We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
LJ Hotel(Medan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
591
372
94
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
372
94
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeprime steakhouseinfinity poolbest hotel in townlobby barbusiness triphigh floorchinese restaurantrain showervisited medanbreakfast buffet isf bcity viewlake tobalocal foodspacious roommany choices
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've stayed here many times - the service is excellent, food outstanding, very little NOT to like. Great experience every time! Staff from security personnel to bell hops to receptionists to concierge to restaurant wait staff are all very courteous. Check-in tends to be kinda slow though - could be system-related. Some couches in the lobby ought to be replaced - the armrests of those single-seat sofas are grimey! Other than that, it's a great hotel. Do check out the steak house and the Chinese restaurant! And breakfast is probably the best of all hotels in Medan. Even the coffee served is excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiamchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and especially appreciated our delightful cuisines served at Marriott Cafe, Jade Restaurant and Prime Steakhouse.

We would also like to address your valuable feedback regarding the sofa in the lobby and we are pleased to inform you that action for improvement is already on the plan.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Not much to review for this hotel. JW Marriot well known for it's good service. Spacious room, comfy bed and a clean room.
Many variations on breakfast from indonesian food, japanese food and european food.
The location also in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funky_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.


Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The photos show everything. But add additional beautiful gym n spa. Amazing and friendly services. Good breakfast. Nice lounge and perfect Chinese restaurant jade. Love it. It worthuch more thn u pay for it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limwiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Thank you.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was built abt 5 years ago and facing global economic crisis. The occupancy qas so bad tht the staffs Had been cut a lot.
Just last week i stayed there. It was almost fully booked. Services and standards the best in medan. No match. Quality of breakfast much better thn any 5 stars in medan. Worth it. The gym and spa and swimming pool is beautiful. I got corner room. Spacious and double window. Impressed. U got much more yhn u paid.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visit Medan often for business and have always found the JW the best hotel to stay for their responsive staff, large size, tastefully decorated rooms and good food. On this visit began to see signs that the hotel is in immediate need of a facelift and an upgrade in their food service if they want to continue to attract business visitors. First, the lobby furniture is worn and very dirty. The fountain in the lobby is surrounded by very dusty and dirty silk plants which does nothing for the look they are trying to portray. The hallways & rooms need carpet & wallpaper replaced - very worn and dirty in places. Lastly, the food has suffered a major decline since my last visit. Room service food was ill-prepared and served cold. The breakfast buffet,while extensive for local/Asian choices, is limited for US/Europe tastes and rarely changes. Did appreciate the fresh fruit & juice selections each day.

The one thing that has not declined is the staff- they are very professional and treat you like a valued guest in their home, remembering your name and going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Kudos to the morning restaurant & executive lounge hostesses who made the negatives much more bearable.

All in all, if you are looking for a typical 5 star JW experience you will probably be disappointed - however the hotel was great in the past and am hopeful they will regain their strong performance in all areas important to their guests; room & food quality and exceptional service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best with full city views & x-large rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Your valuable comments have been addressed to the responsible person to handle at once.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and ensure you have a flawless stay.

Kind regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews