We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are Ambassadors for Indonesia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff are Ambassadors for Indonesia”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Am in full agreement with the comment below that JW Marriott Medan is "home away from home." Top shelf staff, excellent service and quality atmosphere. The cafe has wide range of western, indonesian and other asian cuisine, the executive lounge is spacious and well-kept, the lobby lounge is comfortable, fitness/spa and outdoor pool are excellent, rooms clean and comfortable. What defines the JW Medan experience, however, is the incredible warmth of the highly professional, outstanding staff (Maya, Ita, Andri, Dandi, Delima, Bima, Mega, Agustine, Yester and other wonderful people there). They are superb ambassadors for Indonesia. Have traveled extensively for business and this experience takes the cake - on that topic, thank you Delima, for the Bolu cake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We see that you stayed during the city-wide APEC SOM-3 event, and we are so happy that we received so many great comments from the many different delegates.

We are especially happy with your review, highlighting all the staff that made a difference for you. We have shared your comments with them and they were thrilled.

We wish you safe travels back home and hope you had a great 4th July Independence Day!

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    326
    81
    28
    10
See reviews for
172
142
65
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

exceptional service quality in Medan that surprises and delights. Staff and super friendly and professional from check in and throughout the hotel. The room on 29th floor is very well appointed with ample shelf space and a brilliant view. Housekeeping is efficient and cleanliness is very good.

Bed quality is good.
Hotel security is very good
Food is excellent
Excellent catering at the 16th floor lounge
Chefs including Exec. chef came to say hello many times.

Staff like Ita in the main restaurant make a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttVanTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy with your review.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the JW Marriott Medan.
Your comment makes us feel proud to be the leading luxury hotel in Medan.
We have highlighted your review among all of our hotel staff.

Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I've tried 4 different hotels in Medan for the last 3 years, and i have to say this is the best hotel in Medan. I was impressed with the laundry service, i gave my laundry around noon, and they already delivered it at 5pm and i didn't even ordered & paid for express service, so i got an express treatment for a normal price. And the thing i love about all marriott hotels that i've ever been to, they always clean the room, giving waters, etc in the morning (like any other hotel) and also around 9pm. I love that they take care of their customers twice a day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Febi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Our laundry team was particularly happy to read your comment.
They work hard every day to provide excellent service to our guests.
And we are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our evening turn down service as well.

We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here again last week and it has to be the best hotel in Medan. Service is great and extremely friendly. Rooms are very clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Exceptional value for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are proud to offer a true 5 star JW Marriott experience in Medan and your comments inspire us to continue to do so.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

The Management of the JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I checked in to my room and realised that the bed was spoilt as the whole bed tends to slant one side when I sleep or sit on it. Called the reception and they send a house keeper up immediately to check on it. Got people to change a room for me. Very efficiently done and got a letter of apologize from their duty manager. Hotel breakfast was full of variety, wide spread. *Thumbs up* will definitely choose JW when Im back in Medan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shun821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy that you had such a great stay and we were able to accommodate you quickly and efficiently.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to see you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirebon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I arrived at 11 a.m., and c/i at 12.30 p.m. Hotel look clean, the room was nice, spacious, and very clean. I say, "excellent service" to JW Marriot Hotel Medan. I stay for about 1 week, and I never feel bored. JW Marriot Hotels is the best hotel I ever stay.

All staff is very helffull, they very kind and show me all about hotels faciilities. Hope someday I have long time to spend my holiday at Medan, and I will stay at JW Marriot Medan again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swigati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you will come back to stay with us again for your next holiday.
Do contact us in advance so that our Concierge Team can assist planning your activities while in Medan.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Smooth check in, friendly and professional staff. The room was clean, with nice furnishing and comfortable beds. Room service was timely but the food only just ok, while the buffet breakfast was great. Top end prices for Medan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so pleased to hear that you had a good experience.
Thank you for your valuable comments that will help us further improve our services to our guests.

We hope to see you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 71 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 71 in Medan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.4 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Address: Jl. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing