We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a nights stop”
Review of Garuda Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a central hotel on a busy road, clean and comfortable, breakfast was quite good but portions in the restaurant very small.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

Relieved to find this hotel which was a welcome haven of peace and comfort after long journey from London. We found the rooms adequately furnished and above all peaceful during the night. We had booked the rooms (superior IDR 405,000.00) prior to travelling. This hotel is on a busy street in the middle of Medan, but once you enter the foyer, all is calm. The restaurant service wasn't fast, but the food was okay, not brilliant. They only serve soft drinks in this hotel, what they call a dry hotel. We didn't mind that; the place is comfortable, not luxurious, and the prices reflect this. The breakfast offered a good choice of Asian or European. Have a good memory of this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Book before you go because the hotel is used by business people in busy Medan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayancarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed there for a night on the Eid Mubarak day. The town was very quite due to festival.The hotel was clean as we stayed in new wing. The room was overall clean but the shower area was small and dont have handheld shower. Water pressure was slow. The swimming pool were small and dont have any child pool. All the other service like mini shop and message center were closed probably due to Raya. Breakfast was decent. Too much of crowd on Raya 2nd day and there were late refill food. They did serve vegetarian food upon order. The hotel also have a row ATMs and nearby Malay stalls area. Overall it was a good place for a short trip as it was within city and airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kannan_MSakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Hotel is at town with busy motor vehicle and noisy. We are lucky and manage to check in a renovated room. General we still very enjoy staying at this hotel. Enjoy the normal and basic breakfast. My children enjoy using the internet for free when available. Another interesting wish to share is the hotel have simple gym set. My children enjoy very much. At night, we also walk to the Bazaar Ramadan of which the local indonesian sell a lot of local foods at the "pasar malam".

No regret staying in for just one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazing6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The rooms were nice and comfortable. My friends and I were lucky that the hotel was nice to accomodate all 5 rooms on the same floor and next to each other.
Decent breakfast buffet available, compared to other hotels we stayed in Sumatera. However, beware of the breakfast crowd.
We had dinner there and the food was good.
Only minus point was the mini fridge was not working in 4 out of the 5 rooms. We informed the hotel but nothing was done, even though we stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eYeLeNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a reasonable midrange hotel. Rooms are decent if nothing flash, breakfast is pretty good, they provide a shuttle service to the airport. When we checked in though we did so on the undertsanding that we would be allowed a late checkout the following day. However, the next day they denied this conversation and agreement had taken place and tried to get us to leave earlier than agreed. (We refused to leave.) If you make an agreement with this hotel get it in writing. They are untrustworthy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonyYamathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

A great location. Restaurant other than the cafe in hotel is only opposite. Friendly staff. Great environment. Clean room

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iean Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.2 mi away
Madani Medan Syariah Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#14 of 76 in Medan
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pardede International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 76 in Medan
522 reviews
1 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#11 of 76 in Medan
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soechi International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garuda Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garuda Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja 18, Medan 20213, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: $25 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garuda Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garuda Plaza Hotel is located in the city of Medan this is one hotel that has a HALAL CERTIFICATE from MUI city of Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garuda Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing