We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but the price is too high”
Review of Novita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Novita Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jambi
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fine but the price is too high”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was fine, nothing special some stains on the side of the sheet, basic bathroom but with plenty of amenities like laundry detergent. I stayed here for eight days for work. Very few staff speak English but they try to understand what you need. The laundry service is good value for a hotel (they send it out). The breakfast is included and fine. Overall, I just felt the price was too high for the quality of the room. The food stalls outside the hotel at night are very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
1
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

15 minutes drive from the Airport - Sultan Thaha.
Matahari Departmental store at the back part of the hotel building.
Pizza Hut just outside the hotel.
15 - 20 minutes walk to the nearest mall - WTC.

Stayed at the Deluxe non smoking room on level 10. Had a good view of the city.
Rooms pretty ok but the toilet is a little bit small. No wi-fi in room but it has a nice flat screen tv with good channel selections of both local and international.

Breakfast was err .. so so .. if your expectations are high then bad.
Hotel staff did not speak much of english.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toohottobetrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

At first we booked Wiltop Hotel Jambi for our business trip, but than we were recommended to stay at Novita by our office partner in Jambi. So we cancelled our reservation at Wiltop and booked one single bed and three double bed rooms by phone.

When we checked in, they gave us three single bed rooms and one double bed room. We wanted to have rooms as per our booking, after a 15 minutes standing at the reception, we got our rooms. They finally upgrade our room to their deluxe room.

As other review said, the hotel is old, but the deluxe room is much better than the standard one. The deluxe room is spacious and has a great city view. Deluxe rooms located on higher floors,so we didn't hear any music from the disco at 5th floor.

The breakfast was standard, we didn't have breakfast at the hotel, instead we ate at one of those "Toko Kopi" (coffee shop) to try local food.

The hotel is located 2 minutes away from Abadi Suites Hotel which has a Garuda Indonesia's office. So in the morning we went there to do our city check in.

In the evening we also went to Wiltop Hotel, just to look the hotel outside. Wiltop is located adjacent to the new shopping mall in Jambi. I don't know about the rooms, but location wise, Wiltop is much better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesyasblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

A close business rival to Abadi Jambi Hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel is getting worse in accommodation. Swimming pool closes too early, most gym equipment need improvement, currently air-con & plumbing system need to be fixed, soon.
Breakfast is simple & standard yet not too bad in taste.
Room is new & not really bad to stay.
Service from front office is great, tough.
Shops are easy because they have quite moderate shopping mal (improving) & pizza restaurant at beside.
Hope this hotel could be big once more because it is a really nice location they have in the business district in Jambi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Located near market & shopping centre, nice swimming pool on 5 floor, gym, sauna, discotheque (disco dangdut /reggae). Nice room lamps control panel, portable with spring cable, we can play it while laying on bed. Too big gap below room door, the alley aircond entering bed room. Bathub for all room type. Free airport shuttle. Nice big LCD TV even for lowest type of room

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank santaraindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I read the other reviews and was dubious, could it be really that bad??... well yes it was!

First thing was that trying to reserve a room here is hard, there is no online booking systems and english isnt spoken well, if at all by reservations, they dont reply to emails or faxes. We arrived with no reservation in the end, but that was ok as the hotel was empty... you are greeted by a hotel with with no lights on..freaky. We checked into to a Superior room, the room itself was tired but acceptable for the price of Rp420 000. Problem, there is no internet in the rooms, only in the lobby!, and its iffy at best.

The rooms are stinky, the beds are old and need replacing, and the pillows stink of air freshener in my room. The tv has channels on it, but they are all blurry so you cant watch them..this was not isolated to my room. I found the aircon cold, too cold. We were on the top floor which at least was a quiet room.

The bathroom is in need of a clean, lots of mold, a broken shower head, and just warm water.

The bar is a strange place, not at all what is pictured, it too is run down, and looks in fact closed. The breakfast is poor, apart from fresh fruit, toast and good coffee there is little else good here, one strange thing is the buffet has lit candles all over it!

This probably was a great hotel once upon a time, but now its obviously owned by a broke owner and its in a sad decline.

The freakiest thing was checkout, even though they advertise exchange rates for foreign currency at reception they wont let you change currency or pay for your bill in USD. They also demand that I pay for the rooms with the credit card I used as security, they refuse to allow me to pay with my VISA debit card!!

My recommendation is to go across the road to the Abadi suites hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank can99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jambi hotels

johor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

the worse hotel on earth...no aircond at all like in the microwave

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shukurJohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambi hotels
0.8 mi away
Aston Jambi Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Jambi
Swiss-Belhotel Jambi
#2 of 17 in Jambi
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luminor Hotel Jambi
Luminor Hotel Jambi
#5 of 17 in Jambi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abadi Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Abadi Suite Hotel and Tower
0.3 mi away
Evan Hotel
Evan Hotel
#4 of 17 in Jambi
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novita Hotel

Property: Novita Hotel
Address: Jln. Jendral Gatot Subroto No 44, Jambi 36134, Indonesia (Formerly Novotel Jambi)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Jambi Province > Jambi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jambi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Novita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing