We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Nasi Padang chain”
Review of Restaurant Garuda

Restaurant Garuda
Ranked #14 of 449 Restaurants in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
525 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Average Nasi Padang chain”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a well known nasi padang chain and competes with Sederhana. I love daging rendang but I thought sederhana's was much better

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    112
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is superb”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

But, wondering weather will there be any cycle of food? Just curious! Recommended for them not to put so many dishes on the table. Let your customer choose their own dishes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food- solo women beware”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. Everyone stared when I walked in as it is a very Muslim restaurant and I was wearing shorts. I was escorted out to an air con room and instead of being given a menu they gave me about 7 plates to choose from. I chose beef, a different beef (rendang) and salted fish. OMG amazing taste.
It was reasonably priced I thought compared to hotel prices and they also deliver to your hotel/ home. Please visit.

And no I didn't give my phone number out to the eager young male waiters desperate to practice their English on me and take me out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jldowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food, over price”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrive in medan on 16 march in the lunch time then we arranged to having a lunch at garuda rest.i tried ayam pop and juice martabe (marquisa terong belanda) those are the most yummy food in this restaurant mix with green chili really boost my appetite. We tried also satay padang and the taste was good. But the price quite expensive compare to other padang restaurant hehehehe but overall i like the food :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyrain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“restaurant in Medan , indonesia”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The best restaurant. the food is continental.
Best customer service.

From morning till midnight. Almost 15 hours in operation and have many branches.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamka4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Garuda also viewed

 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Restaurant Garuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing