We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Royal Denai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Denai Hotel
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an old hotel in a climate where buildings don't age gracefully. You can tell that 25 years ago, it was a nice property, but it's pretty tired. It can often be booked at deep discounts on agoda, making it an acceptable option.

There are a couple of design flaws to be aware of. One, all rooms that face the pool will be noisy if anyone is in the pool. Two, the balconies mean that there will be people outside of your room who you will be hearing for as long as they choose to make noise. Three, the TVs are ancient, as is the wiring, so electricity is not a given, and TV's may or may not function. Four, there's central AC, but since people smoke next to the air intakes, there's no such ting as a truly non-smoking room. Five, the plumbing and tubs show their age, with materials peeling away, and odors seeping into the bathroom.

On the plus side, the beds are good, staff is friendly and efficient, and they serve a decent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of our package deal of Bukit Tinggi tour. You can tell that the hotel is a bit tired and need a little refurbishment. A little attention on the cleanliness as some part of the rooms are clearly dusty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

its is one of the convenient place to stay and spent holidays in bukit tinggi. the place is in distance with eateries, shopping and safe place to bring family's with children. however, the only sad back was, the TV is out dated , no in room air condition control, though its a cool place but still need air-condition. overall for a 3 star hotel, the service, staff and cleanliness is a well done. the breakfast is considered OK for a small hotel. not much of item as a choice but no complaint of it. whats the point of having varieties if it goes into the trash...

Room Tip: choose the rooms that facing to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_hisham1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

On the first sight is hotel seem to be OK, but when you look closer some things seem to be different. The location is good, in the centre of the city, it’s an 10 to15 minute walk to the famous clock tower. The staff is really friendly but service could be better. Further is this hotel not clean, not the rooms, lobby and swimming pool. Prices are for Sumatra high (Bali style). We had rooms on the back and front. It was quite crowded on the street, back is less noisier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Royal Denai Hotel in Bukittinggi certainly is overpriced, because the rooms show that they have not been refitted for ages and breakfast is really poor, too.
The pool is nice, but unfortunately there are no sunbeds.
All in all, there are certainly better options to choose from in Bukittinggi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We were there with a group of 45 people for a group tour to Bukit Tinggi. The hotel can easily fit our group and the lobby is spacious with sofas, coffee tables and newspaper racks (Indonesian and English daily). The reception is conveniently located at the main entrance.
The hotel does not have an elevator and you have use the stairs. We can ask the porter to carry the luggages to the rooms. The stairs are carpeted as to absorb any unwanted noise. There are only a few rooms with air-conditioned but the rest are fitted with ceiling fan. The rooms are big and comfortable. We stayed in a twin sharing room, therefore it has two single bed, a make up table with wall mirror which can fit the full upper body reflection, a luggage rack to fit a 24 inch luggage, two chairs and a small table, a 21 inch TV with remote, room is carpeted, two slippers and some space to spare.
The toilet is located near the room entrance. The size is average and just enough for you to move around comfortably between shower, sink and the toilet seat. The shower has two functions, switchable faucet and shower. Hot and cold shower are available. The sink is a bit small with two glasses but you have to be very good in organizing toiletries as the sink has limited space. The only wastebasket is located inside the toilet.
For Muslim travelers, there are kiblah direction fixed on the ceiling and there are space for you to pray. Please bring along your prayer mats as the hotel does not provide one. There are also a small Musollah/Surau outside the hotel if one wish to pray outside their rooms.
The coffee house is quite spacious and there are many staff available. The breakfast is buffet with mixed local and international. They also have a chef managing a counter for taking your order for the fried eggs of your choice. There also serve toast with butter and jam.
The hotel is a bit run down as you will see from the scrapes and scratches at the bottom of the wooden fire rated door.
But overall the location is good as there are many food stalls outside on the main road. If you are adventurous about food, you can give it a try.

Room Tip: If you have an elderly person or couple traveling with you, please request level 1 ( the lowest floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAKZabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location was great as i can look for nice stall-food all around the hotel. It was also near everything in bukittinggi. The staff were friendly throughout my stay. The room were big and spacious and coZy too. But there were a lot, i mean A LOT of mosquitoes in this hotel. U just cannot open ur window or door for a minute, or the tiny irritating bugs will come in. The mosquitoes were all over the hotel too. At the pool, restaurant, even at the hotel lobby where u want to get free wifi. Apart from tat, i will definitely stay here again if i were to ever come here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madone1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukittinggi hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
#2 of 16 in Bukittinggi
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bukittinggi
Novotel Bukittinggi
#1 of 16 in Bukittinggi
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Malindo Hotel
Gran Malindo Hotel
#5 of 16 in Bukittinggi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambun Suri Hotel
Ambun Suri Hotel
#6 of 16 in Bukittinggi
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campago Hotel
Campago Hotel
#7 of 16 in Bukittinggi
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treeli Boutique Hotel
Treeli Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bukittinggi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Denai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Denai Hotel

Address: Jl. Dr. A. Rivai No. 26, Bukittinggi, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Bukittinggi
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Denai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Denai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing