We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beginning and end to trip”
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beginning and end to trip”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at the Ayraduta for 1 night on arrival into Medan and for 2 nights at the end during our 12 day bespoke tour of North Medan. All arrangements were made by our tour guide so had no issue with that. My partner and I had a pleasant stay and couldn't fault the staff service. . Everyone on the front desk and in the restaurants were happy to help where possible. Also the free upgrade on our return to a Club room was an added bonus - great view over the pool. Pool seemed to be cleaned every few hours, there's a gym incase you eat too much nasi goreng. There were a few room fixtures (curtains, door handles) that could do with attention and our first room did have a noticeably loud AC fan, but otherwise the room satisfied our needs. One point I will make, GBP currency goes a long way in Sumatra so you do get more hotel for your money, however you may want to consider Sun Plaza (10-15mins walk) or Merdeka walk (5-10mins walk) as they are considerably cheaper for food. The hotel is in a great central location. I will add the restaurant evening food was delicious and the enormous choice on the breakfast buffet was a highlight! This was the most up market hotel we stayed in and apart from a few minor things couldn't fault it - would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobNuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear RobNuss,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We have noted your comments regarding the curtains and door handles in your room. We will make sure to follow up on these points and improve for our future guests.
For your reference may we note that we now have also started with a free shuttle service to Sun Plaza on weekends and public holidays. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and food & beverage facilities.

Best Regards,

The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    244
    108
    27
    12
See reviews for
93
108
48
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Samosir
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We rate the Hotel based on what we want and what we expect for what we pay. First of all we want undisturbed fast Internet Access. Secondly, we want to smoke in our room and thirdly we want to get value for what we pay.

When in Medan we find that we prefer one of the International Five Star Hotels, especially on promo rates in the order of Rp 700.000,-- to Rp 900.000,-- a night for a double room over the many cheaper alternatives. Normally, we have a preference for one of the other hotels but it had been already quite some time since we stayed in the Aryaduta and we were in the mood for getting spoiled, therefore this time the Aryaduta.

It would also give us the opportunity to check out the Palladium Mall, something we had never done so far. We found the Mall quite disappointing as compared to other Malls in Medan.

Check in was fast and within no time we were in our room, me happily smoking and toggling away on my laptop. The WIFI login procedure was a very pleasant user friendly experience and the internet was fast.

After some time in the hotel and room we just got the feeling that our stay was not completely up to our expectations as compared to our last visits and we started out pinpointing what was different. We concluded that everything was just a bit less than expected. A bit less clean, a bit less ….. and one toothbrush for two guests in the room is not over done.

Of course, everything was still acceptable as we were really looking forward for the special Aryaduta treat and being spoiled with the breakfast.

Normally, we schedule an hour for breakfast but based on our previous experiences in the Aryaduta we scheduled 1.5 hrs. Anticipating the aroma of and sipping the freshly brewed first class coffee from the machine enjoying an early morning smoke. This followed by some slices of freshly oven baked crispy baquette with the smoked salmon not to speak of the camembert as starters for the rest in continental and regional treats to come.

Unfortunately, the Aryaduta breakfast which we remembered as by far the best in town is not living up itself anymore. No more good coffee anymore, what one gets is the regular ‘it is brown and it is warm, it looks like coffee but it does not taste as coffee’. Half stale bread instead of the crispy baquette, no more smoked salmon, camembert or …… The beef bacon like crackers and long enough fried to break your teeth on it.

My suggestion for the Aryaduta is try to come back to where you were and start with the breakfast.

For now I think a full five star review is too much to ask for when I think of what the other 5 star international hotels in Medan offer these days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorasSamosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear HorasSamosir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure having you back with us again.
We are pleased that the Wifi was up-to your high standards and that in general you had an acceptable stay with us.
Your comments regarding the cleanliness as well as the lack of bathroom amenities have been noted. We will make sure to investigate these points and improve on this for the future.
With regards to your comments regarding our breakfast selection, quality and taste we will look into this matter and take the necessary action to improve on our services.
Once more thank you for taking the time to review our property, we do appreciate your comments and will do our utmost to improve for the future.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Old hotel that needs badly fixing up.
The location is okay, but the facilities....
The facilities are really below average, even for an old hotel like this.
Breakfast and the food in general is below average.
The towels are smelly even though changed daily (I think).
A few nights goes if you don't have an alternative.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoatedCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear CoatedCircle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have noted your comments regarding the towels and our breakfast selection and quality. We will make sure to investigate this and improve on our services for the future.
Regarding the facilities, may we ask you to elaborate on the specifics? Please feel free to contact us anytime on this matter.
We ensure you that we do take your comments seriously and we will do our utmost to improve on our services for the future.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I arrived late at night at this hotel. And i never thought this hotel as a 5 star Hotel. This is why;

First, at night the lighting at the main floor is quite dark and looks gloomy.
Second, the front desk staff did not friendly and have good welcoming gesture to the customer. Not like a 5 star hotel staff should do! Not warm, and friendly enough!
Third, the lift is like the lift in the old building.
Well, if the company not paying, i'll never stay here!

Room Tip: Asked for the room which closed to the lift, because theres only have 2 lift located right at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Bekicotngesot,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do appreciate your feedback and comments.
We have noted your comments regarding the lighting at the lower lobby and your comments regarding the lift. We will make sure to investigate both and take action where possible.
Your comments regarding he friendliness of our front desk has been noted. We will follow up on this and will improve our services for the future.
We do hope that you will consider us for the future, we will make sure to follow up on the feedback given to us.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

find a promo on the Aryaduta website itself field that book 2 nights in Deluxe Room, get a free upgrade, although subject to availability..
I decided to try this experience..
Arrived at the hotel, do the check in and ask the reception if I get a free upgrade..?
There is no answer from the office and she's change the subject to something else..
whether this is service provided from a 5 star hotel..?
I did book for smoking room, so as i arrive in my room, the smell of cigarettes was overpowering to my nose even though I smoke, I have never felt anything like this..
so I asked to move into another rooms, and given that the room was not so smelly but still no upgrade..
Please think twice before booking at Aryaduta Medan..

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Lee S.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Following your review on tripadvisor we have investigated your concerns regarding the possible complimentary upgrade. We assure you that during your request we did look into the possibilities for an upgrade to our next possible category, however we could not accommodate your request as the twin rooms during your stay where occupied. We have noted your comment regarding the communication of this matter and will make sure to improve on our services for the future.
Furthermore we have noted your comments regarding the smoke smell in the first room received, we have taken direct action on this matter.
We do hope that during your next visit to the city you would consider our property once more. Please feel free to contact us directly to arrange your stay and to ensure that we can accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Aryaduta is designed primarily as a local business hotel, catering to visiting officials and business people. It provides comfortable and modern rooms, and very efficient and friendly service.

Because the clientele is mostly Muslim in this quite-conservative city, we didn't use the very nice-looking pool, even though our balcony gave us direct access. A Western woman in even a very modest one-piece suit seemed like too great a contrast to the attire worn by the women in the lounge and restaurant areas on the other side of the pool.

Food in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast was excellent in terms of quality and variety. Fundamental English was spoken by several staff members. Staff helped us arrange our train to the airport, gave us a voucher for discounted tickets, and had a taxi waiting to take us to the nearby train station.

This isn't the hotel for a fun tourist experience, but if you're looking for comfortable, well-run, clean, safe, modern accommodation in a good location, it's an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bima77,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our facilities and services as well as noting our excellent location. Furthermore we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.


Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Medan over the past 18 months, and this is the one I'd come back to. It's convenient, the staff are very good, and the rooms are quiet and comfortable, and have the necessary amenities. The cafe is very good, and there is wifi in the room. The carpet could use some attention, but that's the only fault I could find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear indonesia80571,

It was a pleasure having you with us again during your last visit to Medan.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found are staff to be of a high quality and that our facilities and standards are up to your high standards. We have noted your comments regarding the carpets. For your information we are looking to replace the carpeting within this year in several rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.

Best Regards,

The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.2 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Property: Aryaduta Medan
Address: Jln. Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing