We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Vintage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Restaurant

Tip Top Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 405 Restaurants in Medan
Cuisines: Chinese, European, Indonesian, Halal, Dutch, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vintage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Old place, the restaurant established at 1929. Old furniture. Many historical old pictures could be found here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chyang ⎝
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    221
    113
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Dutch colonial style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the oldest restaurant in Medan with Dutch colonial feeling. The staffs are dressing in white uniform and they are not very client oriented. Most of the staffs just standing and chatting. The food is good and the chocolate cakes are fabulous. You will like the Indonesia dishes but a bit salty and oily. The famous fried rice is a must. The price is standard but the taste is outstanding. Not easy to find a seat especially at weekend. A lot of mosquitos if you are sitting outside and prepare for the dust from the road. Recommend the AC room instead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old but still Medan's favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Still one of medan's most favourite restourant after so many years. They made so little changes since so long, the place still look alike it's 80's. A good place to eat steak and fine dessert. Be careful with your belonging in the street outside, many motorcyclist robber are active in the neighborhood

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusdian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service, so-so food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not very impressed by the food nor the menu, as we found a lot of them are nicer and cheaper elsewhere in Medan. The bunch of waiters and waitress offered poor service, I have ordered a sambal terong (egg plant) which he mistakenly thought is sambal telur (egg), and he didn't inform that the nasi sayur I ordered was already finished until I asked for it, to add on to my pain, he didn't take down my ice cream order AT ALL. I have to ask for the captain, which salvaged the whole situation, he was attentive, helpful and friendly, and at last we got our order right. The restaurant allows in door smoking hence I don't think it's appropriate for family with children to dine in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geng_qian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

lately, i just visited tip top restaurant, i could recomend for visitors who comes to medan, do not forget to stop by at this restaurant, the food mostly are delicious, also the ice cream, hhhmmm...so yummy, should try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Restaurant also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tip Top Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing