We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$28
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/24/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline$35
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
1
21
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1
21
13
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 38 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel has very nice grounds, nice room, good bathroom, solid internet. The restaurant is average and as it was Rhamadam, the menu was very limited. It was very quiet when we were here, but the hotel was almost deserted (Rhamadam)

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We selected Campago rather than one of the hotels right in Buikittinggi proper because we imagined the out-of-town location would mean it was quiet. We were so wrong. Campago has a marketing division that books Indonesian groups for events--like group-building or whatever. All of these events apparently require blasting disco music starting at 6 in the morning because they have "interactive activities" that looked and sounded more like elementary school birthday party games than professional development for adults. Despite the unctious apologies of hotel staff and claims of ignorance as to the scheduled activities of guests and the volume of music apparently required nothing was done to curb the noise. I demanded a discount, which I got though not enough I think. I would never stay at Campago again.
Rooms are dilapidated for the price (we paid $90 with our discount for a Family room which had one Queen bed and 2 twin beds). Breakfast is good but you have to get it early or everything will be consumed by the groups that woke you up at 5:30 or 6.
We did book a driver through the hotel to take us to several of the areas we were interested in visiting for the product development and design work for which we were there. His name was Robi, Bobi, something like that. He was great. His fee was around Rp350,000 or Rp375,000 a day, plus meals and fuel. He did take us to good Padang restaurants for lunch. We are used to eating on the cheap cheap so it felt steep by local standards but when you do the conversions, a great meal for 4 for Rp250,000 (about $30 at the time) is great.
Robi was the best thing about Campago.
We were able to get wireless in our room but the connection was very slow, strongest if we sat on the floor next to the window.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

It’s the only hotel with available room in Bukittinggi, during my visit over a weekend. It was not my first, nor second option, but I left with no other choice as all other hotels are fully booked. However, it was not really disappointing considering that we didn’t even plan to stay here at first place.
It might be kinda hard to locate the hotel if you miss the sign board, it’s located up in the hill with a very small road (if I can call it a road) to reach the hotel. But once we reach the hotel, the view is breathtaking. The hotel is facing a paddy field, and you can see “bukit barisan” (famous mountain in west Sumatra).
The breakfast is average; or for some of you who expected “a hotel type of breakfast” might be disappointed. But we find it quire alright. It’s an Indonesian food for sure!
The room is spacious, you can squeeze the whole family in one room and still have room for your toddler to run around  I was amazed by the size of the room, for the price the hotel offered. They also had a clean bath room, with shower only, no bath tub. The TV is not a plasma TV, and no cable; but who can complain with the amazing scenery the room offered?
The room was wooden floor, had a mini bar and small refrigerator inside the room.
They have a swimming pool, but was on repair when we visit the place. There’s a tennis court too. Mind you, that the hotel is just near a mosque, for some of you who not used to live near a mosque; the prayer calling (adzan) might be too loud to hear at 5 in the morning.

Overall, if you have no other”big” hotel in Bukit tinggi to visit (there’s one or two major hotel in town); this could be your alternative.

The town itself, Bukittinggi, is a small town, with great scenery. You will never out of place for sightseeing. And to learn the culture is one of the key highlight too, not to mention culinary experience. Other than Bukittinggi, there are plenty of other places in west sumatra with amaaaazing scenery! You might need to take the whole week to come to each places (which is written in my agenda for next visit!).
But be prepared, as not much decent place to stay at small town, you might need to plan ahead to trip between one town to another, so you can always go back to your hotel.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DindaFreeTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Campago the second time around since we enjoyed the service and personal touch experienced during out first visit. Even though both bathrooms seemed to have a perpetual leak and my sister's room was a fave haunt of mosquitoes, we still enjoyed our stay.
However, this time around, we were unfortunate to arrive on the very night the local Police Dept had their party in the Function Room. It was supposed to end at 11pm but instead the music got even louder. Only when we demanded a full refund and a change of hotels that the GM managed to get top ranked police officials to stop the boisterous party at 2pm. Shameful.

Room tip: Get rooms as far away from the function room as possible
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holimood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here with family in a tour group for 1 night. Service & amenities was standard. So was breakfast. Room was large, but a little bit old furnished.
The hotel is located on top of a hill among hundred hills in Bukittinggi (means hig hills). The air is refreshing, the scenery is very beautiful.
In the morning, some vendors sell souvenirs at a reasonable price. Don't be hesitate to bargain until 50%. It's common, since Padang civillians are known as traders.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews