We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool climate”
Review of Nuansa Maninjau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nuansa Maninjau
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Cool climate”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the end of Dec'13. Located in a tiny hamlet of Ambun Pagi ("morning dew") overlooking the spectacular Danau Maninjau ("lake maninjau") in the Minangkabau highlands. Ambun Pagi itself is located 27km away from the town of Bukittinggi ("High Hill") along narrow winding roads that pass through rice fields and hills. Due to this, it can take up to 45 minutes just to get to Bukittinggi by car.

Nuansa Maninjau itself is located just off a crossroads and perched on a hill overlooking the lake. Going straight on from the crossroads will lead you immediately down the infamous "Kelok 44", a series of 44 hairpin bends that will bring you down to the lakeside town of Maninjau. The other branch of the crossroads will take you higher up the hill to Puncak Lawang ("Lawang Peak") which has an even better view of the lake.

The hotel itself seems to cater for local Indonesian families on vacation. The buildings seem old and in need of some TLC, but are generally clean and acceptable. The property is sprawling and is made up of different accommodation types including rooms in separate buildings (superior, deluxe and honeymoon) as well as individual cottages (standard, superior and deluxe). We stayed in the superior room, which was in the building closest to the main reception building.

The reception building was a 2.5 storey building, with the reception on the ground floor, the seedy looking karaoke lounge in the half-basement and the restaurant on the first floor. The restaurant is where you take your complimentary breakfast and dinner buffet meals which are included in the price of your stay. The buffet is adequate with typical Minangkabau fare of rice and other dishes. For those with smartphones or laptops, there is good wi-fi in the restaurant area for you to connect with.

Surprisingly for a hotel perched on a hillside, the view to the lake is not full-on, due to trees blocking much of the view. The best view to see the lake in the hotel is from the rooftop of the reception building.

The room that we stayed in was generally okay with oldish decor. There is no air-conditioning in the room , nor was it necessary due to the cool climate. Television and kettle is provided but no refrigerator or safe. The bathroom is small with a shower cubicle (with hot water) but no long bath.

Facilities in the hotel grounds include a swimming pool and a small gym.

The hotel is probably the top accommodation option in the Maninjau area and serves its purpose. The cool climate makes it a welcome escape from the sweltering heat of Padang in the lowlands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The venue was built around 80s and little has been done to upgrade that. Hot water was unstable (we found out that they're still using gas heater).

We arrived rather late from Bukittinggi and was told that the buffet dinner is almost finished,leaving only white rice, soup from gulai daun singkong, and rendang suwir.

When our children order 3 nasi goreng, it took a long long time for them to prepare.

The next day, we arrive very early for the breakfast and it was fine.

The restaurant is dim-lighted and so 80s.

The room is okay, but the bed is too soft for my liking.

The positive side is we stayed at the Deluxe Cottage which is at the end of the resort, right next to children playground (with flying fox), tennis court (we just knew), and the weather is cool.

The best place to view Danau Maninjau was from the top of the reception building (above restaurant). Too bad it was so foggy and cloudy when we stayed there. But this place is like heaven... above the clouds

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienny595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I knew this hotel from the internet. But when I arrived there, it's just a lil bit below my expectation coz the hotel just like standard middle-up hotel in a big city even though it has maninjau lake view. But the air in the area was so fresh & cold with the rice field along the street. What I love is the hospitality of the staffs. They led us when we lost the way to the hotel even call us back. When I knew the staff name has the same name with mine, he gave me 10% disc. He also called & told me asap when I left my jacket in my room. Really nice. Enjoy the green of the rice field, explore the mystical Japanese Cave with its Ngarai Sianok panorama in Bukittinggi & Lembah Anai Waterfall in Padang Panjang. If U have much time, go to the Bungus beach & cross the Hindia Ocean to the Sikuai Island.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eriksonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

During my family vacation on West Sumatera island on last may 2013, my friend suggest us to stay at this hotel. This hotel has a great scenery Maninjau Lake and we can see all the lake landscape from the hotel since their located at the top of the hill.
the room is so clean, roomy and comfortable, and they also have a great food!
I would like to stay this hotel again on next vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pramudya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

It should be a great resort for family,unfortunately during our stay,the resraurant was filled with smoke,from all the people smoking without being prohibited by the management,very uncomfortable for us,family w/ 3 children. The menu is very limited,nor is child friendly. Apart from the stuffs above everything else was excellent. The view,tranquility, reasonable rate--not much to complaint for,if they managed to upgade the service of the restaurant,then it's a Five Star!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank andripratama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
333 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The resort is set in an ideal location for bicycling and just relaxing. Viewing Lake Maninjau in beautiful repose from the restaurant at breakfast was one of the big highlights of this property. Also, the fresh air and more relaxed pace of the hamlet in which the property is set offered a welcome retreat from the busy, congested metropolis where we live.

The hotel bills itself as "the finest resort in West Sumatera," which may, in some respects (mostly pertaining to the beauty of the surrounding area), be the case.

Rooms are modestly appointed - more like cabins, in fixtures and amenities. Standard local fare is available in the restaurant. I particularly enjoyed the fried rice, which was reliably tasty.

Wi-fi was o.k., but only accessible in the lobby.

There was one particular area of staff development that the hotel may wish to pursue: housekeeping staff opened the door to our room while (instead of before) announcing themselves. I was, thankfully, at least in my underwear.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diploconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel has a good and wonderfull scenery you can see the sun rise and sun set from roof top that was amazing time maybe you never saw it that moment in your life before ,the hotel also offer many typed of room starting from superior deluxe honeymoon and cottages as well . you will miss this hotel , NATURAL air , maninjau lake view that will be incridble to forget. for my side this really finest resort hotel . (ini cerita q mana cerita mu)

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank rezky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukittinggi hotels
6.3 mi away
Novotel Bukittinggi
Novotel Bukittinggi
#1 of 16 in Bukittinggi
303 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
#2 of 16 in Bukittinggi
161 reviews
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Jogja
#10 of 16 in Bukittinggi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Campago Hotel
Campago Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bukittinggi
34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Treeli Boutique Hotel
Treeli Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bukittinggi
28 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Kock Bed & Breakfast
De Kock Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Bukittinggi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuansa Maninjau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuansa Maninjau

Property: Nuansa Maninjau
Address: Ambun Pagi, Matur Mudik | Kab. Agam, Bukittinggi, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuansa Maninjau 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nuansa Maninjau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing