We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good choice for Medan”
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Podimore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Really good choice for Medan”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

You have to be careful about Medan hotel booking. We saw some very rough looking hotels. The Aryaduta was far from being in that category!
All advance contact with the hotel was helpful and professional and this was maintained throughout our stay.
The rooms are quite large and thought little old fashioned very good for Indonesia. They were clean and well serviced and although the air conditioning was over enthusiastic, otherwise fine.
The pool area was very good and the pool of good length and usually empty of swimmers.
Breakfast, we thought, was very pleasant and extensive with a very good range of choices including more than enough for western tastes.
There is not a lot to see in terms of sights in Medan but what there is, is relatively close.
Overall we thought this was a very good choice at a competitive price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    246
    109
    27
    12
See reviews for
93
110
48
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

the hotel is strategically located. the staffs are friendly and helpful. i love the breakfast and lunch spread in this hotel. the taste of the local dish makes me wanna eat more! the room is spacious. it has all that you need. if you wanna watch tv, fret not cause it has more than 90 channels!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaadleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in this hotel because we booked through internet turn out to be rather dissapointing for a 5 star hotel. When we arrive..no bell boy helping with our baggage..we had to carry to the lobby on 9th fl by small elevator. The bed was not a king bed as offered on the interned but rather only queen that I had to book extra bed for my daughter. The facilities inside the room was far from satisfaction. For example if you still have 1/2 bottle of mineral water left..the next day hoysekeeping only provided 1 bottle instead of two. Also shower gel, toilet tisse and shampoos were only replaced the next day only if running out completely.
Breakfast was dissapointing because it seems there werent many varieties of buffet breakfast....and the staff were very slow replacing the food and drinks which already finished with new ones..often we had to remind them...also some of them had poor manner..one servant accidentaly drop a knife near my daughter's foot while cleaning other table and did not even bother to apologize.
Overall this hotel shouldnt declare as 5 star hotel and should improve their service first.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erawita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband & I recently spent several days at this hotel with a couple of friends, and found it to be very friendly. We had a lovely, large room with a good sized bathroom and a good sized lounge area. Breakfast, which was included in our cost was a buffet with a good selection and variety of choices. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and had plenty of lounge seats around, with pool attendant providing towels instantly we arrived there.
The location is handy to several markets and is within walking distance to the Merdeka Walk night market. We caught a taxi from the airport, but while at the hotel we realised it was easier to catch a taxi to the railway station and return to the airport by train.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is a fantastic 4-star value in Medan. Unless you're expecting perfection, you won't be disappointed. Great location, good facilities, and a beautiful, relaxing pool compliment the helpful and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Large room, good sized bathroom. We had a poolside room which gave us patio access to the pool.

Check in was quick and easy, staff were friendly and helpful. Better than average breakfast buffet.

My only gripe is the price they charge for bottled water at dinner...INR 60,000!!! That's almost $6. They give you free bottles of water in your room and next door at the grocery store, it's only INR 4,000, why gouge the guests?

Overall, a pleasant experience and I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank badbillybong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stay for two nights for group meeting. Rooms are spacious, quiet and I had a good quality of sleep. Breakfast buffet was good, I can say it was a best experience breakfast in Medan. But they should be better in banquet service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semutlesehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
0.2 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Property: Aryaduta Medan
Address: Jln. Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing