We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendliness and service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Being on the 29th floor, I had a nice panorama view over the city Medan. The hotel is great and you can stay here easily for a longer period. The service and staff are excellent. Friendly, supportive and always there for you. They make you feel like being a guest and not just a customer.
Rooms are spacious, very clean, nicely decorated and luxurious. The hotel provides a nice fitness center, swimming pool, bars ad restaurants. For a business trip this is all you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    337
    83
    29
    12
See reviews for
191
150
69
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The JW Marriott at Medan is quite a nice place to stay. I've been stay here several time just because the Manager Jeffrey is outstanding. The foyer and public areas on the bottom floors are really spacious and elegant. Unfortunately the Lounge in the lobby does seem a little tired, perhaps just the carpet floors which also contribute to a bad air. On my last stay March 18, I had to complain that in room dining wasn't good. i ordered oxtail and fetuccini carbonara for my dinner, fetuccini was serve in cold. I ask for a red wine, 3 times they offer me, 3 times they call me back in the room and apologies due to not available. Continue to breakfast, I call for american break in the room, my scramble egg was serve as omelette. what a surprise from a Marriott. Your room and the rest facilities are still in right track.

Room Tip: executive deluxe room is a very good one, spacious and wide view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had an excellent stay at the JW Marriott - service was consistently great among all the staff (be it the security guards, concierge, bell boy, cafe staff etc) - everyone was helpful. Room was comfortable and breakfast selection was good - a pity there's no dock to plug in and play music from my phone - but overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doverproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The JW Marriott is not what you would expect to find in Medan. Its a five star hotel in almost every sense. I stayed in an executive room on the 28th floor. Couldn't fault it. Its only five years old and was very clean. They had a few power blackouts while we were there and reserve generators didn't seem to kick in which was odd. The Executive Lounge is nice but the snacks are a bit light and not many choices compared with executive clubs in other five star hotels. The service is also a bit slow even when hardly any guests. The restaurants are all really good with the Prime Steak House being a stand out. Staff are super friendly and very polite and attentive. All in all, a pretty decent hotel. Having spent a week in Medan I couldn't see anything that would even come close.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1WiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

First stay in a JW Marriott in my life! Finally got to make it happen. The hotel has fantastic facilities. The gym is huge, the breakfast restaurant is great, the rooms are big. It is a great property. The staff were equally friendly and professional. They did quite a good job throughout the stay. The only small issues are that the hotel doesn't provide body lotion except upon request. That felt a little cheap for Marriott's top brand! Also, we had some issues with how the local staff in our group was treated during the stay. The Western faces seemed to be getting better treatment than the locals/Asians. This is an unfortunate occurrence quite often in Asia, but it seemed on prominent display here during our stay.
Overall, I enjoyed it a lot and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchanlifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Jchanlifat,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to be the first JW Marriott Hotel you have stayed with and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize if there has been an impression of inequality of treatment to the locals and the westerners within our service. We would take a look into this matter seriously however please be rest assured that service disparity is neither our common standard nor value.

We also apologize that a body lotion was not present in your room.

Mr. Jchanlifat, we thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

First of all i must say that Medan is a terrible town ... so no matter how you look at it , every hotel will have a negative image by just being there.

The Marriott is a good hotel and the rooms are spacious and as always in south east Asia the service and the employees of the hotel are super friendly . A kind of service that has been lost in the western world

If you are in Medan to see the Orang Gutans then it might make sense to stay out there where the orang gutans aare and avoid Medan alltogether -- on the other hand its interesting to see how ugly these towns are in Indonesia. You can learn a lot from it.

The hotel is a good mainstream Mariott and i can recommend staying there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Amadeu1,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that despite the negative impression about the city you enjoyed your stay with us.

Medan is indeed an interesting city with a much-needed of improvement, but at the same time also has great potential especially in the fast growing culinary tourism. The city center is surrounded by areas with beautiful heritage such as the iconic Tjong A Fie Mansion, Maimun Palace, the City Hall, and many more.

Our location that is conveniently in the heart of Medan’s business district with easy access to various local attractions including Bukit Lawang, where the Orangutans are, makes us the perfect choice for those who are either traveling for business or leisure.

We hope that you will be back to see more of Medan or North Sumatra and we look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at a few different hotels in Medan and the Marriott is the best... hands down.

It must be the best priced Marriott in the whole world! I normally go for the executive lounge option, which gives you a higher room and includes happy hour in the executive lounge.

Food is great, room is large, adequately furnished, great linen and you will never go short of pillows. Very clean and super modern.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Warren – Watson,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our executive level of service.

We are also glad that you especially enjoyed our spacious bedroom with Marriott’s new revive bedding that takes bedtime experience into a whole new dimension.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel on your next visit to Medan.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.4 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
6.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 73 in Medan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Address: Jl. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing