We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Nearby Hotels
$60
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$48
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$45
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveler rating
250
361
101
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
361
101
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerdeka walktrain stationcity hallspa roompost officebusiness tripnice hotellocal foodspleasant staystar hotelfood courtbreakfast buffetstrategic locationswimming poolfront officefood stallsmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 759 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Bed was very comfy, room was pacious and location was perfect. Close to business district in town and more importantly close to rail station ( this is important as Medan airport will move to other area far away from city around end of 2013 they say and the reliable transport will be using airport train).

Breakfast was averagae, there was no changing menu during my stay there for a week so I mostly skipped my breakfast.

Sauna and hot n cold pool were nice and so quiet it's like your own private place :).

Service was satisfactory from the bellboy to housekeeping. I just wonder why there was no welcome drink provided by the hotel, no welcome fruit, cold towel ..well maybe I expect too much for a 4 star hotel.

Close to Tjong A Fie Mansion (a must visit), Tip Top restaurant and just across Merdeka Square where many cafes open till late at night.

Building was classic colonial building but the room was modern.

Enjoyable stay in short :)

Room Tip: Choose double bed if possble. The bed was so comfortable and better than the twin one. Ask room facing the post office one...at least it offer better view than facing the shop houses on the other side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear augin2,
Thank you for choosing Grand Aston City Hall Medan again for your recent stay. We appreciate your comment regarding the breakfast menu, we are planning to change the menu regularly and of course, adding some new menu. Beside, please allow me to introduce Ji Long Chinese Restaurant where you may enjoy special Chinese cuisine prepared by our dedicated Chinese Chef. I apologize if our staffs missed to pass the welcome refreshments to you, we'll make sure this won't happen again. Have a good day!

Best Regards,
Wahyono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed there for 4 nights. Very near to Medan shopping mall and across the road from Merdeka food court. Rooms were large and comfortable. Bathrooms very clean. In fact as the name says, its very Grand. Breakfast was excellent and staff called us by our first names on our 2nd morning in the restuarant. Only downpart was on our departure when we could not find the 2nd key card and were charged IR 30,000.00 for it. The guy at reception did not handle it diplomatically and also the way he called out to security to check our mini bar. He made us look like thieves, although we did not use anything from it. He could've handled it more professionally. Uptil today I still did not find the key and am sure it's still lying somewhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: choose a corner room which is always bigger, and keep an eye on your room keys. They charge if its mislaid
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Fatima786,
Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay with us. Greeting the guests personally is compulsory for the staffs of Grand Aston City Hall Medan. We are glad you are delighted. Charging lost key cards is one of our policies. However, I apologize about the way our staff inform it to you. I'll pass this comment along to that department and we'll make sure they handle it more diplomatically next time. We're looking forward to your next visit in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Wahyono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me share my review with pro and con....

Pros:
Located in the heart of the city.
5 min walking distance to kesawan square, where we can find tip top restaurant and tjong a fie mansion.
Merdeka walk just across the hotel.
The Room is very spacious.
Laura of front desk was nice, she remember the guests name.

Cons:
Lift was very annoying, took more than 4 minutes to get in, and on my last day, there' s a leakage from the lift's ceiling and make the floor wet.
The room interior not represent a 5star hotel.
Service was cold as vegetable, unless for door person.

Overall, on next visit to Medan, i'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuzajouxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear yuzayakuza,
Your feedback and review is highly appreciated. Grand Aston City Hall Medan is located right in the center of Medan allowing easy access to almost every part of the city. We are glad you find it advantageous. Apparently, during the period of your stay we were experiencing some problems which caused leakage and affected some places including the lift's ceiling. We apologize about the inconvenience caused, we'll improve the maintenance as well as our service. Hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
Wahyono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First times to stay at this hotel, very happy with the quality of the hotel, located just in the city centre, the name of city hall was exactly told us the location of this hotel.
I was spending my dinner just in front of the hotel is the merdeka walk food centre, lots of restaurants and cafe includede mac d are there, open till 2300
The breakfast was good with lots of choices included the lokal food too

The quality of the room is excellent

Will be staying at this hotel again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, good food but be aware that the club that is downstairs through the hallway to the Capital City Club is a gay bar. Nothing wrong with that but it was a little awkward when I went in with my date. We were looking for a table and all the patrons were staring at us oddly. It took a minute or so to realize that we were in a gay bar. We didn't feel threatened but it was a bit awkward.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pulauweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews