We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Garuda Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location is Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this Hotel. Location is great...just a 5 minutes walk to Yuki Mall (cheaper than Pasar Ikan) and Amaliun Food Court. Near Istana Maimoon too.
Check in was fast and smooth. Staff are friendly. But Superior Room is too small even for 2 pax. Problem arise when my son informed me that they only have 2 beds which is supposed to be 3 beds...i booked triple rooms for my children...my understanding is triple rooms should have 3 beds...but the hotel said...triple room is with 2 single and 1 extra MATTRESS not Bed...so we only managed to get the extra mattress......which i dont agree at all with them...but the reception said they cant do anything about it.
We enjoyed the Live Band at the lobby and we even request a song and dance at the dance floor. The band boy is not friendly but i dont care...i just want to enjoy the music. They dont even smile at you...errrmmm...maybe they are so tired !!!
Next to the hotel is the 'Indomart' 24 hours convenient store. But BE VERY CAREFUL, we witnessed a snatch right in front the hotel when a lady get down from a taxi. Dont carry your handbag if you want to go to Yuki Mall or Amaliun !!!!

Room Tip: Get Deluxe Room...Superior Room is too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuTLMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
21
19
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We only stayed a night here after our 3N Brastagi / Lake Toba tour. We were given a room on the 1st floor and hence, the wifi that was free worked for us. The room was spacious enough and beds comfortable but the air-cond was not cold enough. So, our sleep was interrupted as it would get stuffy.

The swimming pool was in an awkward place. You would have to walk past the lobby to gain access to it. Hence, when you returned back to your room, you were semi-dripping wet past the lobby to everyone's view ! We asked for towels too and were told to use the ones from the room.

Breakfast was OK with mainly local cuisine of mihoon, curry chicken, tofu tempeh, congee and the Medan specialty desert of bika ambon. There were toast and rolls, salad and mix fruit too. There was no egg station but instead a chocolate crepe station but the crepes tasted no where close to the Murni crepe stall that we had bought from the night before.

A big annoyance was a guy smoking at the next table. In our experience of Asian countries, patrons do not pay heed to the 'No Smoking' signs and neither do the service staff when we complain. So, bonus points for the waitress who told the guy off for smoking after we highlighted our annoyance to her.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mjail5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Management is lacking .... Food from room service is very Poor ... Breakfast is Nice .. People are really friendly . Rooms are big And comfort . Bathroom are small but Nice for THE price you pay ... Reason why i gave this hotel a 1 star is cause i had yellow water in my bathroom which prevented me from showerjng !dissapointing especially when they tell you it's because of the yellow light

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PKTVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medan hotels

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
874 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 853 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 1 night here in October '13 prior to some Jungle Trekking up country.

As mentioned by other reviewers this is something of a Business Travelers hotel. Check in was friendly and efficient and we had a nice chap show us up to the room.

We were not given the choice of smoking or not - and the room we had was a smoking room. This room must have been to smoke what Fort Know is to gold - it had a smell of smoke engrained into it - even the Bathroom had a persistent haze of stale smoke !

That said the room was nicely decked out and comfortable - tv worked fine and had some good international channels.

The wifi didn't work. It didnt work in the room and we couldn't get on it in the lobby. There was a LAN connection cable in the room but this didnt work either.

Breakfast was ok - nothing sparkling but certainly filling and presented in a nice manner.

So - all in all a reasonable business hotel - no wifi or LAN and smokey rooms but otherwise OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

the room is small but nice, location wise is good ,breakfast is "adequate" but more variety will always be welcome.Pool is small and when we stay there nobody is swimming. very quiet at night. overall is a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location is good. There is no wifi. The condition of the hotel is average.The aircon is not cold and in my room it let out some black dust from the aircon vent which made the room dirty. The bathroom sink was not working. Breakfast selection was average but they had both western and local cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasanthi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Garuda is extremely nice. The rooms are clean but nothing fancy. NonSmoking Rooms were not available. At night the lobby is one big bunch of smoking male visitors.
Airco in the room is not functioning 100% and produce a lot of noise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace_Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Medan Ville Hotel
Medan Ville Hotel
#44 of 69 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#19 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madani Medan Syariah Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Polonia
Hotel Polonia
#37 of 69 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#15 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garuda Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garuda Plaza Hotel

Property: Garuda Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja 18, Medan 20213, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garuda Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garuda Plaza Hotel is located in the city of Medan this is one hotel that has a HALAL CERTIFICATE from MUI city of Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garuda Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing