We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else can you get in Medan...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What else can you get in Medan...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located in centre of city, big rooms, placed on top of a cafe mall, walking distance to kampung keling (food haven) and Sun plaza is just across. What else can you get?....If you want more than that, try JW Marriott with double rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH_Project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your comment on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    318
    93
    37
    17
See reviews for
158
80
57
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sidoarjo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

i never go to medan. when my husband was on business affair, i accompanied him. it was may 2011. the hotel is located in downtown. not far from polonia international airport, just 20 minutes in peak time. there is a mall in first floor, you can shop there. many branded shops have their boutique there. reservation and service are good. nice place. the swimming pool is on 6th or 7th floor. it is not big but comfortable. you can choose any cuisine at breakfast. choose everything you like.

Room Tip: if you like downtown views, ask for street side room. other wise, take the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jok_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Medan, and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our products and services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

though check in time is 2pm, our flight wasan early one and we were readily checked in around 11am. thank you. buffet was ok. it is a gd location abt 15 to 20 mins walk to Sun. hotel is rite next to cambridge mall we had most meals at the various outlets at the mall during our 5 days. so there is no worries as to what to eat for lunch or dinner. esp if you are travelling with young children.there is a shop at basement i hv bought some perfumes cheaper than duty free shops. ck eternity, burberry. u can checkit out. many coffee outlets too if you are a coffee lover!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment regarding your recent stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I never went to Medan before so I didn't know what to expect. During my first business trip there I did some research about which hotel should I stayed in. My friends and my colleagues suggested that I should stay at Grand Swiss Belhotel. At first I was doubtful that the hotel would be nice, I mean after all it is Swiss-Belhotel. But ever since my arrival at the hotel I was greeted with something that was beyond my expectation. I took a morning flight and arrived in Medan at 10 a.m. The traffic was very friendly as it only took me 15 minutes from the airport to the hotel. Most hotels have a strict policy regarding check in time. But I was surprised when the receptionist officer asked me if I want to have an early check-in. The room is spacious and clean as well as the bathroom. But I was a bit regretful that the hotel doesn't provide bath mat. The hotel is also located next to a shopping center so it is very convenient. But overall my experience with this hotel has been nothing but enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikieMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and particularly value our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed one night and was very pleased with the spacious and comfortable room, good bathroom, quietness on the business 8th floor and exceptional service at the restaurant on the top floor. Food and service were very good, highly recommend that establisment. The view of Medan at night is nice. Internet worked great. Breakfast was not "continental" but I have no problem with that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha122156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value our room, buffet breakfast, our roof-top restaurant called The Edge and the services that we provide. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

- Hotel with shopping center (Cambridge Mal)
- Easy to find food, public transport such as taxi, rickshaw
- A few steps to souvenir shop
- A lot of convenience store, department store, restaurant below this hotel
- Room is very clean and best
- Large room
- Nice hotel staff
- Best security
- Nice gym and swimming pool
- Good breakfast
- ATM, Bank is complete around this hotel
- Near Mojopahit street, S.Parman Street

Room Tip: Higher room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwanwijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

With my wife we spent 4 nights in August 2012. I rated poor as there was no very poor. I have seen worst. But coming here in this hotel I was expecting a truly international class hotel: it is definitely not!!!
The hotel suffer from lack of management, working mainly with trainees who are doing their best but... saving on lifts when you have a 20 over floors building is just not acceptable (we waited again for over 10 minutes to get into an overcrowded lift stopping at every floor yesterday... and the house keeping... or should I say the absence of it blood stains on the room carpet that has never ever been cleaned.
All over the hotel you'll see lack of hygiene. The pool deck has a big hole in it just by the ladder that has been “fixed”, letting rusty nails dangerously coming out. The spa?... it is just gross.
FYI: my wife is Indonesian and a professional hotelier and I work and travel all over the world (200 nights a year in hotels) spending a great deal of my time in Africa so I believe we are well versed in hotel management/ service.
The location is good but the hotel is NOT!!! Makes me wonder if the comments are real or wondering where these people had been before they stayed here...
I lived in Asia for 13 years and seen many hotels in pretty muc every budget range. This hotel is not acceptable.
I’ll be back in Medan as I do regularly to visit my in-laws but we won’t stay here again as there are other truly international class hotels here nowadays.
Unless you enjoy staying in overpriced dirty places filled with large groups smoking up the restaurant in the mornings and eat poor breakfast then go for it (you can have the same level of service for a third of the price). If not, there are other choices. No time to upload the photos but if I can, later update my comment I’ll upload them.

Room Tip: To choose a good room? Choose a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ytraveler_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan.

We were very sorry that you didn’t pass on your comments during your 4 stay with us.
We have noted your attentions on the room cleanliness and hotel accommodation especially our elevator. We are in the process of speeding up our elevator’s speed.
Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you were caused. Kindly rest assured that appropriate action has been conducted to avoid such incident in the future.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.
We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Property: Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Address: Jl. S. Parman 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing