We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't sleep it's just TOO clos to road noise”
Review of Ambun Suri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambun Suri Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
dublin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You can't sleep it's just TOO clos to road noise”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Old hotel - but with huge huge issue - road noise it faces a very busy road BUT not only does it not have double glazing it has NO glazing ! Two pains of glass set two inches apart but with a hole in the middle to act as a vent - every room has this ! It's like sleeping in the road !

Don't stay here if you need to sleep - seriously you won't check the rooms yourself .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pekanbaru, Riau, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel's location is perfect about 100m from jam gadang the city landmark and the room rate is cheap. Unfortunetally , this hotel doesnt have enough parking lot,sometime you have to remove your car to make a way to other car.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raketua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Pros: this hotel is smack close to the action. Near Jam Gadang (Clock Tower) and Marketplace.
Cons: Old, tired, not so clean. In need of a good refurbishment.

We checked out at least half a dozen rooms. They wanted us to take the rooms facing the main road. While checking out the rooms at the back, we saw a new hotel BUNDA HOTEL behind AMBUN SURI and decided to check it out. It was worth it. We ended staying at BUNDA for 5 nights.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukittinggi hotels

Zürich
Level Contributor
199 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Hotel is in the middle of the old Bukittinggi, very Close to all the attractions, in particular to the unique panorama park. The rooms are big, got spectacular views on the two volcanoes, and are quite clean, even though mine was also inhabited by thousand little red ants - some o them even made it to Europe with me.

The breakfast is simple, Fried Rice and/or toasts with coffee.

The young staff is friendly and helpful.

Since it is located Next to a crossroads, unfortunately it is quite noisy.

The Hotel has got a wireless in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank esalagean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seremban msia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is my first trip to bukit tinggi. and i used this forum to stay in this hotel. the price was reasonable. clean and comfortable. you can request the superb view room.the location is in the centre of of town. easy to get delicious food. the front desk staff were very helpfull. will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nhanim296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We liked this hotel - budget rates, good location, reasonably clean and free drinking water.

Simple but okay breakfast of nasi goreng (fried rice), good coffee but too sweet.

Full review at http://valtay.blogspot.com/2009/02/to-padang-to-padang-to-eat-nasi-padang.html

Helpful?
11 Thank hissyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukittinggi hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bukittinggi
Novotel Bukittinggi
#1 of 16 in Bukittinggi
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
#2 of 16 in Bukittinggi
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Jogja
#10 of 16 in Bukittinggi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Campago Hotel
Campago Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bukittinggi
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treeli Boutique Hotel
Treeli Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bukittinggi
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sumatera
Hotel Sumatera
#8 of 30 in Bukittinggi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambun Suri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambun Suri Hotel

Property: Ambun Suri Hotel
Address: Jln. Panorama No. 2 | Bukittinggi, Bukittinggi 26116, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ambun Suri Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing