We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal 5 day trip to recharge your batteries”
Review of Lite 'N' Easy Tour

Lite 'N' Easy Tour
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Bukittinggi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spice Up Your Sumatra Holiday.... Never Try Never Know.... 50 Metres in Between Grand Rocky Hotel & Novotel Hotel Bukittinggi
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal 5 day trip to recharge your batteries”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Padang is about 1 hr flight from LCCT (Kuala Lumpur). And before you know it, you're in a wonderful region bursting with nature in the form of layered rice fields, volcanic crater lakes, waterfalls, rivers, and mountain ranges.

Fikar did a very good job making us feel at ease, and I like how he organized the trip (Padang + Lake Meninjau + Bukit Tinggi) so that we 'acclimatized' to the area, i.e. hotel on day 1 + homestay on day 2 and 3 + hotel on day 4. Sometimes it might be too much for the senses to dive directly into a rugged place on day 1.

Fikar did a lot of stops at different coffee huts for us to stretch our legs, have local unfiltered coffee and appreciate the views. I constantly smile at how local folks could come into the hut and start chatting, this is something you don't see in the city often.

Fikar is proficient in english and he will pepper the trip with stories, be it factual or legends. The one i liked best is about the origin of the term 'Minangkabau' (i.e. the indigenous ethnicity of West Sumatra), where the locals cleverly use a young calf to defeat a far superior water buffalo, and in the process stopping a war.

It was an interesting experience immersing oneself in Lake Meninjau (a volcanic crater lake). While being hit by sea like waves, i could see mountain ranges in the horizon. At the same time, the water is fresh.

If i must pick one fault with this trip, it is the lack of a fan in Arlen homestay. While Lake Meninjau is 450 metre above sea level, the temperature is moderated by the lake itself and it can get quite warm at night. However, not even this is enough to put a dent in an otherwise fantastic short trip filled with meeting good honest people, having fresh local food and coffee, basking in the full glory of nature and feeling completely safe with a guide who obviously loves his culture, country and job.

Good job, Fikar.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lip Chean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best family holiday”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am trying to work out what to do with my very diverse family for the Christmas holidays this year ( we like to leave the hype for a non christian environment and my family ranges from very fit middle aged woman, fit and want to jungle trek and rough it young adult male, unfit can't do pit toilets teenage girl and a younger boy and older girl in between). It is going to be very hard to outdo last years venture. I thought trying to organise an off the tourist track trek in the jungle, beach recovery, meet the locals and get a feel for the culture all on a budget would be impossible. But once I contacted Fikar at Lite N Easy my worries were all gone. He came up with an itinery to fit in with everybody. When we wanted to change things around a bit half way through the trip it was no problem at all (and no extra cost). Fikar was like a magician in being able to come up with something to make everybody happy just about every minute of the day - and he made it look easy. Although the name of his company sounds like a weight loss commercial it is in fact a true reflection of how your holiday feels. And just to top it all off - it was incredibly good value for money. I hesitate to say cheap - because even though it was very inexpensive it never felt cheap or budget.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwinJunglewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fikar and his Lite N Easy tour guides are amazing!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days in Padang and Bukittinggi in early May and Fikar and his team (Thommy especially!) really did and excellent job throughout. We did lots of jungle trekking, stayed in a basic but amazing jungle home-stay, ate excellent local foods, and saw some amazing countryside and history. Fikar knows the area very well, is passionate about his hometown, and was able to plan any detours or last-minute changes without problem. If ever back in West Sumatra, we will certainly be giving Fikar a call. Highly recommended. His email is liteneasy@hotmail.co.id

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MungoJerrysBeard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historical places”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can find 2 historical places in Bukittinggi.

1. Fort De Kock, the fort built on the hill of Bukittinggi, which overlooking the Bukittinggi town.
2. Gua Jepang (Japanese Cave), where, during Japanese Occupation, the Japanese HQ was located and where they imprisoned the local people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roswati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Seriously Superb”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend, organised by these guys and it was a really, really top trip. We saw so much around Bukittinggi - most of the places sans tourists - and Fikar and Tommy were just wonderful hosts and looked after us totally. I've traveled a lot over the past two decades, and this was one of the best short trips that I had. Really recommend this to anyone thinking of going to Sumatra.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lite 'N' Easy Tour also viewed

Bukittinggi, West Sumatra
Bukittinggi, West Sumatra
 
Bukittinggi, West Sumatra
 

Been to Lite 'N' Easy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing