We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Inn(Medan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
288
355
108
44
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
355
108
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscambridge mallrooftop restaurantsmall mallbusiness tripbika ambonstrategic locationswimming poolstaying at this hotelvisit medanbuffet breakfastnice staysmoking roomstreet foodrecommended hotelfive star hotelnice roomchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 819 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I often go to stay in this hotel because it is located at the heart of Medan. Moreover the hotel provides so many facilities to enjoy such as spa and sauna which we really love. The room it self is very cozy and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euthalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!
It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value facilities and our Spa at 7th Floor. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of the Swiss Belhotel I ever stayed in every cities, this Swiss Belhotel is the lux-est. When I went there about 2011, It was very new hotel. The concept of the room are rarely artistic.

The best ever hotel I ever stayed !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isybelharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind appreciation to us.
It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I should admitted this is one of the best hotel in Medan and the best of all is the strategic location. The hotel is attached with shopping mall which in fact a food/resto/cafe mall, with hundreds of various restaurant, cafe and foodstall including famous supermarket in Medan, Berastagi. You can find from international cuisine to local vendor foods chains.

Anyway, there's one thing I wish the management should try to improve. I was check-in on Friday, 22 March and check out on 24 March. On the 23 March it was Saturday night and I could feel the hotel was fully booked and quite overcrowded. Around 11.30 pm on our 20th floor suddenly there were so noisy voices, giggling, screaming, laughing very loud, and it was really annoying. The first thing I tried was calling the reception, but after trying 10 times and waiting around two minutes each call, no one picked up the phone. It's really strange with the big hotel such as Grand Swiss-belhotel with more than 300 rooms and no one standby at the front office/receptionist to pick up phone call from the room. I totally disappointed and wish the management can pay attention on this and do further investigation on what happened to the persons in charge during that hours. I just thinking what happen if I got heart attack and i can only able to dial "0" from the hotel phone and nobody pick up the phone. You can expect that on the small budget hotel but not in swiss-bel chain hotels.

I wish the hotel can improve the service especially on the security and emergency preparedness.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank onsenttommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the facilities that we provided and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by the disturbing noise around your room and our receptionist was not handle your phone calls appropriately. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unacceptable service provided to you in our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We rate the Hotel based on what we want and what we expect for what we pay. First of all we want undisturbed fast Internet Access. Secondly, we want to smoke in our room and thirdly we want to get value for what we pay.

When in Medan we find that we prefer one of the International Five Star Hotels, especially on promo rates in the order of Rp 600.000,-- to Rp 800.000,-- a night for a double room over the many cheaper alternatives. If possible, we like the Grand Swiss-Bel Hotel best.

Fast Internet Access is easily available in all of the rooms.

The friendly reception staff is always ready to put us up in one of the corner smoking rooms on the 20 or 21 floor. All the basic needs such as coffee, tea and bathroom amenities are provided. We appreciate the range of International TV Channels for the News and HBO and other for entertainment.

A good thing for us is that the Hotel is directly connected to the Cambridge Mall with a wide range of restaurants, with good food and reasonably priced.

In the morning, the Hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Airport. These days with a Blue Bird in front of the Hotel you don’t have to worry anymore about the quality of the car of the driver. Though we feel a bit sorry for ‘the old system’, we would encourage ‘the old system’ not only to sit and whine but see the Blue Bird as a challenge which can be beaten by better service and technically reliable good cars.

In comparison with the other International Five Star Hotels in Medan the breakfast is rather simple but overall very good. The only improvements we would suggest are to make sure that the Baguette is Fresh and Crispy and also the selection of cheese can be a bit better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorasSamosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your kind support towards Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.
It is most gratifying to read that our valued guests are fully satisfied with the products and services that we offer. Thank you for your kind appreciation to us.

It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel actually already a long time ago. the hotel it self in strategic location. Near the Sun plaza which is good for us to shopping around. But one thing make us really pissed off, They charged 3 million rupiah for 10-12 minutes phone call to europe. Thats very ridiculus. Frondesk staff not that aware to check it. it was really poor service. How come our phone call charge more than our room charge. Please check about it. at that time we didnt really complaint because we have to catched up our flight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sourcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value our facilities.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times. Your remark has been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews