric. I believe they need to find the best way in the industry (which is I don’t know how). Personally I believe that a good front load washing machine and 90 deg-C water rinsing is the best way to wash cotton fabric and sterilizing method.

Final words:
People are helpful in this hotel; but the management MUST find the way to improve the laundry, URGENTLY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
1.2 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#15 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belinn Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belinn Medan

Property: Swiss-Belinn Medan
Address: Jln. Surabaya no. 88, Medan 20212, Indonesia (Formerly My Dream Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belinn Medan 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belinn Medan is the newest, modern 3-star hotel in Medan, North Sumatra. Strategically located on Jalan Surabaya in the heart of the city, the hotel offers convenient access to various entertainment and dining options. The hotel is surrounded by the Central Business District and is within walking distance of many shopping areas, making it the ideal option for both business and leisure traveller who are looking for affordable yet convenient accommodation in Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belinn Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing