We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top spot. Top trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasik Ria Resort Manado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Austinmer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top spot. Top trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

Our stay at Tasik Ria in October 2010 was an absolute top 1.

Of course we both wish we could have stayed much longer than our 9 nights, not only to have dived more, but to have also used the great spa facility more often.

The beach bungalow was very comfortable, clean and extremely roomy.
Having that early morning cuppa whilst looking out over the water will be missed.

The diving throughout our stay was fantastic. The islands, reefs and home reefs all being brilliant. This being echoed with our trip to Lembeh. The dive boats and trips out to the Islands were comfortable and fun. A good chance to talk to the guides and other guests

Of course all our diving was only made possible by the terrific dive crew. From Monica and the staff in the shop to the tireless efforts of the boat crew, a team effort by all.

A big thank you for Yannis, Jimmy, Francis and their fellow dive guides for their professional attitued towards safety, their help whilst on the boat and their enthusiasm in the water in finding and pointing out the amaizing aquatic life. Friendly top team.

The jetty bar with that fantastic view whilst enjoying our cold Bintang sundowners after
a hard (laugh) day's diving. Now every spot should have a bar like that. To
Dave the barman and his off sider who's name has left me. What a spot.

Have to mention the top menu and nights spent at the jetty dining aera. If you couldn't
find something to your taste's you shold have stayed at home. Hats off to the chef.

To all the friendly staff of the resort a big thank you.

Dan Green, You really go out of your way to ensure the guests are looked after (staff too) and that all are having a great holiday with the full Tasik Ria experience.

See you all when we return, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Thanks and Regards

Chris and Michelle, NSW Australia

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAustinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    127
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
117
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of a diving holiday booked through Regaldive. The diving was as good as we had hoped for and the resort more than exceeded our expectations; the staff were happy, friendly and charming, the assistant manager, Eastender Dan was an absolute diamond, the dive operation itself was slick and well organised, and last but not least it probably has the best appointed bar in the world. You literally sit at the bar sipping ice-cold Bintangs with panoramic views of the Celebes Sea.

We chose to stay in their seaview villas which was a good choice for us as you get more privacy, more room and definitely a lovely view. Some of these villas are currently being upgraded to a very high standard so that will be worth checking out in a few month's time. The food was consistently good with 'off the menu' requests available too, most memorable was the day we went to the market to select our own fish and had it cooked as we wanted that same evening. The onsite Spa is beautifully appointed and the service wonderful and the swimming pool large and clean.
There are also good trips to choose from on your days off. The Volcano tour was highly recommended but we opted for the 'Highlands tour' which takes you to several attractions including one of the biggest markets in Indonesia, but it's not for the faint-hearted, that's all I'll say!
To sum up the Tasik Ria, I would say that considering there is not a great deal of competition in the area it hasn't become complacent; divers will continue to come to this part of Indonesia and it would be easy for the hotel to simply rely on that, but instead it continues to strive for high standards. I guess the hotel would probably be rated as a 3/4 star hotel, but to us it was simply a lovely place to spend two weeks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed for 5 days in this wonderful resort. We had three days of diving (boatdives) and that was great. The afternoon dives were better than the morning dives but i like muckdiving better.
The manager Dan is a great guy. He used to be a cook in England but married a local woman and stayed in Manado. Because of his background you can imagine the food is great. Most of the times you eat a la carte in the restaurant but sometimes they organise a buffet near the dive bar, wich is great.
The days we didn't dive we relaxed at the pool wich is huge and clean. Also has a poolbar for snacks and drinks. The small children's pool is cooler than the big swimming pool, so if you need to cool down, take that one. When we were there there were no children, propably becaus the majority of the guests are divers.
The beachvilla's are also great. We had nr. 600 wich is the last house on the beach. There's also a third pool wich looks ok but we didn't use it.

The dive bar is great. This was the first decent bar we had in the whole of Sulawesi. As long as there are guests it stays open. Sometimes Dan the Manager joins you for a drink and a story or two.

Don't let there website fool you. The site is outdated and doesn't give a correct representation of the resort. Dan, can i make a new website?

If you go diving in Manado and want first class diving and resort. Look no further. Go for the Tasik Ria Resort. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorretjeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We departed the Washington, D.C. area and arrived 2 days later in Manado, Indonesia in North Sulawesi nestled just outside a bustling metropolitian area of Manado sits the resort, TASIK RIA. We arrived at the airport and were met by our hosts who took care of our bags, SCUBA gear and all. Once at the resort, they were ready with our paperwork and room keys so we could shower and get ready for dinner as we had been traveling so long. The rooms were well appointed for what we needed, an entry area with table and chairs, a hallway with fresh water each day, coffee, tea, a room safe and a bathroom. The bedroom was a separate room with air conditioning as the rest of the room was cooled with fans.

The SCUBA group took our gear the first night we were there and it was put together for us on our assigned boats ready for our arrival for our first dive. We spent the day on the boats, which included snacks and lunch as well as plenty of fresh water.

Breakfasts were excellent, good choices of fruits, cereals, omelet stations to add whatever your palate desired that morning. Coffee and Tea always available. Evenings were also excellent, fried rice and many fish options as well as an a la carte ordering menu which included pizza in case you had enough fried rice. One note, unless you get fried rice with chicken, your chicken will have bones in it as that is how they prepare the chicken there.

Dan was our host and with our group of 36, we were not without our issues, which he handled with grace and graciousness. The power in the whole resort went out our first night, perhaps from our group overusing the outlets with all our cameras and SCUBA gear. The SCUBA shop had it's own power source which they allowed us to use that day until the power was restored, and other than a few hours of no lights during the day time, we did not notice any disruption of service.

The Spa at Tasik Ria was excellent. The aromatherapy massage for 60 minutes is approximately $25 USD. Tipping is recommended in the spa area, but tipping for the diving and hotel staff can be done at the end of your stay.

They also hosted a wedding for a couple in our group, and they made the dinner for our group on the beach one night which entailed the staff carting all the food, trays, china, beverages and accessories to the beach. It was wonderful.

The pool bar was great, since we were such a large group Dan allowed the bartender to stay past the normal 6pm time for closing to entertain us.

WI-FI was available in the lobby free of charge and connection times seems quick.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I was the group leader for a large group (36) of divers travelling from the US to Sulawesi, Indonesia. Tasik Ria worked with me to facilitate the group even well in advance of our arriving. Dan, the house manager and Monica, the dive manager were super and their attention to detail and ability to trouble shoot kept our group happy and well cared for throughout our stay. We had our choice of the Jetty Bar or Main restaurant for meals and the Pool Bar became our de facto club house for apres dive activities. One evening a wedding was staged for a couple in our group and we had a sunset ceremony followed by dinner on the beach to toast our friends...very memorable.

Diving is the reason we were there and the dives at Bunaken and the closer in reefs were awesome. We boarded the boats for the 45 minute ride to the dives sites and would do two dives in the Bunaken reserve and during lunch would transit back to a reef close to the resort for the third dive of the day. Dives off the jetty were worth doing as well. The dive guides handle all the equipment and set up, the boats are well set up with large bins for gear and cubbies for dry gear. As we were a large group we had one smaller boat with a different set up. This required some creativity and cooperation on the part of our divers...this is not the place for inexperienced divers. The guides are good, but be sure to tell them what your needs are. If you want to go slow for extended photo opportunities they can accommodate but may need to rearrange groups to facilitate. Every need was accommodated when requested. The boats did get a bit diesel smelly from time to time but the larger boats had toip side decks out of the fumes.

Food at Tasik Ria was plentiful. Breakfast was a buffet arrangement with eggs and pancakes cooked to order. The toaster, a charcoal grill arrangement made it into everyone's photo album. Lunches on the boat had mixed reviews. Rice, a variety of meat in tasty sauce (although sometimes tough) and some great veggies were the standard fare, spicey hot sauce was plentiful and should be tested. When asked, cold cuts and peanut butter were provided with bread made in the resort for sandwhiches. Coffee, tea, water, fruit and cookies were available. We were always well fed although some would have wanted variety. Dinner was a buffet with several choices of starters and entrees, salads and Indonesian style rice or noodles stir fried to order. Dinner always offered dessert choices and one could always order off the restaurant menu which included pizza, pastas and other Indonesian and western choices.

Tasik Ria has a beautiful pool with a swim up bar which became the spot for post dive "desalination!" Bintang beer (in liter bottles) was popular but be aware that mixed drinks and wine can get pricey. The spa is lovely and was a popular choice amoung our group. A variety of treatments are available in a very pretty setting.

Overall this was a super dive resort with much to offer post dive and for non divers. I would reccommend Tasik Ria and will happily take another group there in future. My thanks to Dan and Monica!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Dan Green and his team manage this resort fabulously well - nothing is too much trouble, the rooms and amenities super clean, the water always plentiful and hot, the swimming pool clean, the food authentic and varied (great local cuisine but also Western dishes available).
Whilst the rooms are in need of updating (the management is doing this soon), they are more than adecuate with plenty of space, beds are comfortable, bathrooms clean, the aircon does the business. You can choose from the poolside rooms to beachfront ones (see photo) which a more like little houses.

The location is perfect if you are a keen diver. The dive centre is within the resort, managed with quiet efficiency by Monica. Her team are incredibly helpful and the dive masters great underwater guides. The two larger boats are very well organized and they operate smaller speedboats for those who want to go separately or to different dive sites. Three dives a day are the norm, with options to do night dives and/or shore dives. We never had to manage our gear, the dive team even washed and dried it at the end of our trip.

The resort also has a lovely Spa where you can get fabulous massages, manicures and other treatments. Highly recommended at prices you will not believe if you live in London!

So, all in all I would highly recommend this resort if you plan to dive although non-divers can come on the boat to snorkle, spend time by the pool and visit the spa. I even managed to get to the local fish and vegetable market, a unique experience.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja_scubababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Basically, these people have got it right! I live in Singapore and dive fairly extensively in South East Asia and my 4 days at Tasik Ria with my wife and daughter last week were wonderful. It's the sort of service that everybody hopes they'll get! It's a combination of very good diving (and diving facilities) along with a good general holiday experience too. The staff at the divecentre and in the hotel are very attentive and can't do enough for you!
I dived but my wife and daughter didn't and were very happy to relax and chill at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
13.1 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
10.6 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#4 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasik Ria Resort Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasik Ria Resort Manado

Property: Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Address: Jalan Raya Trans Sulawesi Mokupa, Manado 95351, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tasik Ria Resort Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasik Ria Resort is one of the most established resorts in Manado. Boutique resort offering friendly services. Tasik Divers is our PADI 5 Star dive centre. They will take you to see Bunaken, Bangka, Lembeh and Buyat. Come and experience our friendly people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tasik Ria Resort Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasik Ria Resort Manado Hotel Manado
Tasik Ria Hotel Manado
Manado Tasik Ria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing