We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Bunaken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tasik Ria was a great place to spend our first week in Sulawesi. The hotel manager, Dan was more than accommodating. If we needed something done we would just mention it to him and it would happen. On our first day we mentioned that our group liked sushi and Dan made sure that every night during cocktails we would have fresh sashimi and sushi. He also arranged a family style Indonesian meal for us one night at the jetty bar and got up early one morning to take us to a local market for some great picture ops.
We were fortunate that the week was fairly calm so that the 1 hour boat ride to Bunaken was enjoyable. The dive crew were extremely helpful with gear and were always on the lookout for the critters we were looking for. The boat we were on was fine although could have been quite wet if the weather had not cooperated. Some sort of seating on the top deck rather than just mats thrown down would have been nice.
Although the pool view rooms are somewhat dated and the bathrooms can certainly use an upgrade, they were clean and in good working order. The pool and spa areas are some of the nicest I've seen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was on a technical diving course and as you'd imagine, I spent more time in the water than I did at the resort. But whenever time permitted I was able to indulge in some of the facilities and soak in the hospitality. The place is festooned with lush greenery. It certainly transports you to another place. Simply amazing. The spa is worth a try as well. Especially when you have to climb up to the reception area before gracefully maneuvering on stone slabs 'floating' on the water that lead you to the massage pavilion. The picturesque setting makes you feel relaxed even before the actual massage. The food is a good mix of sumptuous Indonesian and international fare. Special mention goes to Dan, the British resort manager. On my trip he was also the tour guide, showing the burgeoning nightlife downtown and sampling some exquisite Manadonese fare. For an authentic multi-sensory experience, the local market by the pier was a journey back in time. Of course it helps when your personal guide is like a mini-superstar in the very local market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My partner and I spent a couple of weeks in Indonesia, a diving holiday we'd been looking forward to for a long time. We spent our first 10 night at kungkungan bay resort on the Lembeh strait, a beautiful resort with great food, staff, diving at a very good price.
During our stay we met 2 English couples who spoke very highly of Tasik ria resort near Manado. We were looking for somewhere to stay for 4 nights near Manado, so I read the tripadviser rating for Tasik ria and seeing it had a 4.5* rating I booked us in.
The first room we where taken to stunk of smoke that badly I asked for another, the second room also smelt badly, but we stayed a night. On the second day we asked if they had any other rooms available, nicer rooms. As the 2 we had seen so far were like being in a DIRTY OLD MOTEL. We took the deluxe beach front room at an additional $50 a night, it was nice, but also smelt of smoke, no wifi, and little hot water.
The food was good to okay to bad. Same menu is run from lunch through to diner and it's not large.
We only did a few dives, very pretty walls but it all looked the same and your stuck on the boat all day, if your looking to do more than a dozen dives go else where.
Don't get the airport transfer, it cost $10 per person. When a taxi would only be about 10-12 and your not in a cramped minibus. Looks like they really push people to get their bus transfers, but it's a rip off.
Overall Tasik ria isn't worth a fraction of what it costs, check out dive KBR, for a good holiday.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at Tasik ria, go forthe deluxe beach front room. But my advice is to stay somwhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Tasik Ria for a week from the end of June 2012 and it was great. Dan the Resort Manager was always around and free for a chat. If you wanted anything... anything.... you just had to say and it was sorted for you. Dan and all of the staff are fantastic. Very polite, helpful and there when you need them. The pool was lovely and clean and not overcrowded at all. We stayed in a poolside room which was just what you needed. Close to all the amenities like reception, restaurant, spa, beach, dive shop and jetty. The bar at the end of the jetty is a fantastic place to sit with a drink and watch the sun go down. The dive guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and always willing to help. All in a very relaxed, but safe, atmosphere. The diving in Bunaken is really great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YabbyNYik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just comeback from a 2 resort trip to Manado with my dive buddy and his wife. We stayed in poolside rooms which were very spacious and comfortable and particularly convenient for the pool and spa for our wives. Staff on the resort were always to hand, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Only personal criticism is we found the beds on the hard side.

Eating - Combination of restaurant in the main building or down on the jetty. Both great.

Diving was well organised using 1 of 4 day type boats with 3 cylinders aboard for each diver. Nitrox available @ 32% if you require which we did. 2 days a week you do 3 dives at Banaken, the other days 2 @ Banaken, 1 off the main island near the resort. Banaken is basically wall diving with a guide [1 per 4 divers] pointing out some of the small stuff such as Pygmy seahorses. Food is provided on board.

Snorkellers could either do the local reef from the jetty or come out on the dive boats. Our wives [both ex divers] didn't find the local reef that enjoyable but did do Banaken which they thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Grand Seaview Cottage and enjoyed our stay.

Grand Seaview Cottage is the best room they've got. It's a lovely room with an outdoor bathroom but by no means luxurious. Generous amount of drinking water was provided in the room (greatly appreciated). TV is available with very limited channels. A/C could be better but was adequate.

We booked via email with prompt and efficient responses from their end. When we arrived, the manager Dan, welcomed us and chatted with us briefly. Dan was friendly and personable. It was evident he is very proud of the resort and so he should.

The food was okay, they're edible and we didn't get food poisoning. The Tasik Ria fried chicken was quite nice.

The diving was breathtaking! The dive and boat crew were an awesome bunch of people, friendly, cheerful, helpful and wonderfully efficient. We had Jimmy as our private dive guide and he was a great bloke. On the negative, there's alot of rubbish in the sea on the way to Bunaken which was really sad as it's such a beautiful place. We did a couple of land tours and saw people throwing rubbish out into the sea without any regards. It's truly heart breaking. But again, the diving in Bunaken was absolutely fabulous, even better than Wakatobi in our opinion. On one of the days, we saw pods of pilot whales, it's incredible!!

The massage was okay, the technique was quite different than what we are used to. Our masseuses kept whispering to each other which was rather annoying as they would stop quite often.

All in all, Tasik Ria is a good place to stay. It's a functional 3.5 stars accommodation with adequate facilities manned by pleasant resort staff and great diving crew.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank half_a_devil_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

When diving throughout SE Asia, one often has to sacrifice luxury for doing convenience and quality, or give up diving quality to be able to stay at one of the better resorts. Tasik Ria is the best of both experiences. This is one of the most amazing dive locales on the planet - from steep and deep coral cliffs to the mysterious and exquisite critters of Lembeh across the point. The awesome dive crew at Tasik Ria treat everyone like family, are completely professional, and talk about convenience! AND when was the last dive resort you've visited with a huge freshwater pool that had a swim up bar? Just sayin'. The rooms was large, well maintained, luxurious in Sulawesi style. The resort pristine, manicured, large, and private. The spa was heaven on earth, and did I say the pool had a swim up bar?

I've now tried three spots in the Manado area, even staying on the island of Bunaken itself in order to get closer to the prime Manado dive spots. Although adventurous, that was a less than stellar decision as the remoteness coupled with uncomfortable living arrangements and poorly maintained equipment. Not so at Tasik Ria and I cannot wait to return! (I'm booking a repeat trip as we speak!)

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are a treat, but friends in the poolside rooms loved their's just as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
10.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
553 reviews
13.1 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
14.3 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
16.2 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#4 of 44 in Manado
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasik Ria Resort Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasik Ria Resort Manado

Address: Jl. Raya Trans Sulawesi Mokupa, Manado 95351, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manado
Price Range: $73 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tasik Ria Resort Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasik Ria Resort is one of the most established resorts in Manado. Boutique resort offering friendly services. Tasik Divers is our PADI 5 Star dive centre. They will take you to see Bunaken, Bangka, Lembeh and Buyat. Come and experience our friendly people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tasik Ria Resort Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasik Ria Resort Manado Hotel Manado
Tasik Ria Hotel Manado
Manado Tasik Ria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing