We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tong's Cafe

Tong's Cafe
Ranked #18 of 398 Restaurants in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tasikmalaya, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

the concept of this restaurant for serving various and healthy food is good, the interior made me feel at home, it was comforting, some foods were great but some others were just so so, they price was a bit pricey for me, if you have a chance to come there, just try peach tea, and the bean curd was also good.they made a small space for kids to enjoy themselves playing with blocks and some other toys. this place is good for family gathering or just hang out with friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Henky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fav place to hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the best place to have a soft bean curd in medan! Their soy milk and bean curd is made daily for the freshest quality! The food taste okay, mediocore. Doesn't come in a big portion. Good for tea time snack (hey, it's a cafe, not restaurant). And the waiter/waitress are very friendly.
To sum up, Good service, nice atmosphere, best beancurd in town, definitely recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mintkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Expensive and too cheap on giving foods away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

taste was great but for the price you pay, the portion was way too less. overall was great. the environment was superb, a little bit dark

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank suki500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Skepticism is always there when i saw the main event was tofu,but to my surprise, the mainDO have excrllentntofu dishes, hot,cold,meals or desserts.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bean curd n comfy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I love the bean curd and soy bean milk. Main course is good but quite pricey. They need more waiters to speed things up because i waited too long for my beef spaghetti last time.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naticatannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong's Cafe also viewed

 
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tong's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing