We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run-down, not very clean with very smelly rooms”
Review of Hotel Polonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Polonia
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed there for one night before taking an early plane and will not go back there, even for the same short period of time.
We had been given a "suite", with a room with sofas between the bath and bedroom. However the smell was very bad inside. It reeked of very old incrusted smoke everywhere. The bathroom was old, with mold in the corner and did not give an impression of deep cleanliness. The carpet was also very old and I could not imagine walking barefoot on it (I'm usually not that fussy).
Of course the windows could not be opened to let in fresh air. The bedsheets were polyester and old.
It's way too expensive given the overall quality. No update or maintenance have been done for a very long time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petiteld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is so convenient as it is strategically located near the airport and mall. I love the steamboat so much. I also tried the oxtail soup, lamb curry and its fried banana and definitely love those too. Fyi, i stayed at the club floor which is newly renovated. Last but not least they just renovated the swimming pool with minimalist design.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Booked hotel for 3 nights as booked by my friend in Medan. Got a shock when we checked in. Rooms were dirty, with ants and mouldy toilets. A simple basic of a HOTEL is cleanliness, but this hotel does not have that, so I will not recognise this property as a Hotel.

Checked out the next day and switched hotel to Danau Toba, A Clean HOTEL!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank muthu6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is old and run down. The rooms are clean but stained. There are a fair amount of tiny ants and tiny spiders running around. The conditioning is either on or off, that's it. I've stayed here 5-6 times in the last 4 months and every room is like this. Also, the traffic (lots of car horns beeping) and prayer music is very loud. The windows don't keep any noise out, so it's very hard to sleep.

Internet is hit or miss. Today it's working well and I'm getting 0.80Mbps down and 0.20Mbps up. Earlier in the month their access was down hotel wide.

Western food in the restaurant is edible. I only eat here if I don't feel like leaving the hotel.

If you're looking for a decent hotel on the cheap this will work. But if you want comfort and amenities go to the SwissBel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just came back from Medan and stay a night at Polonia Hotel, the outlook was very great at first impression, once enter to the room it looks old and not clean especially the shower room area. Swimming pool was under renovation. There even termite nets around the room corner.
Breakfast was fine and night was easy to access to food court with just a few minutes walk, feel itchy sleep on the bed was the worst things

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GOHTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Sumatra is a magical island with terrible roads. My husband and I visited both Bukit Lawang, to see the orangutans, and Lake Toba, to relax and enjoy the Batak culture. Both of these location are not far in distance from Medan, but they are long drives on windy roads. As such it takes quite awhile to get to them. This means if you have a morning flight from Medan, as we did, you will have to go to Medan the day before and stay the night.

Medan is the third largest city in Indonesia with a population over 2 million. The traffic is chaotic and after the quite of the jungle or the lake it is a bit much to take. On top of that, since it is a major city most hotels are charging high rates. My husband and I wanted a nice, clean, quiet hotel at a budget rate. We found that and more at the Hotel Polonia.

The Hotel Polonia is a large regular (meaning not a guesthouse) hotel with all the standard amenities. These include a lovely lobby, English speaking front desk staff, a nice pool with food/drink service, elevators, etc. After roughing it the other locations this all seemed very grand. In reality, it is all very dated and there are lots of cracks in the paint. Still it felt pretty nice after the jungle.

Our room was huge. We had a king-size bed, two nightstands, a desk with chair, a table with two chairs, a wardrobe, and a TV with lots of channels including a bunch in English. The bathroom was functional but oddly shaped so it was a bit hard to negotiate. Still the shower had hot water, the toilet was clean, there was a hair-dryer, and the towels were nice and soft. We were on the street side, but the room was very quiet and we slept very well.

Just wish we could have slept longer - but as we had a morning flight we had to leave for the airport at 6 am. The front desk did give us a wakeup call as requested - but they must not have been convinced that we got up, as they called four times! Still better overdue the wake-up call then forget it. The airport shuttle is free and the hotel is only about 10 minutes away so a very good choice for people flying.

With all I have mentioned, I have saved the best for last... Hotel Polonia has a fitness center. And it is not just the bog-standard hotel fitness center of an exercise bike and one dumbbell. This is a full-on gym. People can have monthly subscriptions and it is very well equipped. My husband and I both had a great workout. The gym was busy, but there was so much equipment that we did not have to wait for anything. After the long drive from Lake Toba it felt really good to pump some iron and jog on a treadmill.

We were very satisfied with our stay at Hotel Polonia. Yes, it is dated, but it is still a nice hotel with lots of ammenities and some nice extra touches. If we are in Medan again we will stay here. Especially, since the rate is very reasonable for what you get. Their posted rate is a bit high, but ask for a discount. I sent them an email asking if they had availability and the best rate they could give me. The rate they came back with was 320,000 (approx US$ 34) and that INCLUDED tax, service, breakfast and airport transfer. Plus of course, it included the use of the fitness center and pool. A great deal.

Hotel Polonia
Jl. Jend. Sudirman No 14
Medan 20152
Sumatra, Indonesia

Phone - +62 - 061 - 4535111
Email - reservation@hotelpolonia.com
Website - www.hotelpolonia.com

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask for their best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

After spending a few days trekking in Gunung Leuser and climbing volcanoes in Berastagi we arrived in Medan planning to get straight on a bus to Tangkahan for more jungle adventures but my wife was getting ill so we stopped a night here and WOW, what a rest. It is nothing out of the ordinary in western terms but it is clean and comfortable. You don't have to think about bugs or mosquitoes or finding a way of drying your clothes and towel before you move on to your next destination.

There is even an outdoor swimming pool. Food not bad either though not great, we ate in just because we needed a rest.

Worth asking about discounts, we were offered one without the need to ask. They also negotiate good taxi prices for you. We got to Pinang Baris for the price of a TukTuk.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyingScotsman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.8 mi away
Emerald Garden Hotel
Emerald Garden Hotel
#13 of 76 in Medan
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 76 in Medan
724 reviews
0 mi away
Favehotel S. Parman Medan
1.1 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#11 of 76 in Medan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polonia

Address: Jln. Sudirman no. 14, Medan 20152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: $34 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Polonia 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Polonia Medan is managed by Topotels Management, the professional management that growth rapidly with managed some of big hotels in Indonesia. With the international standard of service and management, Topotels Management fully support the existence of Hotel Polonia Medan in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Polonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing